A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Weekend tales

Posted by Pepper on October 19, 2010

I’ve been feeling extremely lazy and disinclined to blog, but I keep pushing myself to do so. I do want to make a conscious effort and preserve these tiny bits of my life. So that when I am old, jaded and lack vigour, I have these pages to come back to and meet the youthful me, who was brimming with opinions and enthusiasm about life. And I also get to keep the memories alive by recording them here. I am not too sure about how long I’ll be able to actively blog, but I do hope I don’t run out of zest too soon.

***********************************************************************
Its Tuesday already and I am still reeling under the effects of the weekend. On Sunday, we decided to drive to Point Reyes. The three of us (Mint, his cousin and I) set off in the morning. As luck would have it, it turned out to be a very rainy and foggy day. Fog however, is not unusual for the city of San Francisco. We stopped by at the Golden Gate Bridge for a while, and boy, it was COLD.
We then proceeded to have brunch in this little town called Sausalito. After which we stopped by at the beach for sometime, and then started our drive up to the Light House at Point Reyes. We finally got there after driving through winding roads. Here are my two pennies :
  • The wind can really howl! I’ve lived in UK where the wind gets pretty nasty. But so far, I’d only read about the phrase ‘Howling Wind’ in books. That day was the first time I heard the loud, ongoing roar of the wind.
  • The wind is mighty powerful. I shivered, my nose leaked and my cheeks were flushed. One of the signs there said we were standing on what was the windiest point in America’s Pacific Coast. No wonder I kept getting swayed and found it hard to balance myself.
  • To get to the light house, we had to first climb uphill, and later go down the steps. The climb back up was over 300 steps, and since this was on a steep cliff, it was supposed to be tough. The sign board there said it was equivalent to climbing more than 30 storeys of a building.
  • My calf muscles are still hurting.
  • Standing amidst the ocean, the peninsula, the wind, can make any human feeling totally insignificant.
  • Enjoying a basket of sizzling fries and some hot coffee after trembling in the cold is one of the most comforting things ever.
  • It was a fun day!

8 Responses to “Weekend tales”

  1. Titaxy said

    Sounds wonderful. All the windy, cold climate and all that climbing must be definitely worth it for those views. Nice pics 🙂

  2. It sounds like a fun fun day..never mind the wind and the hike..The pics look amazing.. 🙂

  3. Scribbler said

    The pictures tell me that it was all worth,hai na pepper ? 🙂 Lovely captures…you or mint ? 😉

  4. That's a lovely take on blogging, btw. I see blogs as a form of journal keeping and story telling. The pictures are beautiful and haunting. Looks lovely.

  5. Pepper said

    Titaxy: Yes, the gorgeous views make it totally worth it!Comfy: It was a fun day! The wind and the hike just added to the experience :)Scribbler: Haan ofcourse! Definitely worth it. And the captures are always Mint's. I suck behind the camera :PPratishtha: I did think it all looked haunting and mysterious too..Not sure I'd wanna visit the lighthouse at night.

  6. PNA said

    Mesmerized by the pics, Pepper… the second one…mmmm… so I skipped reading all the abovePins

  7. Did you say Point Reyes? Do you live in bay area….Awww…I so damn miss the place and weather…Miss it real real bad. We moved to Seattle just about 7 months ago and I cant get over the move.

  8. Pepper said

    Pins: If the pics make people skip the post, I should stop putting them up :PDOR: Yep, I live in the Bay Area. You were here too? Its funny how I connect with bloggers after they move out.. or vice versaBeing in Seattle after the Bay Area must be tough. Hope you get used to the place soon!

Leave a Reply

 
