A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

A walk in the past..

Posted by Pepper on November 24, 2010

Comfy’s recent post where she exhibits her beautiful pics full of snow tempted me to dig this one out. It also took me on a nostalgia trip. This was during a time when resources were scarce. I walked everywhere on campus. To ease the financial strain I would even try walking to far off places in the city. Because a car was unaffordable and public transport was not very easily available. I’d try and avoid cabs. But walking long distance with sub zero temperatures and riotous winds is cumbersome. Really.

Getting to class always turned out to be an eventful journey. I would jump out of bed a few minutes before class began and then have to run all the way. Which would be fine. Except that the roads were layered with a sheet of ice. They make you skid, slip and fall. So I’d never get to class without a couple of thuds. I’ve had some very interesting falls on those roads.

Getting back home from school on the other hand would always be a quiet peaceful affair. I’d observe the pretty white world swirling around me. And with that, my thoughts would tardily swirl in my brain too. The impressions still remain.

That’s me walking back home from class on a usual snowy day.

27 Responses to “A walk in the past..”

  1. Tanishka said

    Beautiful pic… 🙂
    Reaching anywhere in time is a trouble… even i used to always reach my clg jst the last min, bt thankfully i used to drive the clg, but this was something not good for others moving on the road… 😉

  2. Bikram said

    thats ok u walking but who took the pic.. 🙂

    soon we are expecting snow here tooooooo 🙂

    Bikram’s

  3. Smitha said

    I actually prefer walking in the snow than driving 🙂 Last year, Poohi’s school was 1.5 miles away, and I had not got my license yet. SO I use to walk 1.5 miles to her school, in the snow, and used to love it 🙂 It was fun, as far as I started early enough to take my time 🙂 ANd yes, I have landed on my butt too, despite all possible care 🙂 It was all the more embarrassing as I was very close to traffic signals, which had loads of cars waiting for the signal to change 😦

  4. *whistle at the figure and runs away* 😀

  5. ajay said

    It somehow reminds me of Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening. Beautiful picture. 🙂

  6. DI said

    I have never seen Snow. Bah. 😦
    That’s a wonderful pic though!:D

  7. arvind said

    Everyone is talking about snow 😦 . . i sweating it out here in chennai .. Damn !!!

    Anyways , that did make an amazing pic ..Beautifull !!

  8. Scribbler said

    you know this picture can be made some book cover or something…you getting my point right? Loved this very much !

    And LOL at thuds on the way to school 😉 I wish I get to live in snowy cities/countries at least once in my life 🙂

  9. R said

    Its a lovely pic! and i just read through some posts on your blog! it seems like a nice place to hang out in 🙂

  10. Deeps said

    Wow, that long snow-covered path looks so inviting! Living in a place where snow, winter, chilly are all foreign terms, images like the one you’ve shared are always a delightful sight 🙂

    Lovely!

  11. Titaxy said

    lovely pic 😀

  12. Vimmuuu said

    Spooky pic ! especially that ‘something’ in the middle with no face ! 😀 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

 
