A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

The infamous Mumbai jams..

Posted by Pepper on June 20, 2008

The snarling traffic jams in this city have been driving me (literally :D) insane. If the down pour of the rain is very heavy during high tide hours, all the water gets washed back in and the city starts flooding. It wrecks havoc on the roads. And, there is some kind of construction going on everywhere. Work in progress for the new flyovers being built. And, they’re digging all over the place for the Metro project. The combined outcome? ENDLESS JAMS. The implications?

I’ve learnt to exercise better self control. I don’t get delirious and ram into some random vehicle just for kicks. I *do* manage to retain my sanity, even under such circumstances.

I count numbers and deep breathe. A good way to pump up and oxygenate my nearly crippled lungs.

I’ve learnt how to drive while sleeping. Yes, its possible. Nope, I am not kidding. Spending nearly two hours in a car which is barely moving can make you very drowsy. You then learn to move on in that half asleep dopey state. You change gears without knowing it. You drive ahead without being fully conscious. And yet you’re alert enough. Do I sound like some maniac?

I genuinely appreciate friends who are willing to talk to me at that time.

The RJ from Radio City suddenly seems like my best friend.

The maddening jams make me ponder and think over things I avoid thinking about. The blocked road in fronta me leaves me with no escape route.

By the time I get home, I am too tired to argue with bengari, or anybody for that matter. I listen to whatever you say. Agree to whatever you say.

Not such a bad deal after all?

Leave a Reply

 
