A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

My people..

Posted by Pepper on July 18, 2011

I was introduced to him online. On Gtalk. I was excited. It was the very first time I would be speaking to somebody from Mint’s family. From what Mint had told me, his brother wasn’t exactly an extrovert. That made me a tad conscious and I told myself to not blabber too much. I didn’t want to overwhelm him the first time we spoke. That was also the first time Mint told him about me. And shortly after telling him about ‘this girl’ he was dating, he asked him to join a ‘conference’ on Gmail, so that the three of us could have a conversation together.

We started talking. I spoke with caution, trying too hard to create the right ‘first impression’. And just when I thought it was all going well, Mint dropped the bomb. While describing me to him, he said, ‘She was thrown out of a club once, because she was too drunk’ I was furious. This was NOT a good introductory line. How can he be so wicked? For starters, the above incident had pissed me off immensely. I was not drunk at that time, and yet the club guards had insisted I was. They physically hauled me out, without listening to a word I had to say. Mint, who was present at that time, had made it all worse for me by laughing. Being thrown out of a club was a big blow to my monstrous ego. I was trying to push past this incident. Dealing with Mint’s annoying laughter was hard enough. I had still not entirely forgiven him for laughing at such a time. And what had he done now? Told his brother about this the first time we spoke? What would his brother think really? That I was some loose, psychotic drunkard who gets thrown out of clubs? Mint is evil. That’s all.

Fortunately for me, his brother just laughed it off. And from then on, he has been one of my best friends. People get a little surprised when I tell them that we can talk about anything, right from R rated talk, to sex talk, to just about anything. He is also my own little spy. Since he lives with my in laws (who also happen to be his parents), I get all the inside scoop and know all that is going on because of him. I rant to him even when I am mad at something the in laws have done and he is the only person I wholeheartedly trust in Mint’s family.

He calls himself Oregano. A name he chose because ‘Oregano’ is related to the Mint family. I thought it was pretty cool. He is 3 years younger to me so I get to boss over him quite a bit. I am going to write a few posts that will all be a part of a series called ‘My people’, and he is the first one to be featured.

Happy Birthday Oregano! I am not sure how well I would have dealt with everything had it not been for your constant support. I owe a lot to you. You are just getting out of college and starting your first job. I hope you have a fun filled and fulfilling year ahead.

58 Responses to “My people..”

  1. Sands said

    How awesome to have someone like that on the other side? 😉 A very happy b’day to Oregano 🙂

  2. To find a best friend among the in-laws family is indeed a rare happening and am so happy you found him Pepper!

    Also, to be a bit elder and to get to boss around the friend is like the cherry on the cake, eh? 😛

    Best wishes for an awesome B’day and a terrific life ahead- from me to Oregano as well 🙂

    [ Note: You are a loose, psychotic drunkard who gets thrown out of clubs? * gulp *…never knew!! LOL]

    • Pepper said

      That’s right.. finding a friend in the in laws is just so rare.. 🙂
      And you shuddup and don’t make fun of me okay? *angry face*

  3. What a super sweet family, Pepper, Mint and now Oregano 🙂 I wish I had a spy like him at my in laws 🙂 My in laws gossip right in front of me, and now that I understand their language its tough for me to ignore 🙂

    Happy Birthday Oregano and looking forward for the series 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Having a spy like him is the best part.. But at least you understand the language now.. so you knwo what they are saying at all times 🙂

  4. Bikram said

    What out of a clubb.. Ohmygod even I have never been thrown out.. Ooooh la la how many did you have…

    He he he ok ok sorry sorry..

    Happy birthday to oregano.. I share a very good relation with two of my bhabhis I understand all the fun we have…

    Take care pepper and do extend my wishes…

  5. Happy birthday Oregano 🙂

    Pepper, I want to know who would be Basil please 😀

    • You are way too cool Peps to be thrown out for being drunk(ok ok looking drunk) 😀

      I was thrown out for asking for drinks. Because they thought I was underage. No, I was not flattered at all 😐

  6. Comfy said

    How sweet is this post? We all need people like him in our life. People we can rant to and get scoop out of and get all the support we need. Glad you have him in your life.

    Happy Birthday Oregano. May life ourside of college be a lot of fun for you. 🙂

  7. bini said

    Its such a nice feeling right, to have someone to love whole heartedly in your extended family:). Now if I bake you a cake will you write about me:P…just kidding :D.

  8. R's Mom said

    Awww! Super nice to have such a wonderful BIL na

    you got thrown out of a club!! *Shakes her in surprise*

    and oh Happy Birthday Oregano 🙂

  9. Very sweet 🙂 Loved this post 🙂

    ..and you got hauled out of a club? 😀 😀 bwahahahahahahah 😀

  10. Oregano said

    😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 Weeeeeeeeeeeee!! I’m famous now! Best birthday gift ever!!! Beats the awesome cakes you keep sending every year! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 Thank you pepper 🙂 You are too sweet to be called pepper you know. And thanks all for your birthday wishes! ( I’m famous 😀 😀 😀 ). What was the club’s name? Ocarina right? 🙂

  11. Scribby said

    a very happy b’day and best wishes for his new life 🙂 Oregano is super cool name,tell him 🙂

    Lovely post peppy..where have you been ? Did you check the message I sent you?

  12. DI said

    😮 😮
    You got thrown out of a club! Tsk Tsk, girls these days!
    Happy Budday to Oregano! I really like the name, and lucky for you to have someone like that! 🙂

  13. Jack Point said

    I think Mint was just trying to break the ice with that story, which it obviously did, otherwise one tends to end up with that awkward, stilted ‘family chat’.

    If its any comfort, I once knew a girl who said her (female) flatmate was a Polish newscaster for Star television.

    A six-footer, who drank vodka straight from the bottle and had a reputation for being thrown out of bars for brawling.

    I was dying to meet her…….:)

    • Pepper said

      Breaking the ice? This was a very risky way to do it me thinks.. there were a lot of better ways. But well, maybe it worked cos it was this risky and he still went ahead with it..

      Yeah, almost every person I spoke to at that time told me it was really cool to be thrown out of a club… So maybe I should stop looking at it as a black mark in my clubbing career..Lol.

  14. scorpria said

    This is awesome.
    I wish I had someone like him in Suraj’s family 😦 Yes, you guessed it…I still don’t, and don’t think I ever will.

  15. Sig said

    My bro-in-law is the same….we’ve grown up together so he knows since I was 13 years old. So he was my brother long before he became my brother-in-law 😀

    And such a cute name too – happy b’day to the other herb 😛

    Hahaha I can so see u being infuriated from being kicked out of a club 😛

  16. Titaxy said

    happy birthday, oregano! 🙂

  17. Pixie said

    Awww… touchwood!! Happy birthday to Oregano! 🙂

  18. ajay said

    Happy birthday, Oregano and all the best for life outside college. 😀 I’ve one more year left to enjoy college. 🙂 😦

  19. Ram Pyaari said

    happy budday oregano!

  20. awwwwww
    it feels so good to have someone like that 🙂

  21. sm said

    happy birthday to or
    its great you found someone to talk anything.

  22. Preethi said

    A very sweet post Pepper. Happy birthday to Oregano and isnt it great to have your b-i-l as a very good friend. May you have more fun times together.

  23. Deboshree said

    Oregano. Wow, reminds me of Dominos’ Pizza. Lovely name for Mint’s brother. 😀
    It must be terrific having a support system like that. Happy birthday to the dude.

  24. I think it was lucky for mint that he was on a gmail conv, I can so imagine the looks of murder from you, Pepper 😀 this sure beats the “she married me for my car” 😀

    Happy b’day Oregano! You have a fan in all of us, I think. Not many of us have a cool friend in the other side 😉

    ps to pepper : I just imagine a future scene where you will be advocating the merits of sensible drinking to your kids. the scene ends with Mint adding, “but she got thrown out once…” 😛

    • Pepper said

      Mint is lucky he is alive..I tell you I was that mad! And that scenario you described, I won’t be surprised if it really happens 😐

  25. RS said

    Aww! Happy Bday to Oregano – Nice name 🙂

    And I have my cousin SIL who is more like my BFF than his sister and we get along like a house on fire – yes! I rant about my ILs too with her! 🙂 I think we’re blessed to ahve someone like that -dont ya think? 🙂

  26. revsjoiedevivre said

    You drunkard you!! 😉

    Happy Birthday Oregano! Hope you enjoyed the cake 🙂

    Ahem, when do I feature in this series Pepper? 😛

  27. Chhavi said

    Meeting your guy’s relatives is scary. I could totally relate with article. 🙂 Convey my wishes to Oregano. 🙂

  28. Ashwathy said

    It always helps to have a spy in the house, especially when you are not that close to your in-laws. God bless your friendship with oregano! 😀

  29. dipali said

    Happy Belated B’day, Oregano.
    Pepper, he sounds like a lovely person to have in your life. All the best to him and to you.

Leave a Reply

 
