A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

I am 24

Posted by Pepper on April 12, 2011

only for a few more hours. After tomorrow, i.e. 13th of April, I will never be able to say that again. So let me repeat it as many times as I can in these few hours. I am 24. I am 24.

From tomorrow, I will have to get used to saying a new number when people ask me my age. 25. I really don’t know how I got to this age. I mean, how? 25? Really? That sounds way too old. I still think this is the post that describes me most appropriately and one of my favourite posts on this blog. Read it. On most days, I need to remind myself of being an adult.

Mint’s school friend who lives in Kansas City was visiting us this weekend. So we were out all the time, taking him around and doing all the touristy stuff. At one time I was lying on the beach, in the sand. Since I didn’t want sand in my hair, I was using my portable pillow to rest my head on – Β i.e. Mint’s lap. It was quite magical. The kind of stuff people write about in books – lying down by the sea under the liquid blue sky, hearing the soft waves and all that. Being there made me feel blissfully happy. And then I started telling Mint I had done the very same thing quite recently in Goa. I laid on the sand in the beach, watching the sky and hearing the waves. Just after I started speaking did I realise, that was not ‘recently’. I was 18 then. That makes it 7 years ago. Gulp. 7 years, and I felt like it had just happened. Where did the time go? It’s like, the last I remember I was 18, a crazy teen living an exciting life and now I notice, my official age is 25. I have no clue of how this happened.

Clearly, there has been no mental progress in me after I turned 17 or 18. Until then, I think I did gather some amount of sense along the way. At least I was aware of the passing years and conscious of my age. You know, when we are in school, with every year added to our age, we are promoted to a higher standard (or grade, depending on your location). Every year, you sit in a different classroom. Some of us were even shuffled and spread out in different divisions. There is a gradual increase in the difficulty level of the subjects we study. There are new text books. That is how most people track their age as kids. And I guess that tangible annual progress helped me mentally connect to my real age. I suppose that is how it works with most of us. ‘Age’ and ‘Grade’ are held in close association with each other while we’re kids. After all, when you’re young, people mostly ask you ‘What standard/grade are you in?’, as opposed to ‘How old are you’.

But then, school came to an end. I stopped being aware of the passing years, since there were no ‘standards’ to link back to. A birthday was never about a new age. It was only about celebrations, cakes, friends, gifts, the works. It was that one day in the whole year when everybody put their focus on me. I gleefully awaited my birthday all year. Life was Β more or less the same. It went on. Like I said, there was no mental growth. Heck, there hasn’t even been any physical growth. When I compare pictures, I see no difference in the way I look now compared to what I looked at 18. Which is why when I note my age now, I can’t help feeling a little shocked. 25 is here already. At 18, I thought 25 couldn’t possibly come so soon. I had a long way to go. Β 25 year olds are matured adults. Then how come I’ve reached this number without reaching that state of ‘maturity’. Okay. Never mind. With added time I will probably get there. I’ve always been slow after all.

Birthdays excite me. I know most people shrug it off, with a casual, ‘It is just another day’ remark. But I jump and dance for a week before the date and tell the whole world, ‘My birthdayy is comingggg’. This time, the excitement has been sporadic. Although I’ve moved out of home a couple of years ago, I’ve always ended up being at home with my family during my birthday. This is the first birthday of my life without them around. That makes me feel a little heavy hearted every now and then. And also the first birthday during which I won’t race my grand mom to wish her first. We shared our birthday. But never mind. Such is life. I shall try and hold on to the cheer.

So yes, I complete 25 years tomorrow. I’ve had an exceptionally happy childhood, exciting teens, managed to acquire two BFFs and some good friends, managed to educate myself and obtain my Masters degree, managed to find myself quite an awesome guy, managed to complete more than a year of the so called ‘marital bliss’, managed to see 7 countries, managed to live in 3, managed to learn to cook, managed to learn some useful tricks, like making cute faces that will make my mom do anything for me and most importantly, managed to survive. On the whole, I think I have managed decently.

Do spare a minute to send some good wishes my way. Yes you lurkers too. Silent wishes count as much. I want to pile it on and use it in the coming year. Let me start by wishing myself – hope I have a fun day tomorrow and great year ahead.

86 Responses to “I am 24”

  1. Deboshree said

    Happy birthday 25-year-old! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Wish you many, many more amazing years ahead and hope your various forms of bliss continue. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I liked reading the chronicle… could relate to a lot of it. I will have to learn cooking too? *makes scared face* I hope I too can keep up with the I-managed-decently like you. πŸ™‚

    I am sure you will miss your family a lot… do have a good old-times-like conversation with them.

    Happy birthday once again! Have a blast.

  2. scorpria said

    Yey!
    Yappy yappy birthday, from Pumbaa and me ;);)

    Birthdays excite me too. I’m the “shameless” one in the family who goes around telling ppl “my birthday is in 1 week; what are you getting for me?” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  3. Bikram said

    Many happy returns of the day .. wishing you a very happy birthday.. Now that i ahve wished you where is my CAKE..

    Have a great day and all the best always ..

  4. Happy Birthday Pepper…Wishing u a fantastic 25th year and have a great day tomorrow…am sure Mint is all set up to make this a memorable day!

  5. Sands said

    Happy B’day Pepper and here’s wishing you many many more. I love birthdays too and mine is exactly 10 days after yours πŸ™‚ I still get excited about birthdays even now!! Age to me is all a state of mind πŸ˜‰

    • Pepper said

      In 10 days? Are you gearing up? Have you planned the celebrations? How exciting πŸ˜€
      Thank you Sands!

      • Sands said

        Now that I have read about yours and seeing how infectious that joy is I can’t wait. It’s fun watching the kids pool ideas on what to gift mom and make her day special πŸ™‚

        • Pepper said

          Oh yes.. That is reason # 981 I want to have to have kids: They play their part and pamper you and plan celebrations and make your day special when the occasion demands it. Now I’ve had to make do only with Mint.

          I bet the kids are as excited. Can’t wait to know how your day went. πŸ™‚

  6. snippetsnscribbles said

    Happy Birthday happy birthday happy birthday πŸ™‚

  7. ajay said

    Happy birthday, Pepper. Wish you a wonderful year full of life. πŸ˜€ You’ve managed more than decently. That’s quite a list of achievements. Keep adding to it. My best wishes. Enjoy 25. It’s a good number. πŸ˜€
    About the growing up bit, I so concur with you. I don’t think I’m growing up but only gathering years and years which seem shorter and shorter.

  8. Bhavani said

    Happy Birthday Pepper…..Have a Great day and year ahead….
    -Regular Reader (Bhavani)

  9. Chiquita said

    Happy 24 Pepper…wishing that 25 brings you a quarter filled with loads of love, luck and babies πŸ™‚
    I’m so shocked you’re so young…you sound so mature!
    And from the looks of it…Mint’s never going to allow quarter life crisis come anywhere close.
    So here’s wishing you a great day. Soak in the fun, pamper yourself and smile…make it blush.
    Loads of love coming your way.
    Happy happy b’day!

    • Pepper said

      I sound mature?? *Faints* .. I’d like to know how old you are πŸ˜€ .. To know what makes you think that way..
      Thanks a lot. I love pampering myself! πŸ˜€ Thank you once again for the lovely wishes πŸ™‚

  10. Seena said

    You are cribbing for 25, so what should I do 😦 25 is a nice age, you can still in early twenties:)
    Wish you a wonderful Birthday and wish you all very best waiting for you this year..Do let us know how did your day go..

    • Pepper said

      25 is mid twenties Seena. But its okay. I’ll still say its a young age. LIke they say, age is just a number anyway. SO you needn’t bother πŸ™‚ And thanks!

  11. Oye – 25 is NOT adult and matured. At, least I didn’t think so when I was πŸ˜€

    There’s a lot of time to grow up dear..so chill πŸ™‚

    Stay the 18-ish you are and thats exactly why we love you so!

    Many Happy Returns dear..May you have a blast! πŸ™‚

    {{Hugs}}

  12. bini said

    You are still a kiddo:). So your a April baby too just like and Sns and me:).Oh btw the last 3 paragraphs describe me ditto:D.

    • Pepper said

      You guys are April babies too? Awesome! πŸ˜€ .. And the last 3 paras describe you? Interesting. I just realised I hardly know anything about you. You should tell me more sometime.

  13. Comfy said

    The years that pass by without making us aware of them are the best ones when we look back on. A year that does not seem to move on is the year you will always remember as being too painful, too full of hurt, too..too many things.

    Happy times are the one we never notice because we are busy living it up. I am glad your years have been happy ones. And trust me 25 is not a bad age to be. You are independent to live your life with the person you love, but more importantly the one person who loves you above everyone else. Not bad at all, if I may say so.

    Happy 25th to you Pepper. May the coming day be full of wishes endless and may the coming year be full of only smiles and happy times.

    Muah, loads of love.

    • Pepper said

      Comfy, you are always the wise one. You’re so right! The years that pass without making us aware of them are the best ones! And we don’t tend to notice happy times because we’re busy living it up. How very true πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much! You always bring a smile to my face. Muahh!

  14. revsjoiedevivre said

    I am so happy πŸ˜€ You’ll be 25 *gasp* and I’ll still be 24 for another 8 long months! Traa laa laaa. Happy birthday baby!

  15. Titaxy said

    many many happy returns of the day, darling. happy birthday ! πŸ™‚

  16. VJ said

    Happy Birthday Pepper !!!
    Have loads and loads of fun

  17. Ranju said

    One lurker wishing here!

    Happy Birthday Dear Girl!! May God bless you always!
    I was like that too at 25…believe me after kid + couple of years….world has made me all grown up :-((

    • Pepper said

      Hey there! It’s so good to meet lurkers :).. So you’ve reached the ‘grown up’ stage. I am sure that is not a very bad thing. Looking at the young and foolish and feeling all zen and wise has its own charm :).. Thanks for the wishes!

  18. R's Mom said

    Wow…Happy Bday…Hope all your wishes come true and you have a super duper year ahead…Read your ‘I am adult’ post…so cute πŸ™‚ and LOL on realising 18 was 7 years ago hehehe πŸ™‚

  19. Vidya said

    Happy Birthday Pepper.. Enjoy and have fun:)

  20. Dhivya said

    Happy Birthday!!!!! This is a nice age to be in.Hope you have a great day and a great year ahead !!!

    I remember feeling just like you when i turned 25.. I was working and just gotten my first car and was so proud of myself and feeling all grownup and mature..and before u know it 5 more years have flown by and I stepped onto the other side of the 20s..:(

    Its really surprising.. Its seems like just yesterday I was climbing mango tress during summer holidays and beating up the guys in the street and now I am this married grown up lady (my hubby disagrees on the grownup part :)). Like you said ,its hard to come to realize that we are grown up.

    Enjoy it all !!! After a while, life seems to run on high speed.

    • Pepper said

      I so know what you mean. Life just seems to be zipping by at a remarkably high pace. I keep thinking, at this rate, I’ll be a 70 year old woman, sitting in my rocking chair by the fire place .. πŸ™‚

      Even though you’ve grown in age, looks like you’ve kept the child in you alive πŸ™‚ Thanks for the wishes.

  21. sneha said

    wish u a very very very happy birthday πŸ™‚ am sure ur going to have an awesome year ahead and you will also manage to learn alot more this year!

  22. Happy birthday πŸ™‚

    PS. Very rushed for time, and not much internet access. Will come back and read the whole post later. Just had to wish you after I read the beginning πŸ˜€

  23. S said

    yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy !!!!
    Happppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy birthdayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy pepppppppppppppppppppppper

    (thats me screaming)

    *big tight hug*

    i don’t understand how people don’t get excited for their budddays.. anyhowwwwww… i loooooooooooooooove celebrationssss.. and one prominent buddday ritual is ‘budddday clothes’- something i have to have to have.. irrespective of piles of shopping done before πŸ˜›

    • Pepper said

      πŸ˜€ :D.. Thanks S. I can hear you scream and that excites me even more πŸ˜€ .. I don’t understand how people don’t get excited for their bdays either. Mint is one of them. But I make up for it by getting excited instead of him. πŸ˜€

  24. Jzt4me said

    “Maturity has more to do with what types of experiences you’ve had, and what you’ve learned from them, and less to do with how many birthdays you’ve celebrated.”

    So don’t worry dear…Just enjoy the day with your Mint…be where ever your family is, they would be wishing you all the happiness and blessings from God…And Hey, remember you can still see the bottom of your cake…imagine the time when the to many number of Candles on your cake completely hide away your cake…Lol…

    Wish you Many Many Happy Returns of the Day…

  25. Happy Birthday Pepper!

    There are bits of that post which are so me, the being 24 part especially πŸ™‚

    Here’s wishing you much happiness, learning and Possibilities

  26. Ashwathy said

    Ha ha ha…. I loved the summing up you did in your second last para. My dad once told me: the measurement of how happy u are in a situation never strikes you at that point, it always happens when you look back πŸ™‚ I kinda agree…

    I think you’ve had a good 25 years, warts n all. And here’s wishing you another 50 years of peace, happiness, fun, love, security and whatever else you think befit! πŸ˜€ Happy bday babe!

  27. Heyy ! Am I the first to wish you ? Super ! So, here’s wishing you a fantastic day and a superb ride for the next three-quarters of a century πŸ™‚

  28. neha said

    hey pepper many many happy returns of the day may you have a promising year ahead…….enjoy dear. loads of wishes for one of the best bloggers i know!!!!!

  29. dipali said

    Have a wonderful birthday and a great year ahead. God bless!

  30. Mahes said

    Happy B’day!!! Have a fantastic day and a year ahead. I know age is merely a number and all that, I still feel like a school girl. My hubby says my 11 year old is a bit mature than me. LOL! Wishing you all wonderful things in the coming years.

  31. SH said

    awww…Happy birthday Pepper! :)…here is to many more such happy years…and 25 is nothing to freak about…Do let us know how your day went.

  32. Abra ca dabra…. πŸ˜‰
    Happy b’day doll!
    May all your wishes come true this year πŸ™‚

  33. Happy Birthday !!!
    25 and you say you are old … wait for 10 more years and what will you say ???? hmm …

    • Pepper said

      CA! *Gasp* .. Do you have any idea of the number of years I’ve lurked on your blog? πŸ˜€ So good to see you here! Thanks for the wishes!
      I won’t see anything new after another 10 years. Just the same old, ‘Oh my God, where did the time go” crap. Lol.

  34. su said

    happy birthday, 25 yr old ! and i hope you stay 18 for many, many years to come

  35. aneeta said

    Need to delurk for this special occassion…Wish you a very happy birthday and wonderful years ahead…full of joy, peace and contentment!

  36. Happy happy b’day! It’s such a juicy number! 25 is! May you use the power of 25 to milk as many gifts as possible, may you and mint be like this forever, and may you always have an awesome life! much love, abi.

  37. Belated Happy Birthday,Pepper Darling πŸ™‚ sorry I m late-hope you had a great bday!

  38. The Count said

    Happy bday πŸ™‚

  39. Rohini said

    Happy belated birthday!!!

    25? Wow. You are young.

  40. Nidhi said

    Belated Happy Birthday. Have a great fulfilling year ahead.. take care

  41. UmaS said

    HAPPY BDAY TO YOU, my dear !! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
