A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Let the music play..

Posted by Pepper on April 22, 2011

I associate music to memories. I think most of us do. And I am sure if I Google, I’ll find some research to prove the scientific existence of such a connection. If I like a song, I replay it a trillion times. So the sounds and the current moment get closely linked together in my mind. If I play the same song after a few weeks, months or years, it instantly takes me back to the moment I first heard it in. Not only does it bring the memories back, but I actually feel the same way I felt when I was listening to it then. It’s a great way to go back in time. I have songs that I listened to during exam nights that would help me relieve the stress. And when I listen to those songs, I can actually feel that tension I felt then due to limited time and unfinished course work. And then I can also feel the music calm me. I am not sure I make much sense.

This song was released when I was either 16 or 17. What impressed me most was the dance. I like the dance so much, I can see the song even if I mute the volume. At that age, all I really wanted was to be able to dance like that. But I also love the music in this song, so I never really thought of muting it. I would listen to this particular one during exams nights, quite a lot.

.
And then the next time I clung to it was when I was finishing my Masters in UK. I had a hell lot of work to do on my thesis, so I  would decide to go to the computer lab and work. Because being at home meant succumbing to the temptation of taking the laptop to bed and trying to work. And we can all guess what that would lead to. So I started walking to the lab. And almost everyday I’d get urges to listen to this song. And almost everyday I’d wanna kick myself for forgetting the headphones at home. So in the midst of all the work in the lab, I would watch the video without sound. And I’d dream of dancing like that with Mint and get mad because of our long distance relationship.

I had forgotten about this song, until today. I realised excitedly – I am married now! Mint and I live together. We can dance whenever we want. I showed him the video and told him to dance like that with me. I know it seems kind of difficult. And I am sure they’ve done some editing to give it that slow motion effect. But we can try. He is never the kind to say no to such a thing.

Don’t ask me whether we tried dancing or not. Keep guessing. Hah.

17 Responses to “Let the music play..”

  1. scorpria said

    Being the darling that he is, I’m sure he was practicing the moves (in slow motion!!) while you were typing out this post!!

  2. Bikram said

    Hmmm good knowing abiut mint from ur posts I bet he did try to dance.

    Have fun .

    Your previous post I have read it but I cant comment as it says password.

  3. Deboshree said

    I am your carbon copy as far as this music memory is concerned. I associate strands with past times and whenever I listen to them again, I get transported. I start feeling like I did back then and depending on whether the memory is good/bad, my day and mood are accordingly transformed.
    That is such a cute song… I am sure you guys had a great time if the dancing materialized. 😀

  4. R's Mom said

    hehehhehe! true I do associate songs with memories….songs that trigger so much love for people not near you…so the curious me asks did you n mint dance to the song :):)

  5. Tanishka said

    This is one of my fav song too and even I felt like dancing on this song every time I heard it… There is something magical about this song… And Neeraj Shridhar’s voice is simply amazing…
    I’ am sure you guys tried dancing now whether you succeeded or not is where the confusion lies… 😛

  6. I love this song too..!!
    I love the lyrics sung by Falguni in this song.

    I wish you guys danced 😉 Dancing is so much fun!!! We tried dancing for the song “Chori Kiya Re Jiya” from Dabangg. since it didnt have any choreography, we made one of our own! 🙂

  7. UmaS said

    So, did he dance to the tunes ???? 😉 😉 Music related memories are so sweet. 🙂 Enjoy life like this always. 🙂

  8. Comfy said

    Music is amazing is it not? Something we turn to when happy, when sad, when down in the dumps and when we fly high. And it takes all our emotions and lets us be us in those moments as it heals us and empowers us.

    There are so many songs we make associations with and just as you said they bring make memories years after if we happen to listen to them.

    Hope Mint and you get to dance on this song for years to come since I know you two did start the dance. May it never end.

    • Pepper said

      Thanks Comfy. All that you’ve said about music is so perfect, and so true. It is the best therapy when you’re happy, sad, mad, or anything else 🙂

  9. binpin said

    Have you haer this song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uh33J9OJ4pc. The first song that came to my mind when I read this post:). What you’ve written is so true. The same song that made us smile can have a total different effect down the line. I’m a sucker for dancing and music. Haven’t been to a dance class in ages. This post made me want to get into my dancing shoes again!

Leave a Reply

 
