A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Timeless Joy!

Posted by Pepper on November 16, 2010

We all have some memories that we count on for a few smiles. This one is mine. It is one of the happiest moments of my life. I do realise the recent spate of posts dripped in saccharin can nauseate any reader. But this incident forms an integral part of my memory and I’ve been wanting to write about it forever. It *has* to be put on my blog.

People who know me in real life have heard about this story about 8,63,451 times. A handful of you who know me personally read my blog. You may skip this post with my best wishes.

For the rest of you, I take you back to my student days, when I was completing my Masters in UK. I’ve written about how Mint was an inseparable part of my life then. Without him, I wouldn’t have had any shred of sanity left in me. Back then, I also missed my family a lot. I would keep yearning for home. When I finally had a chance to go to India for a few weeks, I jumped to it without further thought.

So it was during my Easter break that I went home. I was in Mumbai. It was around then that I told my parents the details about my relationship with Mint. Before that, they only had a vague idea and I always sounded non committal to them in my replies. They took in all the details, and were as usual, supportive. But they were also very apprehensive after hearing about Mint’s rigid family and their non accepting nature towards people belonging to different castes and communities.

It was quite a short trip. And I had also carried with me a whole load of assignments. So between spending time at home, meeting friends and relatives, taking care of my assignments, I was quite busy.

One day, my friends called me and made plans for dinner. When I said I was a little busy with my assignments, they insisted I go for it. So I gave in. My sister and two of my best girl pals met for dinner. My friends were supposed to come back with me and stay back at my place. So the four of us got back home at around eleven pm. To my surprise, my parents weren’t home! I wondered where they could go at this time. I didn’t have the keys and so I called them. They said they didn’t realise I didn’t have the keys and asked me to take them from the neighbour after a quick apology. They told me they were out having dinner. Having dinner? They hadn’t told me about any such plans.

Anyway, we finally entered the house and collapsed on the sofas in the living room. But something seemed strange. All these girls were a little giggly and restless. Finally, my best friend asked me to go get her a pillow from the bedroom so that she could sit back with some back support. Oh, get it yourself, I told her. But after being forced by all of them, I got up and walked into my room.

I entered and what greeted me shocked all my senses, rendering me speechless. The room was lit by numerous glowing candles. In the midst of the semi darkness, I saw a figure standing in the room. Whaa.. there ..is ..somebody.. in .. the .. room? I was almost going to scream and run back. And then I realised. It was Mint! He looked at me and said a cheerful ‘Hi!’.

I was still frozen in shock to react. And very, very confused. I mean, Mint? The last I spoke to him a day ago he was in the US. Is it really him or am I hallucinating? How can it be him? He doesn’t know the address to my house in Mumbai. How can he come here? And oh, the house was locked and there is nobody at home. How did he get in here and enter my bedroom? Okay, it has to be hallucination.

And then, all these girls ran into the room and started jumping on the bed and giggling away joyfully. Before I knew it, the camera was in my face, recording this moment. Mint seemed to be laughing along with them. I was still clueless and I stood there frozen.

Finally it hit me and I realised this was really happening. I continued standing there, trembling in shock. ‘Why are you standing like that? Go hug him!’, I was told. But I couldn’t move. I seemed to suffer from momentary paralysis and my brain throbbed with a zillion questions pounding inside.

After I regained my senses, I managed to ask him, ‘What the hell are you doing here?’ and he smiled, pulled me close and said, ‘I came here to be with you on your birthday’. Yes, it was my birthday the next day. I couldn’t believe he had traveled all the way to be with me for a single day on my birthday. In the next few minutes, a lot of excitement followed. Soon my parents walked in beaming and asked me if I liked my surprise. They knew? I was even more baffled.

So here is what happened. Mint decided to surprise me by coming for my birthday. But he didn’t have too much leave left at work. So he decided to come to India for a single day! It happened to be the weekend. He contacted my parents and told them his brilliant idea. My dad thought he was nuts to be coming from the other end of the world for a single day, just for my birthday. But he got them to agree to his plans. He then coordinated with my sister and with that, the planning began. They had to get me out of the house while he entered. My parents went to the airport to pick him up! They dropped him home and left because they thought it would be good to give us some privacy in the beginning.

Obviously, that has been the best birthday I’ve lived to see. When I think of the entire incident, I feel my heart burst with joy. How many people can I thank here? I still can’t believe Mint did this. It requires a heart to spend something like $1500 for a single day. It isn’t like he was rolling in money. He still choose to do it. Just to bring a smile to my face on my birthday? The amount of detail that went into this plan, that included the arrangement of candles was so incredible. Especially because Mint really isn’t the kinds who would do things like this. But he did it for me cos he knew I love candles? And the amount of hours he traveled for? And went back to work straight from the airport after he got back despite the exhaustion? I repeat, he traveled from USA to India and spent all that money for a single day for my birthday? I think I will live in disbelief.

And how can I thank my sister enough for planning this with him for so long? And yet keeping the whole do a secret from me? And my parents? Really, I don’t know where to begin. How many parents are liberal enough to go pick up a guy their daughter is dating and welcome him to their home? And even thoughtful enough to give us a few moments without their presence? How can I ever thank my parents enough for being what they are?

And how can I thank my friends for feeling my joy and jumping in excitement for me?

Sigh! If I’ve been the centre of such intense love, then I’ve lived a worthwhile life. Every time I think of this, I feel my heart leap out of my chest and flutter away to paradise.

33 Responses to “Timeless Joy!”

  1. Titaxy said

    oh wow..that must have been such a wonderful surprise… 😀

  2. Scribbler said

    my my what a b'day celebration! Out of this world for sure peppy :)Seriously how many people to thank ..they all are so so sweet to have let this happen to you…Mint,parents,sistah and friends 🙂 Everyone deserves a hug :)Aww..just going Aww…!!!!

  3. Tanishka said

    Awwww…. That's so sweet of him… So many efforts for a single day, simply incredible…:)I must say you have the coolest parents one can think of…

  4. Scribbler said

    and the title is so apt: Timeless Joy… priceless too 🙂

  5. PNA said

    Awwwwwwwwwwwww! The incentives that come when one is in love and dating, the planning n surprises and love are all so much fun fun :)Hugggggggs pepper, jumping in excitement for you.. 🙂 😀

  6. ajaykgp said

    Such memories are to be cherished for long. And what love and gesture! You're lucky 🙂 Sometimes I need to jot down some memories too just to assert myself that they happened for real and weren't a dream! Here's to many more such joys in life 🙂

  7. This post made me so happy :DYou whole lot are blessed to have all this love around you :D*knocks on wood*

  8. Bikramjit said

    good friends ae hard to come by and i am gldad you got a few very good friends 🙂 R u guys still in UK or have i missed something Bikram's

  9. your story is one bollywood story and a prove that long distance relationships work . Beautiful is only word . And lil phoenix….. i kinda like that!!!

  10. Just reading about it and imagining that it happened to someone, for real, makes my heart leap out and flutter in joy!WOW!!! Such love indeed.The effort, time and money from Mint is all great, but what makes my jaw drop is the support from the parents and to leave the house for you to enjoy the surprise. Wow!!! again :DStay happy PepperMint. May you guys have many such awesome surprises and utterly delightful moments like these.

  11. Doli said

    AAAwwww!! how sweet 🙂 you are blest!

  12. Pepper said

    T: It truly was :)Nu: I know.. they've all given me memories that will never fade 🙂 I thought the title was apt too..Tanishka: Yes it was very sweet of Mint. And I do think I have the most understanding parents :)Pins: Your comment was SO sweet. It made me smile 🙂 Hugs right back!Ajay: Yes, you need to jot down the memories. It is the best thing you can do to preserve them.

  13. Pepper said

    Celestialrays: Thank you so much 🙂 Love is what keeps us all going, isn't it? Biks: Nah, we're not in UK. I was there until a year agoLittle Phoenix: That does sound cute, doesn't it? 😀 I'll call you that now on. Yes, long distance relationships work, if you WANT to make them work.AHK: I know,I thought my parents were extremely sweet too, to have left the house like that. I don't worship them without a reason :)Thank you babe.. your comments always make me happy 🙂 Doli: I think so too 🙂 Thanks so much!

  14. Wow..just wow.. I can't help but smile as I read this..Good going Mint..you did real well.. :)Touchwood 🙂

  15. Pepper said

    Comfy: Yeah Mint did well. No wonder he impressed my parents in an instant. Or perhaps that was a part of his plan 😛

  16. Smitha said

    This is such a sweet, sweet story! Mint is a treasure 🙂 but you already know that 🙂

  17. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

  18. Nikita said

    was it for real??? or out of a movie 😉 i still cant believe it 🙂 wow : )it must have been great 🙂

  19. Nikita said

    just to add.. wish somebody would do that for me 🙂

  20. S said

    OMG! it’s utopic..
    🙂
    God bless..

  21. Chiquita said

    This is right out of like a really well directed not over the top yet absolutely awwwww romantic flick.
    How lucky you are to find a man like this (touchwood)…it’s what most women just dream of or read about!
    Mint is just too cute!
    I don’t even know you, but I’m so happy for u…I had goose bumps when I was nearing the end of your story!

    • Pepper said

      That is so sweet of you! Thank you so much 🙂 I know, this is the kind of stuff I thought happened only in movies, until it happened to me. I often wonder what I did to win him over. When he is not annoying me that is..Lol.

  22. Archana said

    Wow!!! My ravenous appetite for love stories, yet again. It is pretty amazing when you recollect such moments 🙂 ( touches wood)

  23. had not read this post before, peppy….it is totally “awwww” material 🙂

  24. shail said

    No wonder you have already said this story 8,63,451 times (now the number must have gone up again). It is a story worth repeating forever. Aww…… now that is what you call romantic! Your parents, sister and friends rock too! 🙂

  25. Super super special! 🙂

  26. Anams said

    Awww…that was so super cute. How did he ever manage to top that??

Leave a Reply

 
