A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

And it is birthday time!

Posted by Pepper on May 22, 2011

Dear Mint,

You turn a year older today. I know you’re not the one to get excited about your birthday or even like any kind of loud celebration, and that is fine. But today is special nevertheless. Today is the day you were born. I smile when I think of it – A couple welcoming their first born, a little baby boy, a small town, your growing up years, all of it. Today is the day you began your journey, more than two and half decades ago, so yes, today is special. If not for you, then for me. Because your very presence has made my life special.

Sometime ago, a friend asked me how different my life would be if you didn’t exist. That question jolted me. How different would my life be really? I would probably never have been able to free myself of the clutches of pessimism the ex had chained me with. Skepticism would still be blurring my vision. I would never have found such a true companion. There is no way I would have considered marriage at 23. Most probably I’d be just wading through life at this point, perhaps working in an unknown city, fighting the pressure to get married, feeling that undefined mild pain on seeing couples snuggle. Perhaps I’d never experience the joy of being soΒ thoroughlyΒ pampered by my partner. I may never have gotten the opportunity to experience so many new places. I may have never experienced this sense of happiness and security. When I try to imagine life without you, I can’t imagine much..

I feel thankful you came into this world. I feel thankful I met you. I feel thankful I have you. Beyond thankful. So today is celebrated. With red velvet cup cakes, a chocolate cake, good food and a good movie. Happy Birthday to my permanently charged massage kit, my calculator, my GPS, my roti-maker, my hot water bottle, my pillow, my comforter, my feet warmer and my home. I think the last word sums it up perfectly. You are my home.

Your mom tells me how much of climbing and jumping you would do as a child. I can see that has not changed much.

I hope you continue taking such fearless leaps, all along.

Lots of love,

Pepper

70 Responses to “And it is birthday time!”

  1. Lovely lovely lovely post! Just beautiful πŸ™‚
    Happy Birthday to Mint and wishing you both many many years of togetherness πŸ™‚

  2. Swaram said

    Lovely post! Happy Birthday Mint πŸ™‚
    And amen to that wish there πŸ™‚

  3. scorpria said

    Happy Birthday, Mint! πŸ™‚

    And Pep, absolutely adore the last line “You are my home.” Yep, it perfectly sums up the post, and like you said, sums him up in your life πŸ˜‰

    Have a great “celeb” day πŸ˜‰

  4. Awwww! How sweet!! πŸ™‚
    A very very very happy birthday to Mint! Lots of best wishes and touchwoods to you guys! πŸ™‚

  5. Titaxy said

    what a sweet post! Happy Birthday to Mint!

  6. Deboshree said

    If the world gets any sweeter, I may just get diabetic. πŸ˜€
    A very happy birthday to Mint. I hope you guys have a super fun day! πŸ˜€

  7. Phatichar said

    Happy birthday to Mint! πŸ™‚ Wonderful post.

  8. Ashwathy said

    He’s a gem. U r lucky to have him. Hold him close to ur heart and wake up every morning thankful to have him in ur life πŸ™‚ I’m sure u already do!

    Cheers to mint….here’s wishing many many more happy birthdays through the years! πŸ˜€

  9. R's Mom said

    Awww! Happy Birthday Mint man πŸ™‚ Thank you for completing the Mint side of Pepper πŸ™‚ Wishing you so much more jumping and joys in life πŸ™‚

  10. Rang said

    Such a sweet sweet post Pepper, may God keep you both always happy and healthy πŸ™‚ Happy Birthday Mint.

  11. Awwww that is such a cute post! πŸ™‚

    Wishing Mint many many happy returns of the day!

    PS: Does he read your blog? Just curious. πŸ™‚

  12. Happy birthday Mint πŸ™‚

  13. SH said

    Awww..this is such a heart warming write up Pepper.. I do hope you both stay fully in love and be each other’s home for a very long time to come πŸ™‚ ..and a very happy birthday to Mint!

  14. Hey..Pepper… Sorry , wasnt here for a while..!!
    Happy Birthday Mint! πŸ™‚
    This is a super special Blog made just for you.. and you have the most wonderful gift for Life – Pepper!

    Hope you had loads and loads of fun!

  15. Scribby said

    the best thing “you’re my home” !!!

    Happy B’day to you Mint πŸ™‚

  16. Bikram said

    Happy birthday to Mint. Many Many happy returns of the day …

    It seems funny that we never talked or even seen yet through pepper we have come ot know a lot about you and yeah keep thatjumping going… πŸ™‚

  17. VJ said

    Happy birthday Mint !!!
    Lovely post pepper… Heartfelt and truthful with loads of love !!!

  18. Happy happy b’day mint! may you two always be each other’s welcoming home!

  19. Birthday wishes to my mint! May both of u “leap” together πŸ™‚

  20. Tanishka said

    Happy birthday Mint…
    A very lovely post peppy… You are rally cute… πŸ™‚

  21. Absolutely heart warming post Pepper…{{Hugs}}

    A very happy B’day ( though belated now), to Mint. Wish him much happiness and adventures in life.

    His B’day fell on a weekend – that’s fantastic, don’t you think ? πŸ™‚

  22. Smitha said

    Lovely lovely post! But then Mint deserves it, no? Happy Birthday Mint! Here’s to many more birthdays and posts like these πŸ™‚

  23. Lovely post, written so beautifully.You are blessed to have him around, Happy birthday to Mint. Wish you both a wonderful year ahead and many more years of togetherness..

  24. ajay said

    Wonderful post. Happy birthday, Mint. Best wishes. πŸ™‚

  25. Comfy said

    Aah a weekend birthday. So tell us what all did you guys do? πŸ˜€

    Happy Happy Birthday Mint. Keep jumping and growing together Pepper and Mint. πŸ™‚

  26. Mint said

    Thank you one and all for the wishes! πŸ™‚

    Pepper, my mom told you about all the jumping and climbing, but nothing about the falling? If that snap had been clicked a second later, water would not have been the only “falls” in it. :p

    • Pepper said

      LOL. But it’s okay no. You jump, you fall and then you pick yourself up and decide to jump again. It makes life thrilling πŸ˜€

  27. Pixie said

    Awww… Happy Birthday Mint! πŸ™‚

  28. DI said

    Happy birthday Mint!
    And wish you guys have as much mush in your lives forever! πŸ˜€

  29. UmaS said

    Such a lovely post and a beautiful wish. πŸ™‚ May all your dreams come true, Pepper-Mint !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Belated Happy Bday to Pepper’s Mint. πŸ™‚

  30. piyu said

    Aww.. such a mushy birthday post. Wish Mind a very happy birthday πŸ™‚ and hope you guys have a lovely celebration today!

  31. Chiquita said

    Seriously, how romantic is this? I never even knew there was a low and then such a huge high….so then bigger and many more brownie points to the perfect partner.

    Happy Birthday Mint…my wish today is that all of us single women find our better halves soon πŸ™‚

    Pepper, brilliant brilliant post…I feel the love πŸ™‚

  32. happy birthday mint!
    I went aww when I read the ‘you are my home’ line πŸ™‚

  33. Sujatha said

    Happy B’day to your Mint!

  34. The ‘you are my home’ was so darn moving πŸ™‚ Happy Bday to Pepper’s Mint πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
