A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

The Diwali post.

Posted by Pepper on October 20, 2009

Diwali always cheers me up. And I know the value of Diwali in India now. It just is special. There are things that I don’t appreciate though. The choking haze of smoke that suffocates you for example. And the noisy explosives. The sound of the ongoing explosions got so bad at one point, that I felt a heart attack on its way. Another time, I was strolling around in our society premises and admiring the decorations and the festive spirit, when I saw two young boys spreading out an endless strip of something that looked suspiciously like an explosive. Oh God, please let it not be what I think it is, I said to myself. The guy noticed the look on my face and said ‘bomb hai bomb‘, with a wicked grin. Right. I realised I needed to run for my life. “Ek minute ruko please’, I said, and skittered to the other side, making sure I had covered a safe distance before the racket of the never ending blasts began. I so wish they would ban such noisy crackers.

But there are a lot of things that I totally love. The lights. My favourite part of Diwali.

This is the view from my window.

I love lighting up the house with diyas, with the traditional brown clay diyas, not the fancy painted ones. This is one corner of the house.

This is something I struggled with. We asked some man for help but it still didn’t come out right. The triangle on top is a sorry excuse for the flame :(.

This is a pic of the rangoli after someone shook the stand it was made on.. sigh.

This is a pic of the trees and the greenery in our society, all lit up.

2 Responses to “The Diwali post.”

  1. Anonymous said

    I always love how Indians celebrate diwail… you own a lot of cars ur rich

  2. Pepper said

    the cars in the pic aren't owned by me!

Leave a Reply

 
