A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Her arrival..

Posted by Pepper on June 10, 2011

It was evening. I was waiting at the airport. It had been a crazy day for me, with last minute plans thrown in. My cousin had said he would come home that night and stay back for dinner. I had to cook in a rush, wrap things up, get ready and leave for the airport. All I had was an hour at hand. Thankfully, I managed to finish everything and leave on time.

I realised I was tired as I stood there, but more than anything, I was quite anxious about my mom’s arrival.. My mom is not used to travelling alone. And she is like I always say, a little duh like me. Would she be able to figure everything out? Would she come out of the right exit? She had no phone, so if she got lost, we’d find it very hard to trace her. I was waiting right next to the escalator she was supposed to come down from, so that she could see me the moment she got on to it. Everybody from her flight seemed to be coming but her. I don’t wear a watch, so I peeped into the screen of my cell phone to see the time every 2 minutes, hoping all was well with her.

There were two kids standing with their mom next to me. They held a banner that read, ‘Welcome home Titi, we love you’. I couldn’t stop smiling. I am sure Titi would feel the love, whoever she was. I love being at airports and watching the world around me. This time though, I was too busy scanning the area with the hope of spotting mom somewhere.!

I saw her finally. She was wearing a green top and fitted jeans. I thought to myself, my mom looks so amazing! Well okay, I am biased. She got on to the escalator, I waved. As expected, she didn’t see me. I think I almost leaped in the air the second time. She was here, and I couldn’t  believe it! After a little bit of frantic waving and jumping right in front of her, she saw me. We hugged the moment she came. It is so hard to describe that moment.

We walked to the baggage claim area, collected her bags and walked out. Mint was outside in the car, waiting for us. It was a happy time for us.

We drove back home. The moment she stepped in, she exclaimed, ‘Oh God, this place is so messy’. And this, after I had taken the effort to tidy up a little bit. The only ‘mess’ I could see were a couple of DVDs lying on the living room floor. I wonder what she’d have said had she seen the place in its original state. She then saw the kitchen and said the counters weren’t clean enough. *Groan*. We moved to the bedroom and she let out another big sigh on seeing the open wardrobe and how unorganised it was. Again, I think the closet is in a decent state. By my standards, not hers.

She wanted to start cleaning up the place the moment she came. We had to shout at her and ask her to sit back. She kept asking us when we will learn to be responsible and we kept asking her what is so wrong about the house? She then saw Mint sitting on the floor and playing on the PS3, I sat back on the couch. “You guys are such kids”, she said. Well, aren’t we going to be kids all our life, especially for moms?

It has been a happy time since she came. We’ve been laughing, chatting and having a good time. She is still unpacking and the goodies seem to be popping out, one after another, like magic. I wait and watch excitedly to see what she will pull out next.

So yes, mama is here. The good times begin, even if they include some amount of rigorous cleaning.

73 Responses to “Her arrival..”

  1. mehmudah said

    Sweet post! hope u and mom have a lovely time!

  2. Bikram said

    I got to be FIRSTTTTT to comment here 🙂

    • Bikram said

      Wow congrats I know I know the feeling standing at the airport waiting and then not seeing them ocme and then seeing them come .. all those thought

      immigration hua
      luggage aa gaya
      this and that blah blah blah …

      I am always worried about my mum since She does not english so I get worrried , but mum has travelled so many times more than me , she is more confident then me now ..

      Hope you all are having a fun time and enjoyinggg… hey hey I read mint playing on PS3 what games he playing tell tell .. I jsut finished the COD.. black op .. whats the next good game to buy …

      • Pepper said

        I know, we always worry about moms like they are little kids 🙂
        We’re having a fun time definitely. I have no clue about PS3 games, but I can ask Mint and tell you 😀

    • Pepper said

      You just missed … Sowwy 😀

  3. Titaxy said

    happy times 😀 enjoy.

    i want to drop by if you are willing to share some of the goodies 😛

  4. ajay said

    We’re always remain kids for moms. 😀 Don’t we just love that anticipation mixed with anxiety and excitement! Your post made me smile and then I missed my mom. It’s been a long time since I saw her last.

  5. The airport scene was quite similar in my case too. I kept worrying if Amma would manage to do things correctly. Then when I saw her, I ran to her and hugged. We then sat at the airport cafe and had a very British cream tea 😛

    Then we came home. You will hate me after reading this- she was wonder struck looking at my place. She even ‘nazar utarofied’ me by clicking her knuckles. She admitted she dint trust me enough to maintain a house this well. Then she opened my kitchen shelves and saw how organised the bottles and spices were. Finally she said that the next time I come to india, I must give ‘her’ kitchen a makeover 😀

    For all the days she was here, AB and I decided that we would let her make only one meal(lunch as we both would be at work). I used to call her after work and make her meet me near my place. Then we would take a walk in the park or sit near a pond. Then we would go home and I would make dinner- something special everyday. If AB is cooking, I would stay out longer with her looking at English kids ‘oohing’ and ‘aahing’ 🙂

    I wanted to take care of her for a change and I must admit, it almost broke my bones. But there is a satisfaction I derived from it… and a pride she derived from it- priceless!

    (We also fought a lot as usual but that’s normal for me. :-))

    Wish you and your mother loads of fun and laughter. You are not biased, she IS gorgeous! Hold on to these days real tight Pepper, go sit on her lap and refuse to let go! I am so happy for you 🙂

    Sorry for the long comment, but you understand why it became long right? 🙂

    • Pepper said

      No CR, I don’t hate you. I am only envious of you :D. SIgh. I want to be like you. I tried. God knows I tried. I cleaned up the place before she came, and I think I have the spices organised too. Even the closet is good enough. But either her standards are too high, or mine are too low. Like I said, she wasn’t impressed in the least bit 😀

      I love the sound of all that you guys did. I hope to do similar things in the limited time that she is here. I take her around and want to take care of her to an extent to, but maybe I am just not capable enough.. 🙂

      Thank you so much. I will hold on to the days as much as I can 🙂
      No sorry, you know I love long comments 🙂

    • Scribby said

      aww CR….more awww 🙂

      mothers have this magic on us,hai na? 🙂

      HUGS to you and peppy both …group hug..come come!!

  6. Prerna said

    Hi Pepper,
    I recently started reading your blog, and I can sense the excitement in your post and can relate to so many things you said..!! Make the best of your mom’s visit! Have an awesome time!! 🙂
    I am also trying to convince my mum to come and visit me here!

  7. Mahes said

    Wow, she is here already! Enjoy and get pampered!

  8. Comfy said

    I can feel your excitement through your works. Enjoy this time with your mom. Take in all the goodies she got for you. Smile a lot. And just have loads of fun. Hugs 🙂

  9. Yay I see the excitement in your post..Have fun and lot of fun 🙂

  10. Scribby said

    YAY YAY YAY peppy 🙂 I’m so happy for you girl !!!

    Have a blast and make most of this opportunity…after all mum is here !! HUGS

    And did you tell aunty that she looks like your elder sister ?? what not yet ??? 😯 Now go and tell her right away 😀

  11. pixie said

    😆
    I can totally relate to the cleaning part! 😀
    My mom wiped the kitchen counter 15 mins after walking in… 😀 and this after we had scrubbed the whole counter!! 😛

    Hope you have loads and loads of fun! 🙂

  12. darkcomedy said

    I can so relate to all of this!

    My MIL is visiting tomorrow, and in 10 days, my mum is coming too. Between the two moms, my mum is the one who’s going to say something on the lines of “this place is so messy!”, I’m quite sure! 😀

    But apart from that, looking forward to a lot of fun in the next few days.. you do too! 🙂 *scoots to toil and clean invisible corner dust bunnies in preparation*

  13. Have a jhakaas time with your Mum! 🙂

  14. Ashwathy said

    Hahaha truly cute! 😀 Moms will be moms…!

    I love the way you digressed from the post just for a few seconds….in that Titi bit 🙂

    Ur post reminds me of the time my housemate’s mom came and stayed with us for 3-4 days. It was hilarious. She was cleaning everything in sight…including window sills and switchboards!! 😯 My roomies were embarrased and were like 🙄 while I was like 😆

  15. scorpria said

    Ok…i feel like sending my parents away for a few months and then going to the airport to welcome them 😀
    Have fun Pepper! I so know how that feels 🙂

  16. Saritha said

    I felt the same way when my mom visited us at dubai for the first time.She was the last one to come of the airport on that night.And she cleaned entire house after few days,she too didnt like my cleaning…..

    Enjoy every moment of ur mom stay…..

  17. Rang said

    Have a good time Pepper 🙂

  18. binpin said

    Maybe your mom and my mom are long lost twins:P..Dont try too hard.Even after 6 years the house is still “messy” when she arrives.Have fun and enjoy!Remember I was supposed to drive up East today .Had terrible car woes and my folks said they will take the train and come and now Im busy cleaning up…sigh:(

  19. RS said

    Finally, huh? Enjoy this time and have fun 🙂 Also, just let Mom do what she wants to with the cleaning – I bet at theend of it all you would’nt have to do any cleaning for a few months atleast! 😀 Thats how it works here – everytime mom’s here I leave it to her- especially kitchen!

  20. Swaram said

    Awesome! Haffun 🙂

  21. Enjoy maadi! moms have himalayan cleanliness standards, I think 😐

    have a great time, you two!

  22. DI said

    Eeee! Where is my comment :S?
    Enjoy girl! Mom’s arrival always meant a neat, organised cupboard and room for me! That’s a plus always! 😀
    Have a great time!

  23. RK said

    Felt nice after reading!! Have a great time with mom!!

  24. Preethi said

    I know it is really hard to impress moms. Have a fun time with you mom Pepper !

  25. R's Mom said

    Ma is here, Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here,Ma is here, – Thats how the Pepper Mint people are singing now a days 🙂

    PS – Unclean house – All mothers say that 😉 even if you are a mother of a three year old bah!

  26. Phatichar said

    Enjoy! 🙂

  27. dipali said

    Have fun with your mom!!!! Enjoy her visit, and the cleaning:)
    Some hugs, just for fun!

  28. Deboshree said

    The good times have begun! Make the most of your time with Mom and the cleaning is of course an intrinsic Mom-thing so that has no escape. 😀

  29. Hurray! She is here!!

    Cannot stop feeling happy for you Pepper… {{Hugs}}

    Questions –

    Why is it that our loved ones always turn up the LAST in the airport arrival gate?
    Why can’t we seem to find any right words to say when we see and hug them?
    Why do mommies have to start working the moment they get a chance?
    Why does her suitcase feel like a pandora’s magic box? 😀

    No, I don’t need the answers..just saying 🙂

  30. tinu said

    hi…i cud feel ur excitement..u wrote it all so well that v cud really visualize it…enjoy , have fun…

  31. Childwoman said

    Thats great !Hope you guys have good time!

  32. Awwww such a cute post 🙂 Loved the way you have described your experience at the airport.
    LOL @ your mother picking up stuff from the floor and cleaning up immediately after her arrival.. Mine is the same. The first place she went to after removing her slippers (when she visited us for the first time) is the kitchen and started washing the dishes. 😛

  33. piyu said

    Have lots of fun 😀 (cleaning :P)

  34. vishalbheeroo said

    hey Pepper
    Moms are like that only.. No matter how much we grow up, we incur their wrath..ask me..hope u had a great time at home.
    Cheers
    Vishal

  35. Santulan said

    Moms! I can empathize with you. Last time mom came to my place, her first comments were how unclean my place was, and I had to tell her that she would go mad had she seen it a day before. Every time she is here, she feels compelled to clean the place, organize the cupboard, arrange my table contents.. I am not used to her level of cleanliness and organization

Leave a Reply

 
