A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

And with that, we end the year..

Posted by Pepper on December 24, 2010

2010 has been a very eventful year for me. Perhaps the most eminent year of my life. I received my Masters degree right in the beginning of this year. What I felt most was relief. Phew. No more studying in this life. I’m done for good.

Right after I graduated, my wedding discussions commenced in full swing. There seemed to be a tussle going on between Mint’s family and mine regarding the wedding date. We finally settled for a date which was just a few months away. When I broke the news to friends, most of them were shell shocked. Why marry so soon? I had my reasons. But  I did not bother convincing them and justifying my choice.

Before I knew it, the wedding preparations were consuming me. When the wedding date finally arrived, I was more relieved than happy. Phew again! It’ll all be over now.

After marriage, I moved to the US, full of apprehensions. I can now say I love this county, but the distance continues to scare me. The longing for my family still haunts me. I doubt that will change.

After moving here, we traveled a lot and had a wonderful time. How I wish I blogged regularly during that time. I’d have had detailed accounts of my travel tales. All I can do now is bank on my memories. Thankfully, my memory doesn’t fail me easily.

Around this time, I lost my grandmother. It took me a little while to recover but now her memories make me smile. The last twinge of sadness is being replaced by acceptance. I feel grateful that we married at the time we did. Had we pushed it any further, she wouldn’t have been around.

In the middle of this year, we were drowning in chaos and confusion. Mint had planned to do his MBA. But should he pursue it now? The consequences of every decision took us to a different direction. We finally made a choice which we hope was the right one.

In the midst of all this, we decided to move from Ohio to California. This was my forth move in two years and I was sick of it. This was a busy period, discarding old furniture, packing our stuff, clearing the house, shipping some stuff, moving to the Bay Area and house hunting, selecting the house and hunting for good furniture, arranging things and settling down. Phew. I suppose this year has given me a lot of phew moments.

I have now grown to love this home and this place. Life in the past few months has been fun and peaceful, without any disrupting changes. Living with Mint is the best. I am glad we decided to get married this year instead of waiting further. This year is drawing to an end, and I look back and feel amazed by the number of events and activities that took place. Each one of high magnitude. An absolutely eventful year for me it has been.

Here are some of my favourite clicks of 2010.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And with that, we end the year. Here’s wishing you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I asked my Santa what I was getting for Christmas and he reminded me of my gift – a holiday in Hong Kong. Not bad, is it? So we’re off for our vacation. HK should be fun! And then I am hoping all goes well and we manage to surprise my parents after reaching India as per the plan. I am looking forward to all the desi delights – spicy pani puris, vada pavs, road side sugar cane juice, filter kaapi, my beloved Bombay, family and friends. Life is good!

39 Responses to “And with that, we end the year..”

  1. Scribbler said

    FIRST ?

    • Scribbler said

      the sunset is picture is a show-stopper !

      Wishing you a lovely 2011 filled with happiness and fulfilment!

      I always believe all that is well that ends!

      P.S. like that the last twinge is getting replaced with acceptance..that’s how we can move on..pat on your back peppy!

  2. an eventful 2010 for you. Well deserved break then. Have fun in Hongkong and am sure you will have LOADS of fun in India.

    Merry Christmas and a very happy new year to you an Mint.

    Cheers
    Always Happy

  3. Tanishka said

    What a happy shappy post… Merry xmas and happy new year to you too… 🙂 Hope the coming year turns out to be even better… 🙂

  4. Bikram said

    wowwo eventful year … Every decision is the correct decision .. cause at the time you made it that was the right decision…

    what turns out is another thing we cant predict it .. but i am sure all will be well….

    and u move four times i have moved twicve only and have vowed not to do it again its a big hassel cant do it anymore

    beautiful picturessss… dont know why you blocked the faces if you are putting then might as well put it up .. 🙂

    and yes heres wishing you a very merry christmas and a very veyr happy new year may all your wishes come true in the new year and no more phew moments 🙂

    take care

  5. Life is indeed good and here’s my wishes for it to get only better 🙂
    Loved all the pics and I would still say ‘Wah what a figure you got’ 😀
    Happy holidays! Have fun 😀

  6. What a lovely way to remember 2010…Really was an eventful year for me…Hmmmm let me see what i can do to depict my year 🙂

    Happy new year darling. Have a great time in HK and apna mumbai 🙂 When are u here btw?

  7. Amazing amazing year it has been for you!

    Have a great great holiday in HK 🙂 And come back with a lot of pics to show us 🙂

    Merry Xmas and a happy new year to you 🙂

  8. Titaxy said

    🙂 Wish you a merry christmas and a happy 2011, Pepper.

    Enjoy the trip.

  9. mythalez said

    enjoy the vacation!!

    and that pic is of niagara falls right?

  10. vimmuuu said

    Wish you the merriest Xmas and the happiest New year ! 🙂

    and even I got married this year 😦 I mean, 🙂

  11. Sujatha said

    Pretty cool blog you have got here, came from Revs. Loved your love story !
    We moved from Ohio to California couple of years back too…

    TC
    Sujatha

  12. Gradutaion and the wedding and the move(s)…whoa! Indeed a super eventful year for you 🙂

    Heartiest wishes for a happy, peaceful and fun filled 2011 to you both!

    And, yeah, meeting you will be on my definite list for 2011 😀

  13. DI said

    😀 Hope 2011 is even more awesome and wonderful! Hmmm, need to a closing post myself too!

  14. Swaram said

    Oh wow! Thatz been one goody-goody year 🙂
    Nice pics and hope u r hvng a gr8 time in HK. And that surprise, I wish wish it goes well too 🙂
    Happy holidays and wishing u all a gr8 yr ahead 🙂

  15. That was one amazing 2010..hope 2011 is even better for you 🙂

    Have a blast at home..have fun with family and friends 🙂

  16. ajay said

    This was a wonderful post. Wish you all the best for the coming year. 🙂

  17. Packed year that was! 🙂
    Have a super-rocking stay in India, and an even more rocking year ahead! 🙂
    Oh and LOVED the waterfalls pic! 😀

  18. Pepper said

    Yep.. totally packed year! Thankie.. that pic is taken at the Niagara falls 🙂

  19. i totally get you when you say “i didn’t bother justifying(to friends abt. the early marriage)”. I faced a lot of that, because i told many of them only a few months before the marriage.

    My grand ma passed away before my marriage and I REALLY wish I had gotten married sooner. I’m truly glad for you that you did :-).

    And erm, marriage isn’t so bad if you end up with the right nut,no? I don’t know why we are conditioned to treat it like old age/terminal disease that there’s this immediate instinct to say “later!”

    Have a good year ahead! loved digging thro’ the archive 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Good to see you here SAB! Marriage is fun if you have the right partner. You put it so well. We are conditioned to treat it like the old age disease. On second thoughts, perhaps that happens cos people are forced into it, without having the liberty to choose their partner. It’s sad.

      You’ve a good year too.. And hope to see ya around 🙂

  20. This year has been for you what I hope next two years will turn out for me. Marriage is on my mind and I don’t want to defer it further….only thing I am yet to find my girl!!

    • Pepper said

      The girl will come, look with your eyes open. Most of us look with our eyes shut and then complain about the lack of suitable matches.. Good luck 😀

Leave a Reply

 
