A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Shooting random bullets your way.

Posted by Pepper on May 16, 2011

Since so many of you seem to be doing random updates using bullets, I will too.

– I’ve been feeling quite lazy to post. I am never out of ideas, but these days I hardly ever feel like typing out a post. Whatever.

– The weather has been actin up. The weekend was kind of cold and rainy. We snuggled in bed, went out for meals, ate some great food and went to watch ‘Thor’. The movie has great reviews almost everywhere, but I thought it was just about okay.

– I’ve discovered a new fondness for Mongolian BBQ. We usually go to the Great Mall,  pile on the food in the box and load it with all the chilli sauces they have. Yesterday it was shut by the time we got there. I am still sulking.

– Mint’s colleague came home for dinner with his family on Friday. We made spicy, garlic mushrooms and laid out some chips for starters. For main course we had dal tadka, chicken curry using the recipe given to us by the expert cook, aloo gobhi, cucumber and mint raita, rice and rotis. Dessert was cake and ice cream. Since I don’t really consider myself to be much of a cook, cooking all of that makes me feel like I have arrived.

– We have a big decision to make on Thursday. Or in a few days after Thursday. It’s been scaring me, though I can’t seem to figure out what it is that I fear.

– To overcome my lazy spell, I am going to try posting every day this week.

– Almost everyday I wake up with such a start. Courtesy the stupid, loud, startling wail of Mint’s alarm clock. He says a soft and sane tune is not good enough to wake him up. He might be right, but the sound of his current alarm makes me jump out of my skin. I then feel my heart whirring noisily inside my chest, like a rickety old machine.

– All the book stores around us seem to be shutting down. First it was Barnes & Noble that shut down. Then Borders said they were closing. And last week we discovered another outlet of Borders that was closing. Like Mint says, the emergence of the kindle, e-books, etc has been a blow to the bookstores and they seem to be suffering huge loses. That makes me very sad. But on the bright side, Borders had a 70% sale and we picked up about 20 new books. What a delight!

– Kettle cooked chips are so damn addictive.

– Most of the search engine terms people seem to use to get to this blog are related to Mint. ‘Microwave Mint lazy’. ‘Mint flavoured cuddles’, ‘ Mint from dash of pepper blog’. I mean, shouldn’t it be me people search for?

54 Responses to “Shooting random bullets your way.”

  1. Me like the bullet point posts 😀

    Mongolian BBQ is so good? Hmm..even for ghaas-poos people ( vegetarians) like me?

    About that feast you cooked for the guests..kudos Pepper! Could have clicked a few pics for us to drool on them no? 🙂

    Whatever the big decision, may the outcome be positive for you two.

    LOL at the last one – somebody is slowly gaining celebrity status through you I see 😉

    • Pepper said

      Yes, yes, that BBQ is great even for veggies. They have a whole line of assorted stuff, mushrooms, spring onions, spinach, tomatoes, all of it is thrown in to the BBQ along with the sauces. Try it.
      I know I should’ve clicked pics.. I thought of it only after the food was eaten. Stupid of me!

  2. We were at the Great Mall as well this weekend 🙂
    Its kind of sad, so many book stores in the neighborhood are closing down.

    • Pepper said

      You guys were there too? We might have just bumped into each other for all you know 😀
      I know. So many people go in for a kindle. I don’t want real hard bound books to become a rarity.

  3. Sujatha said

    I love the Mongolian BBQ at Great Mall , it was enough to satisfy my parent’s spice level !
    Good Luck with your thursday decision !

    Sujatha

    • Pepper said

      Oh! You love it too? Awesome! The best part is that you can decide your level of spice. We like ours really hot! Looks like that is the case with most desis.
      Thanks 🙂

  4. Bikram said

    You the first I seen bullet points.
    All the best for thursday…

    And its true about the alarm clock a nice one wont wake you up.
    Thor mmm was planning to go on wednesday.

    And all that food yummmyyyyyyy…..

    • Pepper said

      Nice tunes for alarm clocks don’t wake you up? I am not so sure. You can have something gentle na. This one makes me jump.
      Go for Thor and tell me if you liked it!

  5. OH girl, I just done with my rants on my blog and stepped in here to see this. I so hate the weather here. WAW, You made a feast, you should be proud of . I hope you able to take a wise decision. Men and Alarms crazy I must say..I go through it every single day. Mint is famous than you Pepper 🙂

  6. Mongolian BBQ – I’ve heard enough now. Should plan on visiting that place soon!
    Kettle cooked chips – totally addictive 🙂
    Thursday decision – I really hope that its all good for you guys 🙂
    Books – You’re so right! I felt sad to see Borders closing 😦
    Kudos on the dinner spread, girl 🙂

    • Pepper said

      What are you waiting for? Pack your bags and get here 😀
      Chips are basically addictive but Kettle cooked chips are just something else right?
      Thanks ! 🙂

  7. RS said

    All the best for thursday!
    Mongolian BBQ – I liked too even being a veggie – went there a couple of times we were in the US. Like you said I guess its because we can choose the level of ‘spicy’ ness 🙂
    I drafted the bullet points too – now a fter reading yours – I think I will give it a couple of days before posting hehe 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Yes, the Mongolian BBQ has plenty of options for veggies. Where in the US were you?
      What’s the big deal in posting your bullet points now? Do it! 🙂

  8. Shas said

    Good one. Wow! you could prepare so many food items. Food must have been yumm…
    Last point was funny. I guess google likes mint 😛

  9. revsjoiedevivre said

    Where is the credit for the chicken curry? 😛

  10. Rang said

    :)All the best for the big decision you are going to take.

  11. DI said

    😀 Hehe, I like the extent of info the post gave!
    But I have to specifically mention the alarm bit myself 😐 I am waking up to ‘war sirens’ these days! I have no clue how waking up to the sound of being attacked is ok in any way 😦

    • Pepper said

      Oh the alarm. War sirens sounds crazy 😀 .. I understand melodious tunes won’t wake you up, but the sounds don’t have terrorize our sleeping brains right? That’s just another extreme.

  12. Scribby said

    read the entire post with so much concentration but the moment arrived on 20 books…gawd…I’M JEALOUS ! that’s all I can comment now 😛

    P.S. okay good luck for the BIG decision 🙂

  13. Way to go Pepper! All that food- bravo. Next step – cater a larger group. Next, let Mint do that. Next, let the friends help you and Mint out. And finally, invite friends over and let them cook. That is the nirvana of hospitality. *posing like a Guruji* I have reached there and it is bliss supreme. Like over the weekend, all I made was coffee. But I ate a variety of specialities cooked by my friend(willingly) who had come over 😉 😉

    • Pepper said

      You know, I think I had already reached the last step in Bombay, without going through the earlier steps 😛 .. But I think that won’t work here : .. So I thank the Guruji for such insightful advice and I await that feeling of nirvana 😀

  14. Deeps said

    Loved that title! LOL!

    Same pinch on the weekend-dessert! Thats what I served too when we had some friends over for dinner 🙂

    Good luck on daily posting..you’re going to need it, believe me! I’ve been at it for the last 13 days and its purely luck that has kept me going this far 😀

  15. Reema said

    u cooked all that!! awesome!! even Mint raita??? 😛

  16. Deboshree said

    “Mint flavoured cuddles” 😀 That one is interesting…
    I liked this post idea and yes, come to think of it, there have been so many random-bullet-type posts around here lately. It’s liberating I am sure. 😀

    Bookstores closing is ugly! I had a great big Crossword outlet near my place in Pune and here in Delhi, all I have is buildings and cars and noise. It makes me miss Pune so much.

    • Pepper said

      Lol. I had actually used the term ‘Mint flavoured cuddles’ in one of my posts a while back. That’s where it came from I guess 😀
      I am sure you miss Pune and the bookstores around your place. We all miss places we came from. But I am sure you’ll find stuff in Delhi too 🙂

  17. Smitha said

    I love bullet points posts – but I never have enough points to make a post of them 😦

    Mongolian BBQ? I am yet to even see something like that here 😦

    You made all this! Wow! You sure have arrived!

    I need a strong alarm to wake me up these days- actually two alarms 😦

    I am sure you will take the right decision.

    Mint is the star of the blog 🙂 Not surprised, I have to say 🙂

    • Pepper said

      I am sure you’ll have some kind of a Mongolian BBQ. Google and see.
      We need multiple alarms too. That is okay. I only object to the harshness my brain is subjected to early in the morning.
      Mint is the star of the blog?? No, no!! I am!

  18. Chiquita said

    Hey, I’ve missed your regular updates and your visits…happy to see you back. All the very best with your decision…trust your instinct. And about Mint…well I guess all the mush seekers have a clear agenda 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Thanks a ton Chiquita… Trusting the instinct is what I wanna do. But sometimes I can’t feel the damn instinct.
      You’re right. I suppose the mush seekers will always wanna read posts about him.. 🙂

  19. Tanishka said

    I like bullet posts…. 🙂

    You made such awesome food for mint’s colleagues…. Proud of you peppy…

    I don’t know what’s there on Thursday but all the best for it… 🙂

  20. ajay said

    So sad that bookstores have to be closed down these days. I always prefer hard-bound books to e-books. I like the feel and the smell of crisp, brand new paper. Can’t agree with alarm clock bit. Soft songs are more like lullaby and will lull even further into sleep instead of waking up. 😀

    • Pepper said

      I love the smell of new books! They’re magical. That magic can never be there in an e book.
      You don’t have to have a soft song for an alarm. Even if its loud, the tone needn’t be so startling. I hate waking up with such a jerk 😀

  21. If you stay near el camino in santa clara, try the mongolian BBQ near the intersection of el camino and pomeroy. It is one of my fave restaurants in the area. its pretty good. I have never eaten at great mall food court..will try it the next time I go there. 🙂

  22. R's Mom said

    WHAT 20 books! Bah I am jealous 🙂 I pretty often write bulleted posts na..easier to read 😉 and RD’s alarm is exactly like Mint’s..and the worst part, that stupid guy doesnt get up..I have to go and wake him up grrrr!

    and you cooked ALL THAT!! awesome babes, I need a treat next time you are in Mumbai 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Bullet posts are not just easier to read, they are easier to write as well.
      He doesn’t get up? Wow. I would kick Mint out of bed and ask him to turn it off. 😀
      Oh when I am in Mumbai I hardly lift a finger, let alone cook. I go back to being my mama’s spoilt brat. But you’re welcome to come home for lunch/dinner, even if its not cooked by me. And in return you can cook me some gujju food 😀

  23. scorpria said

    There are people searching for Mint? I think its about time you stopped glorifying him.

    Write a dozen posts on how he is mean and how he always fights and all that. It’ll go down, dont worry 😀

    I wish some book store’d close down here and they’d have a 70% off 😦 😦

    • Pepper said

      I usually write down stuff with the intent of recording it on my blog, but it ends up glorifying him 😦 And to write a dozen posts about him being mean and all, I’d have to make up stuff. He’s hardly ever mean, honestly 😦 So what do I do?
      And its okay if one book store closes. Then you can enjoy the same and get over it. But here, all of them seem to be closing down 😦

Leave a Reply

 
