A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

My lottery?

Posted by Pepper on March 16, 2011

I was 18, or probably 19 when we moved into a new house. The moment we finished shifting all our stuff, I decided to set my room up. Okay fine, our room. The sister and I have always shared a bedroom. What is the point in having a room that lacks a personality? So I was on the look out for some interesting posters to put up on the walls, a soft board for us to pin up our pictures and notes, other miscellaneous art work to keep around, etc. I finally landed at this store, where I saw the kind of stuff that interested me. Amongst all the things, I saw some posters that I knew I had to buy. That being the peak of my teenage vanity and all that..

This was one of them. The picture is very unclear because something was wrong with the camera settings at that time. That explains the pixelated pink haze. Β Anyway, I put this up right across the bed. So I could see it at all times.

I would laugh, and with a swollen head tell my family to wait and watch. One day I will win the lottery and move out of that place. So better value me while you have me. The sister would roll her eyes. My mom, being as dramatic as I am, would play along, and tell me she is aware of all my evil intentions and knows that I will run the moment I see my lottery. My dad would ignore me and would only worry about the ugly tape marks the posters would leave on the walls.

Years passed and I moved out of home. This poster was completely forgotten about. Until this trip of mine to India. While we were sitting in my room, my cousin asked me the question, ‘So, have you won the lottery?’. His question instantly reminded me of the days I’d fool around telling everybody to wait and watch. I thought about it for a few seconds. I no longer lived in that house. I have moved out. I now live in dollarland. Had I won my lottery? Then I asked him what he thought. He said he thinks I did won the lottery. I instantly decided to put this up on my blog. I then went on to ask the sister, my parents, friends, and every Tom, Dick and Harry. They all said the same thing. Everybody felt I had won the lottery.

So what is this jackpot victory of mine that everybody is talking about? What the hell is my ‘lottery’? Β Or should I say ‘who’ Β is? When I asked them, they all smiled and said I know it already.

Err.. I think I know. But I want to pretend I don’t.

I want to believe HE won the lottery. Not me.

57 Responses to “My lottery?”

  1. Mint said

    Of course I won the lottery. And now I’m paying the taxes on it. Didn’t realize they were so high πŸ˜›

  2. Titaxy said

    πŸ™‚ both of you won a lottery finding each other πŸ˜€ i think that’s the way i would put it πŸ™‚

  3. HE won it TOO, no doubt !

    πŸ˜€

  4. Comfy said

    You both won a mutual lottery. How’s that? πŸ˜€

  5. You won a lottery…
    He won the mega super jackpot πŸ˜€
    High 5!

  6. mehmudah said

    lol, nicely done.

  7. R's Mom said

    hahahaha! totally agreed pepper…HE won the lottery πŸ™‚ cute poster..I would love to put it up in my room πŸ™‚

  8. smartassbride said

    okay, before i read the post and comment, i want you to see this post and the picture it has in it, and very specifically the poster!

    http://smartassbride.wordpress.com/2010/04/14/sunny-times/

    (its only a poster, but i got so excited :D)

  9. smartassbride said

    lol! πŸ˜€ he did win the lottery. The bloggers stand behind you πŸ˜€

    and pepper, i had that poster stuck in my cubicle at work. I cant even blame it on teenage. The Big One(the CEO/ CTO) visited once and he came around to our cubicles saying hi and stuff. He gave me a very curious look and said, “We’d certainly like you to stay longer even if you do win it”. I, the tube light I am, didn’t get it. Later on, my manager wondered aloud if I should take the poster down. I wondered aloud if I should drop the glass slab on his head. so the poster stayed until I left and everyone either laughed(engineers)/frowned(managers)/sighed(cleaning boys) πŸ˜€

    what a happy memory your post made me recollect!

  10. Pixie said

    Me first! πŸ˜€

    • Pixie said

      LOL!!
      I loved the poster and the pink haze included!!

      We still have a poster which reads – “Eat, Live and be merry! For tomorrow we may diet!”
      (First line could be slightly diff, can’t remember very clearly! :P)

      Awww… me thinks its both of you who have won the lottery! πŸ™‚

      • Pepper said

        Not first. The comment moderation confuses a lot of people πŸ˜€

        I like the sound of that poster, though I’d never relate to it. Diet and me? Not in this life! πŸ˜€

  11. Deboshree said

    Ha ha oh I am sure the bigger lottery win has been his. πŸ™‚
    A very creative poster that one – my ex room-mate had put up strange ones that talked of deadlines and the devil. Eee.

  12. Chatterbox said

    You ended this post on the exact words, I say to my hubby πŸ˜†
    Loved that poster πŸ˜›

  13. scorpria said

    I had a poster on my bedroom door that said “Please don’t straighten out my mess. You’ll confuse me and screw up my whole world!” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Well, after my husband won his lottery, he had to choose between either keeping the room clean always (read as all-clothes-in-the-wardrobe-and-not-on-bed), or letting the poster tag along πŸ˜€ He chose the former πŸ˜€

    Oh. of course. You won the lottery. Mint’s the one who gave you the lottery ticket πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • Pepper said

      I *love* that poster of yours. Let me go and find it. Or I’ll make soemthing on photoshop myself. The saying suits my ideology perfectly!

      He was the one who gave me the lottery ticket? OKay, that is a good way to look at it πŸ˜€

  14. Ha. He definitely won the lottery! Hands down! πŸ™‚
    Very cute poster!

  15. SH said

    Oh come on..We all know that in a relationship its always the guy who has hit the lottery and never the other way around! πŸ™‚

  16. Bikram said

    Well both HIt the JACKPOT there so congrats to BOTH see now you got double Jackpot to share … πŸ™‚

  17. Chhavi said

    That was an interesting poster…… And as far as winning the lottery is concerned…. let us be a bit diplomatic and say that you both have won it…. πŸ˜‰ (Sometimes it is best to stick to the middle path) he he he

  18. S said

    That was a nostalgic post..loved the poster..I think you won the lottery and Mint won the super lottery πŸ™‚

  19. revsjoiedevivre said

    Do you want me to comment here? I’m just asking πŸ™‚

  20. Swaram said

    Oh lemme ask ppl arnd me who won the lottery πŸ˜‰ They better say he did or πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  21. Roop Rai said

    Lol I knew this was coming! My family is like yours. They don’t know how to value their own and give more weight to the paraya mard. Psh. I support you fully. Mint is the luckier one to have you. Ha!

  22. Tanishka said

    Both of you are the winners…. πŸ™‚

  23. Ashwathy said

    I want to believe HE won the lottery. Not me.

    Actually… πŸ™„ didnt you BOTH just win it?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
