A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

India so far..

Posted by Pepper on January 7, 2011

So here is the update on our trip so far. I realise my blog is turning into one of those boring diaries that simply hold records of the ongoing events. But never mind, there is too much happening and I want it to be stored in these pages.

We landed in Mumbai a little past mid night, more than a week ago. We were picked up from the airport by P and her dad. Do I have any old readers who remember these names? Anyway, so instead of walking home in the middle of the night and terrifying my parents, we decided to stay at P’s place for the night and go home early in the morning the next day. It was around 8 am in the morning when we were standing outside the main door of my house. How I wish I had the sense to carry a camera and capture the reactions of my parents when they saw us. My dad forgot the fact that I don’t live home anymore, and for a few seconds thought I had just gone out and I was coming home like any other day. LOL. And then suddenly, it occurred to him and he went ‘AREY?!’, complete with wide eyed shock. My mom walked out of the room and spotted us. She then stood there open mouthed, unable to believe her eyes. The surprise was totally worth it.

It’s been a while since I’ve been home now and I am totally loving it. I can’t view this city or country as an outsider and remark about the changes that have taken place. I will leave that to the typical NRIs. They are the kinds who visit the country, move around with bottled water, comment on the traffic, feel surprised when they realise that ‘you get everything here these days!’. I have no idea why, but they annoy me. I can never ever view this place with the eyes of an outsider. This is home. So I can’t/don’t notice the changes, just like people living here wouldn’t notice them. I won’t lose immunity to street food, however unhygienic it is, or I won’t notice the increasing potholes. This is where I belong and it is all a part of my home.

We’ve been meeting relatives every day, and they all have the same thing to say the moment they set their eyes on me. ‘You’ve not gained weight at all after marriage’. Yes, I am aware of that. And I do not understand why marriage would make me gain weight. Oh well..

In other news, we have been eating. I mean, really EATING. How can anybody resist the food in India? We binge, we overeat, and then we eat again. Especially Mint. A lot of times when we visit relatives, he plonks himself on the couch, and attacks the food on the table in quiet comfort. No conversing, no disturbance, simply indulging. This trip has also made me realise how very different Mint is when he is alone with me. He’s playful, talkative, affectionate and showers me with cuddles and kisses. In front of other people, he’s quiet, serious, solemn, and sensible. What does it say about him, or me?

So yes, we’ve been busy having a good time. I don’t get sufficient time to catch up on all my favourite blogs, but I try. We’re off to Chennai in the next two days. The most exciting thought is that of food. And filter coffee. Of course. I hope I get to post soon. Ta!

31 Responses to “India so far..”

  1. Tanishka said

    So much eating… Must have been fun….

    Thank god you are not a typical NRI… I hate them for finding out faults in place to which they basically belong…

    Mint acts sensible and serious before others… This just tells that he is normal… 😀

    Happy journey for your Chennai trip… And keep writing about your trip… They are fun to read… 🙂

    • Pepper said

      I think we all hate those kinda NRIs. Mint acting sensibly in fronta others makes him normal? Lol. I like to believe he is normal with me and abnormal with others 😛

  2. DI said

    Oh! I so can’t stand those NRIs suddenly being aware of all things bad about their country! Bleh!
    Good that your surprise worked :D! Have a great time! Did you get to meet Sags?

  3. Bikram said

    he he he SO true .. when u ay the ones who roam around with bottled water he he hehe 🙂 I remeber getting down at delhi airport and on way to home stopping by a roadside dhaba and eating the BREAD PAKODAs and a cup of tea and a FULL MEAL it was wowo…

    he he he Just my type i guess, THe only reason i go home is probably to EAT all that fooood 🙂

    and awwwwww the reactions of ur parents

    Excellent nice ot know you having fun and enjoying … All the bettttttttttt

  4. Wow! I loved reading that bit about surprising your parents 🙂 Soooo totally worth it 🙂

    I got the same comments from many (nosy) relatives too – why havent you gained weight after marriage? Fail to understand that part 😀

    G is exactly like what you described Mint as. Different when he is alone with me and when surrounded by people (even around his own parents!)I fail to understand that bit too.

    Have fun on the rest of the trip and eat eat eat 🙂 Chennai reminds me of Saravana Bhavan and Murugan Idli…sigh 😦

    • Pepper said

      G is exactly like that too? Its strange na.. but I secretly like it 😛
      They have a Saravana Bhavan in the Bay Area too, but of course, nothing like the authentic homely version of the same place. Where exactly do you live? 🙂

  5. vimmuuu said

    off to chennai????? ok, this is where you stop writing ! Pls pls o pls dont write anything about chennai ! 😀 😀 😀

    so, you DID scare them as planned ! 😛

    Enzzzoiii your stay !! 😀

  6. Ahhhh What fun!! I hope one day i can actually spring a surprise on someone :))…Food food and more food – thats what home is about aint it…Have a great time in Chennai

    • Pepper said

      Thanks Nuttie.. We all get plenty of opportunities to surprise people, in big and small ways both. So just go for it sometime. Will def have a great time in Chennai.. 😀

  7. Deeps said

    Wow, so the surprise did work!! Yay! I can so imagine how much fun it must being home! Oh I miss home even more now after reading this post 😦

    You enjoy your holiday, Pepper and make loads of memories 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Surprises are always fun. I can imagine how much you miss home now. I know I am going to be there soon..
      For now.. I’ll just enjoy the hol.. 🙂

  8. Swaram said

    Am soo glad the surprise remained one and turned out to be so sweet 🙂
    LOl @ Dad’s reaction. Dads and daughters – such a sweet equation 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Keeping it a surprise was such hardwork. But yeah, I am glad it remained one too. And you’re right.. dads and daughters have the sweetest equations.. 🙂

  9. Kartikay said

    Haha! My sister falls under the bottled-water-carrying category who can’t gorge on the roadside momos / vada paos / pani puris / alu tikki chaat / bhutta etc. Oh crap, I’m hungry now!

    Have fun in India!

    • Pepper said

      Oh.. I don’t blame them for losing their immunity. It’s not really their fault.. but they do end up losing out on a lot of good stuff 😀 You’re hungry? Go eat!

  10. […] miss Pepper too, esp.  after meeting her yesterday – she’s innocence re-defined and a little girl who’s […]

  11. Titaxy said

    😀 i loved how the surprise went…enjoy the rest of the trip dear

  12. Scribbler said

    what super fun ! Glad glad glad to read this and I’m looking forward for the Chennai post 🙂

    Have loads of fun and food 🙂

    P.S. I’m super happy that you’ve not turned into those typical NRIs 🙂 Special HUGS for that sweets 🙂

  13. vishalbheeroo said

    Hi
    Don’t worry I also suffer from the diary syndrome. Thank God u a chip off the NRI crowd. They came with their prejudice oh!In US..this n that Oh!The smell,the traffic..over populations its like they come back to the homeland playing hide and seek and some detective role. I hate such attitude.Lovely blog.
    Vishal

  14. I fly out next monday to my home…and now I can hardly wait few days..thanks to your updates 😉

    Abou the NRI funda, I’ll be honest that I see the differences ( cleanliness factor, potholes, crowd)quite vividly the first 2-3 days of my landing and then it fades out. May be my mind takes a little time to adjust back at home and then its perfect.But, hey, I never grumble those few days..and sure hate those who do.

    Have a wonderful time Pepper and happy eating you both! 😀

    • Pepper said

      YOu flying home on Monday? Enjoy!! I don’t mean to judge the people who mentally compare the two places.. its only when they start bitching with an attitude that reeks of superficiality that it gets on my nerves.

      YOu have a super time AHK. And then get back to the Bay Area and meet me 😀

  15. Food in India.. sigh I can just stop there.. No no..people in India..my people that comes first for me, then the food. So I drown in the love and dig in to the food..and then I come out and go shopping 😀 😀

    I love being back.. 🙂

    Have a great rest of the trip and eat eat 😀

    • Pepper said

      Lol.. tough call when you have to choose between people and food na? 😀 Yes, I am waiting to go shopping too. Thanks.. will enjoy the trip and eat, eat and over eat.

Leave a Reply

 
