A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Celebrating the years..

Posted by Pepper on May 7, 2011

Today, my mama and my papa celebrate their 30th wedding anniversary. That seems like a very big number to me. I have so much to say about them, but for a change, I will restrain. Here’s a toast, celebrating the wonderful years they’ve had and hoping they’ll have many more!

I think they’ve been the best parents ever. In my eyes, they’re ideal. Parenting is tough. You never know the outcome of your effort until your children are grown up individuals. You might be rewarded by their love or they might hate you for your ways. Worse still, they might turn out very detached. It’s a complicated journey. I think my parents have been perfect. They’ve given me a brilliant childhood. They’ve given me all their support. At the same time they’ve set limits. And now they’re my best friends. If their 25 year old daughter is this crazy about them, this devoted to them, then I know they’ve certainly done somethings right. I hope to have kids sometime in the future, and it scares me. I only hope my 25 year old feels for me, what I feel for my parents.

61 Responses to “Celebrating the years..”

  1. Prayers for them and amen to your wish πŸ™‚

  2. A very happy anniversary to your parents πŸ™‚

  3. congratulations to your parents pepper…heartfelt post :-)could feel a certain Ms. pepper do a “i wanna go to my mommy/papa” tantrum!

    Hugs babe!

    • Pepper said

      I don’t know how you managed to read the unsaid πŸ™‚ .. I did have a ‘I want my mommy and papa’ tantrum.. but got over it later.. Thanks Nuts!

  4. Bikram said

    Congratulations to your parents. And as you say its only later one comes to know how they did when kids grow up.

    I am sure you will be a lovely mom.

    Congrats to parents please do extend my regards to them.

  5. Saritha said

    Happy anniversary to ur parents.btw ur mom looks so young and no one will believe that she has a grown up daughter…..

  6. Tanishka said

    Happy anniversary uncle and aunty… πŸ™‚

  7. Ruchira said

    mine finished 44 yrs last week πŸ™‚
    U know its a lovely feeling to see them grow old together (touchwood !)

  8. Scorpria said

    A lot said in a few words! brilliant.

    please pass on my wishes to your parents πŸ™‚

  9. Deeps said

    A beautiful heartfelt post from such a loving and doting daughter :). Heres wishing your parents a very happy anniversary, Pepper and many many more such πŸ™‚

  10. UmaS said

    WOW !!! 30 yrs together is indeed a milestone and Happy Anniversary to ur parents, Pepper. πŸ™‚

  11. Ashwathy said

    You cannot really know what your kids will think of you as parents….until it is too late πŸ™‚ if you know what I mean…

    In the meantime… a standing ovation to your parents from my end! 30 years of togetherness deserves a salute…! πŸ™‚

    • Pepper said

      Of course I know what you mean.. it is exactly what I said too. πŸ™‚ Parenting is scary business and you never know the outcome for a long time..that is why I so wish my kids turn out the way I did πŸ˜›
      Thanks for the wishes πŸ™‚

  12. Titaxy said

    πŸ™‚ Happy Anniversary to your parents. πŸ™‚

  13. R's Mom said

    Wishing your parents many more years together πŸ™‚ What a sweet post

  14. Wow..!!! This is like Short n Sweet!

    Wishes to your parents on celebrating the joy of togetherness!!
    Wishing many more years to come..!! πŸ™‚

    Simply Loved the last line — I hope to have kids sometime in the future, and it scares me. I only hope my 25 year old feels for me, what I feel for my parents.

  15. SH said

    A very happy 30th to your parents!! πŸ™‚ and wishing them loads more of such happy years..

    Btw is that your mom in the pic? From what I can see she looks gorgeous!!!

  16. Just read your tamil on Revs post, You are too good..!! πŸ™‚

  17. Deboshree said

    Oh a huge congratulations to your parents for so many years of togetherness! God bless them with many more years of love and happiness. πŸ˜€

    Oh man, parenting must surely be tough. You never know what could happen – what you’re doing right – or wrong. There’s a reason God made parents; he must have endowed them with special skills. πŸ™‚

    • Pepper said

      Parenting is so tough really.. but I know so many parents who do what they think is the best for the child.. but in the child’s eyes they’ve screwed up big time! I don’t think I have any special skills and I wonder if they’ll just appear the moment we become parents.. so it scares me all the more.. πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the wishes πŸ™‚

  18. Happy Anniversary to your Mom and Dad, You mom looks so pretty, so you look like your mom or dad?

  19. Comfy said

    A very happy wedding anniversary to them. I know that with role models like them your 25 year old would look at you with the same pride and love you look at them. πŸ™‚

    PS: Tell me the pic is yours and not your mom’s else I will drown myself before I go hit the gym like a madwoman.

  20. Smitha said

    Belated anniversary wishes to your parents! Yes, with examples like their, you are highly unlikely to go wrong when your turn comes πŸ™‚

  21. A very Happy Anniversary to your parents !!

    The pic is of your parents ????? *gasp* …. recent pic ???? *double gasp*

  22. Mahes said

    Sweet post. Happy anniversary to your parents!

  23. Sands said

    Happy anniversary to them. Am sure you and Mint will be just like them πŸ™‚

  24. DI said

    Happy Anniversary to them! πŸ˜€
    Btw, you look like your mom quite a bit! πŸ™‚ From the FB pics, i.e.! And yes, you and Mint are going to have all this and much more!

  25. Priya said

    Best wishes to your parents! And may your wish come true Pepper!!
    Lovely post πŸ™‚

  26. S said

    Happy anniversary to your parents!
    Wish them loads of happiness and health for them.

  27. RS said

    That pictre – of your Mom? Man! I have a serious complex now…

    And Wishing them a very Happy Anniversary.

  28. Many happy Anniversary wishes to your parents! πŸ™‚

  29. Reema said

    my parents will be celebrating their 40th anniversary on 25th πŸ™‚ belated wishes to your parents.

Leave a Reply

 
