A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

The wedding preparations

Posted by Pepper on January 12, 2010

They’re exhausting. Organising an Indian marriage is a lot of work. I walked out to the living room to see my frazzled parents pouring over sheets of paper on which they had scribbled the names of the guests. They seemed to be having an argument over the number of people they were yet to include. I tched tched and decided to take the matter in my own hands. So I made an organised guest list on excel which had columns like Family, number of people expected from that family, number of cards to be distributed, etc. It was all easier to total and view and made life simpler. There are a million things to do and we have to work out ways that are quick, efficient and organised. In my opinion, an Indian wedding is the ideal test for your management skills.
I want to look into all the small details and its taking up all my time. So in the last few days, I’ve been all over the place, shopping, booking hotels, selecting cards, choosing the items on the menu, finalising the venue, looking for a good photographer who doesn’t insist on tacky bride and groom poses, looking for a good DJ, etc.
I started this post on the 12th and I am finishing it on the 24th. The days in between have been such a blur. It involved a trip to Chennai where I chose my wedding sari (given by the in laws), my wedding ring, the works. I had made a resolve to post every month and write about every small detail. Clearly, its been a dismal failure.
I am not giving up though. I hope to be back soon, with lots more to say.
Leave a Reply

 
