A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

The joy of rain..

Posted by Pepper on June 7, 2011

It has been raining in Mumbai. And every time I talk to the sister, she makes sure she rubs it in. To add to that, I see so many people on Facebook putting up a status talking about the rains. I am jealous.

I’ve had a different relationship with the rains during each stage of my life. When I was little, there was some special joy in playing in the building compound during the monsoon season. Because we’d be out looking for earthworms in the mud. If the downpour happened to be too heavy, I wouldn’t be allowed to go down to play. My mom would lay out an old rug on the floor, and give me a few jigsaw puzzles to play with. I remember sitting on the living room floor during dark evenings, hearing the thunder as I tried to fit each piece of the puzzle.

When I was old enough to travel to school alone, rains took on another meaning. I associated the rains with damp, soggy socks and smudged labels on text books. My dad would drive me to school in the mornings, but I used to come back by myself in the bus. Every time I walked back home from the bus stop in the rain, my aim would be to prevent my school bag from getting wet. My dad always told me to wear a rain coat, but I thought that was too uncool and childish. I preferred carrying an umbrella. As a result though, the school bag dangling from my shoulders on my back would be exposed to rain and the labels would get smudged. The bags only claimed to be water proof, they never really were. So during rains, I started carrying the school bag in the front instead of the back.

Once in college, I started associating heavy rains with holidays. Most of the time, I used the renowned Mumbai local train to get to college. If the rain got too heavy, the tracks would flood and the trains would stop operating for a while. The college would mostly declare a holiday to prevent people from getting stranded.

The 26/7 floods in Mumbai did drill some fear in my mind, especially because I had some first had experience and struggled to get back home. But despite that, my deep rooted love for Mumbai rains remains unshaken.

Here are some of my favourite rain songs..

This particular one is a childhood favourite.

.

And this one. I think my love for dancing in the rain grew immensely after seeing this song. I love Kajol’s shorts.

.

And this one. What a wonderful melody!

.

This one is another good meldoy. We would mostly listen to this song while walking in the rain on Marine Drive. Sigh! Those days.

.

And another one.

.

And this one, if you want to dance.

.

Which are your favourite rain songs?

64 Responses to “The joy of rain..”

  1. Titaxy said

    rain…aahhhh rain…i am all smiles 🙂

    off to listening to those songs you posted 😀

  2. pixie said

    Yup! 🙂
    All these songs are a fave!
    Rains in Bangalore – those are memories I cherish and miss!
    Hot Jelibis/pakodas/chaat in the rain, hot chai at the corner shop… sigh! 🙂 🙂

  3. Sig said

    I love Mumbai rain too!

    Unfortunately the rain in Melbourne is pretty depressing – cold and dreary and really does not make you want to venture outside. It’s great for snuggling tho 😛

    Can’t see the songs from work, so will come back later but I love rain songs.

    My fave english song – HAS to be Belinda Carlisle – Summer Rain, fave hindi song – hmmm…sooo many!! 1942 Love Story – Rim Jhim, Chaalbaaz – Kisi ke haath na aayegi ye ladki (hahah ok so not really about the rain but it was a great song in the rain!! :P)

    • Pepper said

      I don’t like the rain in the Bay Area either. It is cold and gloomy too.
      Nice songs! Rim Jhim from Loce Story is a part of the list.. 😀

  4. R's Mom said

    and sweetie the mumbai locals still get stuck during rains and I learnt to carry my office (school) bag in the front in the rains the hard way too!

    These songs..baap rey its ages since I heard these songs…

    Thanks for that..

    now let me turn evil and tell you..I hate the mumbai rains..travelling is a pain and I get late to pick up R every time..bah!

    rant over, feeling better 🙂

  5. Scribby said

    OMG you just won’t believe it rained here yesterday and I started writing a post on rains with rains songs that I like 🙂 The post is still sitting in the drafts folder right now but this is how it would look 🙂

    • Scribby said

      songs that I like or come instantly to mind when it rains are:

      >tip tip barsa pani…pani ne aag laga di
      >rim jhim gire sawan
      >sawan ka mahina
      >lagi aaj sawan ki phir woh jhadi hai
      >parbat se kali ghata takrayi…

      god the list is endless 🙂

      • Pepper said

        Awesome songs! Tip tip barsa paani was a nice song, but I thought the video was too vulgar for my liking 😀
        You have 2 songs from Chandni! Super!

        • Scribby said

          why vulgar? it has a good music to it 🙂 so there…

          Oh I love Chandni songs 🙂 all of them !

          adding more:

          >Yeh sajish hai boondo ki..koi khwaish hai…
          >tumsa koi pyara koi masoom nahi hai 😉
          >zindagi bhar nahi bhoolegi yeh barsat ki raat
          >Megha chaaye aadhi raat…

          LOL..I’m spamming I know 😛

          • Pepper said

            It is very good music definitely. But the video is vulgar, they are almost making out 😛 That is why i only hear the song, I don’t see the images 😀
            I absolutely love all Chandni songs too!
            3rd wala kaunsa hai? Let me Youtube!
            No no, no spamming. You are being nice enough to add to my glorious collection. Thanks! 😀

            • Scribby said

              it’s an oldie… heres the link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LK2RwDVk9Ag

              >pehli barish main aur tu…
              >abke sajan sawan mein..
              >jo haal dil ka idhar ho raha hai…
              >koi ladki hai jab woh hasti hai…
              >aaj rapat jaye toh hame na uthaiyoo..
              >dil yeh bechain hai…rate pe nain hain…
              >behka hai mann kahi…
              >sason ko sason mein ghulne do jara
              >Ankho se tune yeh kya keh diya…

              hahahaha I’m loving this !!!!

              • Pepper said

                I am loving this too! This is a treasure trove here! I’ve put up these songs in my play list now 😀
                I love all of these!

        • Sig said

          Chandni is one my all-time favourite movies 😀 😀

  6. Deboshree said

    Ah a post on rain! I don’t know when we will get some. 😦
    My favourites are included in your list: Rimjhim rimjhim and Saawan Barse. The former is one that always brings a smile on my face and the latter is one I love listening to when hitting the road while it’s raining. I hope there’s a chance to hum them soon. 😀

  7. Pinoooo said

    Love the rains, and so many memories with it, and the joy of just getting drenched when getting back home… it would be anger if it was on the way to work 😛 This year I’ll be there in Bby to be in the rain, I missed it last year! But looking forward to it totally… Will definitely convey your love to the Bby Rains 🙂 😀

  8. I love love love love Mumbai rains. I even plan my annual trips around june for it 😀

    My fav rain songs- I have to write a post for that 😀
    What tops the list at this moment is “saawan barse, tarse dil… Kyun na nikle ghar Se dil”.
    Once it actually rains here, i might change it to something else like “rim jhim rim jhim”, “boondon se baatein”, or “nahin saamne, ye alag baat hai” (this one just sounds nice while its raining outside without actually being a rain song)

    • Pepper said

      Bombay rains are the besssssstest no? 😀 I love anybody who loves them like me 😀 You’re lucky you get to plan your trips around June. I mostly end up going in Dec. Its been ages since I’ve experienced the rains in Bombay. Sigh.

      Boondon se baatein is another great song i had forgotten about. Thanks! Nahin saamne is one of my favourites too!

  9. Ram Pyaari said

    heyy! thats lovely post, reminds me of the rains as well…..which part of the world do you live in now?

  10. DI said

    You put them all! 😐
    I think I like rim jhim and sawan barse the most! And I will which I used to heavily dislike, or rather, find embarrassing back then – Tip tip barsa pani! Man! 😛

  11. RK said

    Monsoon rains are so much to look forward to! My all time fav is Rim Jhim ghire sawaan – AB’s song! just love it!!

  12. darkcomedy said

    Been reading your blog the last few days. Liked reading the last post specially. More power to you, Pepper 🙂

    Also, tagged! http://darkandcomic.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/hello-im/

  13. Ashwathy said

    I do not know all these songs….
    But one of the reasons I love being in Mumbai is the long monsoon 🙂 Sigh… I can never get tired of the rains…
    And fortuntely was not here when the floods happened. So yep. Am loving it! (rubs it in) 😀

    Sawan tarse dil released when I was a teenager. It was the perfect teenage love rain song (whatever!) U know what I mean!

  14. soulmate said

    One of my fav rain song is Dekho na from Fanaa movie… My actors are in the movie… can listen to tht song again and again..

  15. Bikram said

    beautiful songs… I am not sure if i have heard all of them but lovley…

    🙂

  16. Aarrghh. You are making me pray for rains now!

    Rain. Now. Plisss. *Puppy face*

  17. Rim jhim gire saawan …
    pyar hua ikraar hua hai …..
    Barsaat main tumse mile hum sajan…
    Ek ladki bheegi bhaagi si

    and many more ….

  18. ajay said

    I also never wore raincoat and preferred to get drenched instead. Raincoats are so uncool and awkward. I like the third one the best but the English subtitle looks funny. 😀

  19. Mahes said

    My favourite rain songs are only in Tamil 🙂
    I don’t like SoCal rain because it’s cold and depressing. I always dream of raining cats and dogs when there is a 100 degree weather. How would that be? A girl can dream right?

    • Pepper said

      I love Tamil songs.. Why not introduce me to some good ones? 🙂
      I don’t like the rain here either. And rain in 100 degree weather is exactly how it is in Bombay .. 🙂

  20. Comfy said

    How I used to love the rain in India. So much fun. I remember the minute the first drop of rain fell for the first time in the season we would ask the prof. to let us go. We would run to the hostel put music at the highest and dance in the rain till the rain stopped. Ahh such good times 🙂

    ‘Raindrops keep falling on my head’ is my all-time fav. song when I am happy.
    ‘Lagi aaj saawan ki phir wo jhadi hei’ is my go to rain song when I am sad or thoughtful.

    • Pepper said

      Oh Comfy! You brought back more memories. We used to rush to the terrace to dance and would place the tape-recorder (God I feel ancient) under the shelter of the water tank. Good times indeed 🙂

      Lagi aaj saawan ki phir wo jhadi hai is my go to song when I am sad or thoughtful too..

  21. scorpria said

    LOVE LOVE LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE the rain. I think if you’ve grown up in Kerala, you just learn to love the rain by default 😀

    My fav rain songs are all the songs that sound sweeter when i hear it while watching the rains — the song itself may have no relation to rain 😉 ) I have a load of those 🙂

  22. Phatichar said

    How can we forget the ever sensuous ‘Aaj rapat jaayein’ from Namak Halaal?

    And here’s my list (Aside from all the songs mentioned already, which are also my favs. This list is fairly new)

    * Couple of rain songs picturized from ‘life in a metro’
    * iktara (slow/male version) (wake up sid)
    * ghanana ghanana ghir ghir aaye badra (lagaan)
    * na jaane kahan se aayi hai (chaalbaaz) – ok, I admit this song doesn’t look one bit like natural rain, but nonetheless..Sridevi’s comic timing in this song is great.
    * Bhaage re mann (Chameli)

    There are more, I’m sure -only these came now top off my head. 🙂

    Lovely post, Pepper!

  23. Lovely post 🙂
    I can relate to your feelings about rain changing in different phases of your life. I used to hate the smudged up labels and wet socks at school. At college and work, rainy days meant holidays and that craving to have my dream man beside me. 🙂
    I love almost all the songs you have listed here. Some additions:

    Saawan ka mahina, pawan kare shor
    Teri do takiya ki naukri mein mera lakhon ka sawan jaaye
    Ghanan ghanan ghir ghir aaye badra
    Ek ladki bheegi bhaagi si
    Chak dhoom dhoom
    Bole re papihara

  24. Rosh said

    I feel the same emotions. Though i’m in HK. These rain posts and statuses drive me insane. And today especially was insane. Bombay was flooded apparently. I can’t wait to go back. I love your post and all your posts. Beautiful!

  25. […] Don’t forget to catch up Peppy’s post!! […]

  26. ajay said

    I came back to this post because it’s been raining here all day long and am loving it amid rain, books, blog and songs:) On a similar rainy day sometime last year I wrote the rain. Thought you might like it. 🙂

  27. […] forget to catch up Peppy’s post!! Rate this: Like this:Like3 bloggers like this post. Posted by Scribby Filed in Aha Zindagi!, […]

  28. […] had the opportunity to experience the Mumbai monsoon after years. I remember longing for it last year. This year, I am totally living it up and I can’t stop smiling. Spread the […]

Leave a Reply

 
