A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

He’s the man.

Posted by Pepper on March 4, 2011

He’s the man who made me believe I possessed some magical powers for the first four years of my life. All I had to do was touch the little bulb on the dashboard of the car and bingo! It would glow. It never happened when somebody else touched it. Only in my fifth year did I realise that the switch of the bulb was next to the wheel and was being operated by him on the sly.

He’s the man, who in his bid to prove to the world what a great father he has been, goes on telling everybody that he has changed a million poop filled diapers of ours. It makes me and the sister cringe and we keep asking him to stop emphasizing on the ‘poop filled’ diapers. Saying he has changed our diapers is sufficient. They all know every kid poops.

He’s the man who’d sneakily hand me the prohibited ‘Ice Candy’ when mom wasn’t looking.

He’s the man who always told me he loved me a ‘litlleeee more’ than he loved my sister, but that was supposed to be our secret. I lived in my smug, happy bubble until one day I overheard him say the exact same thing to the sister.

He’s the man I shared my first drink with.

He’s the man who has always driven me around. First to school, then to dates.

He’s the man who drives everybody up the walls with his annoying and deliberate goofiness.

He’s the man I have some of my best and most gross conversations with. We once had a long discussion on how real Madhuri Dixit’s boobs were in Dil To Pagal Hai. These are times when the mother scurries away and tells us we’re disgusting and vulgar. Perhaps we are.

He’s the man who has given me a life of comfort and luxury and paid for all my indulgences.

He’s the man I argue with the most.

He’s the man who blames me for his bald head.

He’s the man who was full of sympathy for Mint when we decided to get married.

He’s the man whose blood I carry in me. He’s the man who made me who I am. Happy Birthday Dad. I will go ahead and wish you now, since you live in the Indian time zone, and as per that, the date is right. I hope your year is full of laughter, merriment and joy. I am so, so proud to be your daughter.

62 Responses to “He’s the man.”

  1. S said

    Happppppy birthday to you dad 🙂

    and that list.. 🙂 i was smiling all through..
    but wait a minute.. Madhuri Dixit’s boobs in DTPH?? How is it I never wondered about them!! 😀

  2. Comfy said

    That is one sweet post. Wishing your Dad a very happy Birthday. May the coming year bring a lot of happy times his way. 🙂

  3. Bikram said

    WOWOWOW .. Many many happy returns to your DAD.. he is INDEED THE MANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN 🙂 hats off to him and please please do extend my regards and wishes to him… Happy birthday 🙂

    and god bless you too for such a nice article

  4. Tanishka said

    Happy b’day uncle…. 🙂
    Your dad would be soo proud to read this… 🙂

  5. Ashwathy said

    I certainly hope he is reading this 🙂
    Dads are the besht! 😀

  6. Awww awwww and more awwwww!

  7. Rang said

    A very happy birthday to your Dad, Pepper.
    God bless 🙂

  8. Scribby said

    could relate to so many points listed above…Dad’s are the best,aren’t they ? 🙂

    A very Happy B’day to Uncle !!

  9. ajay said

    Happy birthday to your dad. He surely is one of the coolest dads to have.:)

  10. smartassbride said

    one cool duo you two are! my b’day wishes to him!

    rofl at the diapers & boob conversation!

  11. Chatterbox said

    A very Happy Birthday to your father 😛
    An absolutely delightful post…perfect for the occasion 😀 😀

  12. mehmudah said

    Awww… what a sweet post!

  13. I love daughter-father love 😀
    Needless to say I loved this post! 😀

    Happy birthday uncle!

  14. Saritha said

    Happy birthday to your dad…..

  15. Oregano said

    and you say what I did was sweet :\

  16. Revs said

    Happy Happy Birthday Uncle 🙂 I need your sympathies too. I put up with your daughter almost everyday!

  17. Superb…It was delightful to read it 🙂 Happy Birthday to your dad from my side as well 🙂

  18. Jzt4me said

    Belated Birthday wishes from my end…Hope u send him a big tight hug….or rather E-Hug…lol!!!

  19. Happy birthday to your father, what a lovely lovely post!

  20. Chiquita said

    What a beautiful beautiful ode to your dad…lovely!
    You sound like the ideal father daughter pair 🙂
    I’m new here and loving it…this is like mush paradise…so I’m going to stick around. Love your mint stories.
    Drop by sometimes too 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Welcome here Chiquita. I really like your name!
      Lol! Mush paradise? I’ll have to agree. Hang around and you’ll get more mush than you’d want 😀
      Will surely drop by 🙂

  21. binpin said

    Almost every “lady” blogger I read has a tribute to her Dad..including me with my limited posting!.Very heartwarming post!

  22. R's Mom said

    Ya ya I am late..but belated Happy Birthday to your dad..its one of the sweetest posts I read in a long time.. 🙂

  23. Titaxy said

    sweet sweet post 😀 happy birthday to your father 🙂

  24. Seena said

    Its a sweet post..Belated Happy Birthday to your Dad.

  25. mahes said

    Belated B’day wishes to your dad. Heartwarming post.

  26. Deboshree said

    This was delightful. I hope your Dad had an amazing birthday and may he have many more!

  27. scorpria said

    Such a lovely post! Completely awwwwwwwwwwwwwww material.
    I hope he had a fabulous day! Wish him from my end too.

    • Pepper said

      Thanks Scorpria 😀 It’s not intentional, but I always infuse a lot of awwness in most of most of my posts. Will wish him on your behalf.

  28. Rosh said

    What a cute post. Belated happy birthday to him! Adorable.

  29. priyaiyer said

    Awww such a cute and heart warming post 🙂
    He sounds like a wonderful dad..
    Belated happy birthday to uncle 🙂

  30. Jack Point said

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

 
