A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

To live in this beautiful world..

Posted by Pepper on July 20, 2011

Few things make your heart swell the way nature does. I love living in this place because it is set right in the midst of nature. Even while driving on the roads here, you are fortunate enough to get a peak of the mountains every now and then. And I talk about city roads here. If you really want to escape the city life, you have so many scenic places to choose from. All within driving distance.

A few days ago we decided to go to Lake Tahoe. The plan was to leave early in the morning. It was going to be four of us. Mint, his cousin, my mom and I. The trip was planned mainly to take my mom around. We had taken her to Napa Valley just a few days ago. But none of us are members of the wine culture, so that wasn’t a very thrilling experience for us. But Tahoe was something else.

We were surrounded by gorgeousness all along. The sea, the lake, the trees, it was a picture of true beauty. I feel bad the camera was not powerful enough to capture those colours. Or maybe that is a good thing after all. Because it would be an insult to view those images on a computer screen. Now, I carry those images in my mind, in my eyes. Those were landscapes studded with sapphire and emerald. Even the memory takes my breath away.

I think it is very important to stay in touch with nature. We lead such crazy lives, we tend to forget how beautiful this world is. I suppose every few weeks we need a fix and I hope we are able to continue travelling like that.

Balancing on one foot and being laughed at. I was trying to get the sand out of my shoe and clean my foot. Instead of giving me a hand and helping me balance, they chose to laugh and click pics.

Testing the water to know how cold it is.
Question: What kind of an idiot wears jeans to a beach?
Answer: An idiot like me.
Question: What kind of an idiot refuses to roll up the jeans while stepping into the water?
Answer: A vain idiot like me who goes unprepared and is worried about the little, unseen hair on her legs and believes the world is out there, carrying their binoculars, becauseΒ scrutinizingΒ my legs is a lot more interesting than watching the sea. Of course, the world revolves around me.

We decide to stay out of the water and just watch.

And then we went to a ramp. I just knew I had to lie there and watch the world. The water was so clear, I could see the corals beneath. There was another old couple at the end of the ramp. They seemed to be having a good time watching this beautiful blue world too. I lay there for a bit, not wanting to get up, not caring about a thing.

And then I told Mint to come and take a look at the waterbed too. I didn’t want him to miss the experience of lying there. My mom was as busy sitting on the ramp and taking it all in. These pictures were taken by Mint’s cousin.

And now I can’t wait for our next little break..

60 Responses to “To live in this beautiful world..”

  1. Lake Tahoe – the one place that is seamlessly gorgeous no matter the season – winter, fall or spring πŸ™‚

    Being there in jeans and choosing to stand aside and watch is just not right! Having said that, you did what I would not do on impulse – lie there on the ramp gazing at the waters. ( will take cue and remember to do it next time). And, you know I love that last picture, don’t you? Couldn’t be more perfect πŸ™‚

  2. SK said

    Yep we are indeed fortunate to live close to so many beautiful places. We have been to Tahoe so many times, each time to get a different flavor of nature. Yes a break every once in while with nature, gives a better perspective of our teeny tiny lives and the worries in them

  3. kinmin said

    The place looks beautiful! πŸ™‚ awesome pics! And being able to see the corals sounds interesting..would like to do that some day! Yeah this is one of the best things about living here, but you can’t do all these things if you don’t know how to drive! 😦 By the way, did you watch ZNMD? How did you like it? πŸ™‚

    • Pepper said

      Driving here is really easy, doesn’t take much to learn – So says the girl who avoids it as much as she can πŸ˜›
      I did watch ZNMD and thought it was really good, especially cos of the eye candy πŸ˜€

  4. revsjoiedevivre said

    Go get a room guys πŸ˜‰

    PS: I hate you. Why the hell is your hair so neat? x-(

    • Pepper said

      Get a room for what? Lying together and watching the water? Bah.. like I said, where will I find a room as gorgeous as this. You get me one if you can πŸ˜›
      My hair, its neat because I spent 20 mins straightening it before we left. 😐

  5. R's Mom said

    Errr…and I am the idiot also who wears jeans to a beach and manages to wet them till her thighs and then cry to everyone that bachao bachao I am sticky hehehe πŸ™‚

    awesome views rey…take another trip soon πŸ™‚ we will be waiting for the pics

  6. Titaxy said

    bliss!

  7. Ashwathy said

    Wail 😦 Me wanna visit too!! πŸ˜›

  8. Scribby said

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ smiling my ear to ear smile for that last [original] pic πŸ˜‰

  9. Ah pepper u are one lucky gal to stay close to such a lovely place, though i love traveling but getting leave a tough job πŸ™‚

  10. dipali said

    Such a lovely post and awesome pics!!!! I love the bit about why you weren’t rolling up your jeans:):):)

  11. Mayborngemini said

    The last pic is suuuuuuuuuuupppper cuuuuute ..

  12. S said

    The last picture is soooooo cute!

    And you didn’t go into the water? Madddddd you are! πŸ™‚

    But you seem to have had a very good time πŸ™‚

  13. Bikram said

    WOWOWO the pictures are beautiful .. and i liked the last one πŸ™‚ Great couple and God bless…

  14. Pixie said

    I loved the last pic! It’s so “together” πŸ™‚

    Of course, mostly I go unprepared too! So, the pants stay as is!! πŸ˜›
    I so want to visit the beach! Cant wait for our Bay Area Trip to get finalised!!

  15. I was there a month ago and loved the place. I love your pictures especially the last one πŸ™‚

  16. bini said

    I heart Lake Tahoe.:)

  17. I love love love Lake Tahoe!

  18. Sands said

    All I have to say is, love Lake Tahoe, love the water and really like the picture of you and the Mint on your back πŸ™‚

  19. Preethi said

    That could be me Pepper…not rolling up my pants as I dont go prepared to the beach. Nice pics.

  20. Wow! Nice pics! I need a vacation so badly, I almost hate you right now for this post! πŸ™‚

  21. ajay said

    The place looks heavenly. Being there and soaking in nature must have been a bliss. πŸ™‚

  22. Aww those are lovely pics. And you have a super duper lovely figure. Now, Pepper , please don’t tell me the other gorgeous lady in the pic is your Mum. She is drop-dead gorgeous too!!

    • Pepper said

      Thanks so much Pal πŸ™‚ … Yep, the green one is my mom. I guess we’re just lucky to have genes like that. We don’t have to work for our bodies. My mom gets it from my grandmom and I get it from my mom. So we can’t really take any credit for the way we look. πŸ™‚

  23. Tanishka said

    Amazing place and the pics are really cute… πŸ™‚

    PS – I loved your haircut…. πŸ™‚

  24. scorpria said

    Completely agree with you. sometimes, its a huge injustice to take in the beauty of nature on film πŸ™‚
    Yes, it’s very important to be in touch with nature — and I’m just about to do that πŸ˜€

    Love the pics, esp the last one πŸ˜‰

  25. Deboshree said

    Lovely pictures Pepper. This looks like a beautiful place. It’s all so blue and so calm and so quiet… was it so quiet? I want a break like that too! 😦 I am so jealous of you right now.

    • Pepper said

      It was a very quiet place..
      How about planning a little break for yourself? One weekend is all it takes to get away from the madness πŸ™‚

  26. RS said

    Ah the last picture is Bliss! Awesome… Sigh! It feels so ‘connected’…

  27. I can so relate to the ‘connect with nature’ thing you have written about. For me, it is essential that I take off every once in a while to rebuild that connect. I hope the OH and me would always be able to do that too.

    I have read about Lake Tahoe in a lot of books, and have always thought the name and the place sounded exotic and extremely beautiful. Got to see it through your pics. Would love to visit it in person some day.

    Love the pics. Specially the last one – such a spontaneous and lovely pic it is. And, as I have mentioned before, your mom looks absolutely gorgeous! πŸ™‚

    • Pepper said

      I hope you guys keep that connection with nature alive too πŸ™‚
      I know, Lake Tahoe gets a lot of mention in books right? The place was always on my wishlist because of the many mentions it had in the books I read too ..
      Thank you πŸ™‚

  28. The pics look so pretty….I have never been to US, it appears so clean

  29. Chiquita said

    You’re so lucky to be able to take such amazing trips. The place is stunning. And i loveeee the last picture….you guys are a sure mush overdose…I like πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
