A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

The big news!

Posted by Pepper on December 8, 2010

It is vacation time and I will be going to India soon!! Can anybody see me doing a delirious jig?  Oh how I have waited for this. The other part of this news is that it is a SURPRISE! Nobody back home knows of my trip. I’ve always wanted to surprise my family by landing up unexpectedly, and I finally have a chance to do it.

I had written a hell lot about how much we love surprises on my old blog, so I’ll try and not get too repetitive. Okay, only a little bit. I was in Goa once and I decided to surprise my parents. So I told them a false date of return. Landed a few days earlier and just turned up at the restaurant they were in. And they looked at me as though they had just spotted a ghost. I’ve never forgotten their expressions. So I am trying to imagine how they would react if I casually walk home one day. In fact, my original plan was to enter the house in the middle of the night (I was smart enough to carry with me the keys of the house when I left) and just wake them up randomly. How awesome would that be? But now, I can’t find the damn keys. I suppose I misplaced them when we moved from Ohio to Cali. So I am a little confused. We’ll be landing at an insane hour, and should I just ring the bell at that hour of the night? They’re sure to be startled. But perhaps those few moments of tension till they open the door are worth it.

The other problem is keeping my mouth shut. I talk to my parents and sis a hell lot, especially my mom. Soon after Mint and I confirmed our trip, my mum tells me on phone she had a dream in which I land up at home and surprise them and they are all so delighted. WTF? I panicked and was wondering if I have dropped any subtle hints. But nope, nothing. In fact we had just decided ourselves, so there is no way I could have told her something. So it was just an uncanny coincidence? Mothers! I tell you…

It is so agonising to not bring it up at all while talking to them. What if I can’t contain my excitement and just explode? It’s unfair. Who made me the custodian of this happy secret? Okay, I did this to myself. Every time I talk to one of them, I realise I am bursting to let out our plans, and so I hang up and think of ways to glue my mouth shut and make sure there is absolutely no leakage. Such torturous labour!

And I can now dream of my beloved city, Bombay! Surprisingly, I never valued it this much when I lived there. I know the city has a lot of drawbacks, but you speak a word against it and I feel offended and take it personally. I can never really articulate my love for that place. Though I have written bits and pieces, like how much I love the Bombay rains, how I love the beaches and Marine Drive. And there even is  a picture of me jumping on Juhu beach. But these are only tiny gems all part of a bigger jewel. It is my favourite city. I can’t say Mumbai belongs to me, but I definitely belong to Mumbai.

This trip to India also involves a stay in Chennai. On the whole, I am so, so excited! We leave from here around Christmas, go on to spend a few days in Hong Kong and then land in Mumbai. And now, I can’t wait to see my mama, and papa and sis.

34 Responses to “The big news!”

  1. Scribbler said

    whoa !! cool fun it’s going to be,YAY !!!

    Mothers do get to know somehow,I’m telling you,really !! So beware and try to hide your excitement while talking over the phone…cause your excitement is evident in this post as well 😀

    Chennai ? In-laws eh ? Good good ..have fun in the entire trip..

    oh wait…does this all mean that you’re going to be away from this space as well ??? oh no 😦 Okay but jaldi aa,okay ??? 🙂

    I wish I was in Mumbai..we could’ve met at Juhu beach 😉 or wherever…

  2. DI said

    I am the most pathetic when it comes to keeping secrets, so I try and convince others not to involve me. But when they do it anyway, I have a tough time :(!
    The Dude is all about lovely surprises, and I love him for that 😀
    And have fun on your trip, and obviously, update about the surprise here! 🙂

    • Pepper said

      I usually manage to ‘endure’ the secret, but its painful. The dude is about lovely surprises too? Long live surprises I say 😀 Will definitely update about this one..

  3. sneha said

    i so now how it feels to not speak about a secret..i completely fail that..hope you have a lovely time and am sure the look on their faces will be worth all the zip your mouth times :)..hope to cya when u in mumbai!

  4. Deeps said

    How wonderful! Surprises are such fun, aint they, esp when you get to play it on others :D. My brother does that a lot with my parents, he is really good at keeping his plans to himself. But I’m just the opposite, even when I intend to surprise my ma & father I end up blurting it all out well in advance or just do some silly thing that they come to know of it anyway 😀

    Have a great holiday, Pepper. Incidentally Namnam & I are off to Delhi too to spend the new year with our family. So I can totally understand that delirious jig 😀

    • Pepper said

      Lol..Your bro does that with ease? That’s admirable. I manage to pull them off but like I said the interim period is always the worst.

      You and Namnam have a great holiday too! 😀

  5. Yippeeee .. so when r we meeting 😉 😉

  6. Tanishka said

    I can understand how difficult it gets to keep secrets with mom…

    Yay for going to mumbai… I wish even i could be there…. You have a wonderful trip…. 🙂

  7. Titaxy said

    omg, that is wonderful…enjoy!

  8. vimmuuu said

    wow ! good luck to them ! now you can scare, I mean, surprise them !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    and you are even visiting chennai???? waaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

  9. ajay said

    Welcome to India and give your parents a nice, pleasant surprise. 😀 And happy vacation! 😀

  10. Ahhhh, what a delight in the making 😀

    So very happy for you Pepper and a little more happier for your parents. Can only imagine how elated they’ll be that fine day (night)!

    Now, keep your mouth shut and don’t let anything slip through, ok? hmm 🙂

  11. What fun.. go go have a blast.. And give Mumbai some extra love from my side.. How I love that city 🙂

  12. Bikram said

    OH I ENVY YOUUUUUUuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu I want to go I want ot GO .. I want to go toooooooooooooooooooo oh mannnnnnnnnn

    I did this to my parents When i went back to india, I landed at delhi.. took a taxi to chandigarh and HOME .. I was still getting out of the Car when I could hear Jenny (Our little dog) going mad inside the house.. It was as if she had sensed me .. and you know when you can hear the excitement in the barkk…

    and My dad woke up cursing the dog.. it was 4Am in morning and knock knock ooooh all hell broke looooooooooosssssssseeeeeeeeeeeeee .. It was excitemnt and offcourse Later on the tantrum tooo Why i did not tell , they cud have come blah blah

    BUT Hey DONT TELL ANYONE.. It is WOWOW excitement just land and ring the bell and look at there FACE 🙂 it is worth a Picture …. nice one All the best plus you get to getaway from the cold tooooo 🙂

    Have fun

    • Pepper said

      Ohh you did that? 😀 I do believe dogs can sense things humans cannot.. I can’t get over the thrill and the excitement!

      It isn’t that cold here in Cali.. Thanks I’ll have fun!

  13. Swaram said

    Woww I luvv such surprises too 🙂

    And ur Mom saying she hd such a dream – amazing!

  14. Oregano said

    and you aren’t excited to see me? 😦

Leave a Reply

 
