A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

I wait with bated breath..

Posted by Pepper on May 24, 2011

for my mom’s arrival. It is finally happening. She is going to be here in around 2 weeks. I can’t believe it.

I’d been asking her to plan a trip here for ages. Each time, the excuses given were different. Sometimes she said the journey would be too tiring, sometimes she said the weather here wouldn’t suit her, sometimes she said dad and sis didn’t have any time off and she couldn’t leave them and come alone, it just went on.

And then my mom’s sister who lives in Chicago, announced the engagement of her daughter. She put added pressure on my mom to come for the wedding, which would be in July. After almost a month of contemplation, she agreed to come. This would be my mom’s first trip to USA and I waited anxiously for her visa to get approved. On the day of her interview, I was beyond nervous. I had to keep asking myself to calm down. Finally, it all got done and we breathed a sigh of relief.

Her travel dates were finalised and then began the war between us. She said she was coming here just for a month, out of which she’d be spending about 10 -12 days in Chicago. That means she wouldn’t be with me even for a full 3 weeks. I blew my top. Every time I see parents of friends come here for at least 2-3 months. Her 3 weeks sounded so ridiculous to me. Bur I had to given in to her plans ultimately. Well, never mind.

Once I made peace with her decision, the excitement of having her here has been taking over me. I told BFF#2 about it while we were talking on phone, and she squealed in delight. “That is so awesome! It must feel so great. She was the one who brought you up, you lived in a house run by her, and now she is going to be visiting your home, a home run by you. How does it feel to have your mother at your place?” Those were her exact words.

A home run by me? I don’t think that is how I looked at it. A while ago while talking to mom, she told me she can’t wait to come so that she can cook for me. She’s asked me to keep a ready list of things I want to eat while she is there. I don’t understand how selfless mothers can be, but that is how it is most of the times. Knowing mom, and knowing myself, the home will be run only by her while she is here. Of course, I plan to give her a tour of the house when she comes – this is where the spices are, this is where you dispose trash, this is how you turn the shower knobs. And then hand over the reigns to her. I do know that it will give her joy and I also know that she sees it no other way. I am this ‘messy. unorganished’ girl of hers. She knows she will come and shout at me and then straighten things up. She knows she’ll feel happy feeding me Β She knows I am going to ask her to cook all that my heart desires. Am I selfish? Perhaps. But if there is one person who has given me the right to demand like that without feeling guilty, it is my mother.

So yes, the countdown has begun. I can’t wait to be a spoilt brat again. Β I can’t wait to spend all those hours chatting with her. I can’t wait to go out shopping with her. I can’t wait for our upcoming Chicago trip, the wedding celebrations and everything else that comes with it. I am ecstatic. I really wish the sister and dad were coming too, but I’ll try and not be too greedy. For now, I wait with bated breath for my mama’s arrival.

61 Responses to “I wait with bated breath..”

  1. UmaS said

    Thats so true….mothers are so selfless in their love…. πŸ™‚ Enjoy ur time with her….all the chats and foods cooked will help u carry on later….hugs. πŸ™‚

  2. omg – that is soooo exciting!!! What is it with parents and excuses, huh? My parents have been doing the same! πŸ˜€ Have great fun times with mom and keep us all posted too πŸ™‚

  3. R's Mom said

    mom’s coming, mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,mom’s coming,! okie see how excited you got me πŸ™‚

  4. piyu said

    How come all Moms are like that?? They *always* just want to take care of you! Have fun Pepper :D.. I am sure you are gonna have a blast for the next few weeks!

  5. Awesome Awesome Awesome..!!!
    what do we get when your mom’s there??? ghar ka khaana??? mithaiyan vithaiyan..
    atleast in pics???!!

  6. Ashwathy said

    Ha ha ha….having mothers around does that to you πŸ™‚ In my case, my MIL is also a sweetheart, so I am likely to get spoilt rotten!! Yay!! :mrgreen:

  7. Bikram said

    Oh yes I can imagine your excitement.
    Mum-dad came for 3 weeks first time and that too they said they are bored:-( .

    And it is a different feeling having parents in your own house. Dad would do his usual gardening …

    Thankfully they liked it and we had to change rhe ticket.
    Tell your mum to get a open ticket just in case you make her to stay longer that way she can.

    • Pepper said

      Her ticket is already booked. I know nothing I do or say will alter her plans 😦 .. But its okay. I’ll make them all come again!

  8. Swaram said

    Oh u r so rt abt Moms! They are always thinking abt what they can do for us.
    Have a gr8 time πŸ™‚

  9. Awwww I can so relate to that feeling πŸ™‚
    When my mom’s here, I leave everything to her and just chill out. I go back to my spinster days and become a brat again πŸ˜€ and that feeling is awesome.

  10. So So identify with this post…When i was home last week i was treated like a 10 year old. Initially the first time my mom came home i tried to be a big girl and do things and blah blah. then i realized …umm and why am i doing this??? and prompty handed over the reigns to my mom. Now when my mom or MIL visit – they do all the pampering πŸ™‚

    • Pepper said

      I don’t think I would even try being a big girl in fronta mom. (The mil is a different story though :P) ..
      It’s good to just lie back and be taken care of na..

  11. Scribby said

    yipiiiie !!! I’m so very happy for you πŸ™‚

    And now this means you’ll be away most of the time and we won’t chat πŸ˜‰

    HUGS peppy πŸ™‚

  12. RK said

    awww…enjoy girl!!! super thrilled reading the post…can imagine your happiness!

  13. Phatichar said

    *sniff, sniff…(dabs eyes) πŸ™‚

  14. Deboshree said

    Aww! I can actually feel all the excitement P. πŸ˜€
    Have a great time with Mom. πŸ˜€

  15. Sands said

    How fun!! Am excited for you. After staying on and off with me for almost 10 years, mine hasn’t visited me in 3 years. Feels like eternity. Enjoy every moment πŸ™‚

  16. Sujatha said

    Awesome! I do the same, I leave everything to my parents when they come here …
    Have lots of fun πŸ˜€

    Sujatha

  17. neha said

    yay!! thats awesome!! My mom coming too, in June.. Actually, I just booked her ticket and told her she was coming back with me (since I will be traveling to india this week, too). The reasons parents give not to travel here! I could make a whole of them πŸ˜€

    • Pepper said

      Oh you’re mom is coming in June too? Awesome! Next time I should just book their tickets and tell them they’re coming too πŸ˜€

  18. Mahes said

    You are right, pepper! When my MIL visits it’s ‘my house, my rules’ πŸ™‚ and when mom comes over, I let her take control. I am her little girl just as I was back home. Have fun with your mama!

    • Pepper said

      I know right.. I wouldn’t leave the house to my mil and expect her to take care of everything when she visits either.. but with mom, it is just different πŸ™‚

  19. Pepper, am so damn delighted for you babes!! It indeed is the best feeling…. imagining your mom right there with you in the foreign land you tried hard and made your home πŸ™‚

    When mom is at home- she rules. Period. No question of you running the house πŸ˜‰

    Selflessness – they name is mom. Seriously. They don’t want big gifts, big tours and fancy things – all they want is to pamper us and see us happy.

    Sorry, am hogging space here. Words just came gushing out.

    I miss my mom now * sniff *

    • Pepper said

      You said it perfectly AHK. That’s how moms are! I can’t wait to show her around and stuff but she is more interested in setting things up for me before she leaves..
      Go give your mom a virtual or telephonic hug πŸ™‚

  20. Yayyyyyyy πŸ˜€
    You guys are going to have so much fun! πŸ˜€

  21. Comfy said

    Yay! Super happy for you. Am glad after all the tension you were in these past few weeks things worked out. Have a blast, get pampered, eat all you like, take in all the love and some more. Those are the things Moms are best at. πŸ™‚

    Oh oh and we want to know what you are wearing for the wedding. WW pics will do too. πŸ˜€

  22. When mom is with me I just can’t do anything, I become a baby, Last year she was with me and I forgot the way to kitchen, she would get my milk, chai to bed and make me drink just like those days when I was a fussy eater. R miss mom too, she knows how to pamper us.

    Few months ago when I was in India I wanted to cook something for my parents, it was a paneer dish , which my mom usually don’t make but they love to eat. I entered the kitchen and while making the mix, I switched on mixer and the lid got opened and whole kitchen was a mess. I was so upset and I had to leave immediately for some urgent work. Mom asked me to go, I am sure she would have spend a lot of time cleaning and making a new dish..so the lesson I learned is when mom is around you can’t cook or do anything to impress her.Period.

    • Pepper said

      I think we all become babies when moms are around, no matter how old we are. My mom and dad used to give me my coffee and breakfast in hand every morning when I used to be rushing to college and stuff, and now I can’t wait for that to happen again πŸ™‚

      I know what you mean. That is why I think it is not sensible to even try πŸ˜€

  23. Preethi said

    Thats great Pepper ! I leave everything to my parents when they visit me. Dad is usually busy shuffling heavy things for me and mom takes care of each and every minute detail. what do I do? I just sit on the sofa and spend my time keeping in touch with all my friends who I dont call bcos of my busy schedule..he he. My hubby says that its not fair and I should not let them do any work.

    • Pepper said

      I think it is the same everywhere! At times I think it is a little unfair too, but then I know they won’t listen to us if we ask them to just sit back right? So let them do it. Lol.

  24. Deeps said

    Goodness I could totally sense the excitement in your words, Pepper! Wonderful to know that your mom is coming. Have fun with all the pampering and cuddling and snuggling and of course ma-made delicacies :). I can so feel your excitement! This is exactly how I felt when my ma visited us for the first time. I really didnt know what to do from where to start where to take her and what to cook for her..I wanted to do so much for her!

    Awww, hope your mom has the bestest time with you, girl! Heres to the mom & daughter Hugs!

    • Pepper said

      I am happy I could translate the excitement into words. The pampering, cuddling, snuggling is what I look forward to the most.
      I want to do so many things with her and take her to so many places too, but she’s here for such a short while, I’ll have a hard time choosing what to do.
      Thanks so much Deeps! πŸ™‚

  25. metzii said

    First time, you have a very nice blog. It was interesting reading it. And yeyyy Mom is coming… Have a great time gal.

  26. Smitha said

    Moms! They have a way of just taking over everything and making you feel like the little girl you once were πŸ™‚ This is how I feel everytime I go home – I can just let go, and be my mum’s little girl πŸ™‚

    So happy for you!

    • Pepper said

      Yes, that’s exactly how I feel when I go home too. Now it is more exciting that I don’t have to go home in order to experience that.. πŸ™‚ Thanks a lot Smitha πŸ™‚

  27. Enjoy every moment of your mom presence. Yaa, moms are so selfless. I still remember how great it was when my mom visited us few years back, first time. It was also fun to see my other half not liking – me getting pampered.. πŸ™‚

  28. smartassbride said

    you two rock, okay! lots of time stretching magic your way, so that her visit time doesn’t rush away.

  29. scorpria said

    Ohhh I sooo understand. Considering how long my mom put off coming from just Trivandrum to Bangalore with various ridiculous excuses, I think your mom’s to be excused for her excuses πŸ˜‰

    And finally when she DID arrive, all Suraj said was “Ok, so now you’re not “just” mine anymore. You’ll be the Princess and I’ll be the outsider. (sulk)” and then flash a mischievous smile, ‘coz he knows she loves him to bits too. ROFL.

    So yea, Princess-to-be, have FUN! πŸ™‚

    • Pepper said

      I love the sound of Princess to be πŸ˜€ You see, Mint is as happy as me. He knows he’ll be off the roti making business he has to take on everyday πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

 
