A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

It has been 19 years

Posted by Pepper on August 27, 2011

from the day I first saw her. I was 6 years old then. All my friends had brothers and sisters. I longed to have a sibling. Finally I was told there was a baby growing in momma’s tummy. The 9 months of wait seemed painful. Everyday I would cry and ask my parents when the baby would come out? And then, finally, the day came.

I was at home with my Grandmom when the phone rang. My dad was calling from the hospital to tell us the baby was out. It was a girl! We could now walk to the hospital to see the baby. I doubt I can ever forget that day. We left the house right away. I was trying to tug at my grandmom’s arm and run on the road. She kept holding me back because her arthritis ridden knees were unable to cope with my speed. All along the way, I pulled at her arm and sang, “Fire on the mountain, Run Run Run”. Does anybody else remember that song? It feels like it all happened just yesterday.

I think I fell in love with her the moment she opened her eyes and took a look at me. She had beautiful brown eyes, smooth fair skin and light brown hair. I wanted to name her ‘Sabrina’, but my evil parents would just not listen. Nor would they let me carry that gorgeous bundle wrapped in soft white fabric. I was mad at them for a very long time.

The advantage of having a big age gap is that I remember every bit of her childhood very very clearly. I spent hours playing with her, helping mom feed her, taking her around on the carrier of my bicycle and generally keeping an eye on the little brat. I think I had my first baby at the age of 6.

I don’t know at what point my baby turned into my grandmom. Before I knew it, I was being advised to dump my then boyfriend by a 12 year old because she thought he was a jerk. By the time she turned 13, she would give me advice on love, life and relationships. I don’t know where she got her wisdom from. She was the first one to ask me “What’s up between you and that guy?” when she saw me chatting with Mint for long hours every night.

Today she is an opinionated, crazy, shoe loving, chick-lit reading, guitar playing, gorgeous young girl and one of my bestest friends.

Happy Birthday baby. I know I’ve harassed you all your life by smacking your ass, making you write my journals, making you sing for me, making you watch movies because I want company, waking you up when you’re fast asleep because your annoyance gives me great pleasure, ordering you to make Maggi for me when I am hungry in the middle of the night, given you the worst nick names and done other stuff enough to make you hate me. But then its okay. Because I know you still love me! * Grins *

61 Responses to “It has been 19 years”

  1. scorpria said

    Happy Birthday lil grandma πŸ™‚
    Hope you have a grand day today–and a fantastic year ahead πŸ™‚

    And yea, Pepper…It’s all okay…coz it’s awesome to be the younger one, esp when the other sibling loves you to bits πŸ˜‰

  2. Comfy said

    Wishing a very very happy birthday to your baby sister. May the love between the two of you only grow and the bond stay as strong as always. Much love.

  3. Tanishka said

    Awwww…. Such a cute post… Happy b’day to ur lil sis cum grand mom cum BFF….
    PS – I too like that name Sabrina….

  4. Tan said

    Aww….such a sweet post…. my bro is 7 yrs elder to me….he simply adores me…so, I can relate to what you are telling πŸ™‚

    PS: I do remember “Fire in the mountain….run, run, run”. Seeing this in this post brought back childhood memories to me πŸ™‚

  5. aww….such a nice post!! happy birthday to the little sister πŸ™‚

  6. Awww happy birthday pepper’s baby! Wishing you a fantastic year ahead!

  7. Mi said

    Wow… I love my lil sis to death!! And I could relate to everything you wrote!!
    Nice post, Pepper! πŸ™‚

  8. R's Mom said

    Happy Birthday Pepper Sister…(how come she doesnt have a name like you have Pepper and Mint has mint and oregano has oregano) She should be called Chilly flakes heheeh πŸ™‚

    BTW…I thank you for this post…and please thank your parents..ask why? because thanks to them, your sister was born and she gives me hope that a 6 year age gap is not too bad between two sisters..so I still have about 3.5 years before having another child πŸ˜‰ Muah to Pepper sis for that

    And my bro was 3 when I was born and he still remembers seeing the ugly me in the hospital room…isnt that awesome πŸ™‚

    and she plays the guitar…wow! must be a hit in her college na..with those super awesome legs and guitar in hands..ekdum filmy πŸ˜‰

    • Pepper said

      I know! I should think of a name for her.

      A lot of people I know think the 6 year age gap is too much. They don’t think siblings who are 6 yrs apart can be close to each other. In our case, we’re super close, but that’s probably because my mental age is lower than hers.

      Filmy hai? My sis has to take after me I guess πŸ˜‰

  9. stuti said

    it makes me remind of my sister,who too is 6 years younger to me..much more mature and wiser than what I am….and today when I look at back at all the times that we have fought, and fought bad, its pleasantly strange to see love and love alone spring from those moments. how i want to relive them again..

  10. ashreya said

    happy b’day to ur sis.. :). so, ur in-laws have reached?? πŸ™‚

  11. Awwww such a sweet sweet post. Happy birthday to your sis! πŸ™‚
    I know I’ve harassed you all your life by smacking your ass, making you write my journals, making you sing for me, making you watch movies because I want company, waking you up when you’re fast asleep because your annoyance gives me great pleasure, ordering you to make Maggi for me when I am hungry in the middle of the night, given you the worst nick names and done other stuff enough to make you hate me. – That’s not being horrid – that is sharing a special bond with your sibling. πŸ™‚
    I am an only child, and I have always longed for that kind of company. 😦

  12. Also, totally unrelated to the post – Can you send me that recipe for pesto please? Sorry to bug you, but I would really love to try it out. Somehow, I have a feeling I will like your version. πŸ™‚

  13. S said

    You make me miss my sisterrrrrrrr 😦
    Loved this post πŸ™‚

  14. Titaxy said

    Happy Birthday to her! πŸ™‚

  15. Bhavani said

    So Sweet….my oldest sis is exactly 6 yrs older than me and we have this spcl bond even with the age gap…I could so relate being the brat myself;))

    Many More wishes to lil Pepper:))

    Bhavani

  16. ‘I think I had my first baby at the age of 6’ – wow. that line alone says it all πŸ™‚

    Heartiest wishes to the crazy, opinionated, guitar playing gal on the picture. May there be loads of laughter, fun and adventure in life ..( something tells me she likes it that way).

    [ I am 6 yrs elder to my brother too and though I do not remember the exact details of the day he was born, but I do remember being a bossy sister who ordered the little boy around. hehe.He still remains to be a sweetheart though πŸ™‚ ]

    • Pepper said

      Bossing over your siblings is your birthright. Whether they are elder or younger doesn’t matter. Both me and my sis have bossed over each other a lot.

  17. ajay said

    Such a charming post! Copying Scorpriya, happy b’day to your lil grandma. πŸ˜€

  18. Aww such a beautiful touching post Pepper, Wishing your baby sister a very happy birthday. And she looks a lot like you, not that I have seen you but I have a picture of you in my mind πŸ™‚

  19. Sona said

    Happy birthday Pepper’s first baby πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Hope you had a gorgeous day!
    And Pepper,can totally relate to the sibling bond-do not have my own siblings but have two cousin sisters (way way elder to me) whom I happened to have grown up with-so the feelings are ones I can TOTALLY relate to although from the other side.Being babied by my sisters is a privilege I share always πŸ™‚
    Much love and I truly hope the bond strengthens with time ,
    Sona

  20. Happy b’day to your first baby! God bless.

  21. Sands said

    Happy b’day to your baby sister. Mine is mad at me for not talking to her in weeks 😦 They are just the best, aren’t they? πŸ™‚

  22. Bikram said

    Sorry i am late ..

    BUT many many many happy returns fo the day .. Happy birthday to your sister …

    lots of love Take care ….

  23. Preethi said

    Belated bday wishes to the little sister. I am the younger one and my sister used to tease me a lot when we were small(she still does). She calls me ‘choti mummy’.

  24. Seema said

    Happy Bday to your baby sister. Such a lovely post, reminded how me and my older sister were inseperable during our growing years.

    And yes, do remember the song, Fire in the mountain πŸ™‚

  25. Ashwathy said

    For some reason…I thought YOU were the younger one!! I’ve no idea why πŸ™„

    Anyway happy bday to the li’l grandma πŸ™‚

  26. HappyFeet said

    such a sweet post! Wishing her a great year ahead! πŸ™‚

  27. Deboshree said

    Such a swee-e-e-t post! It must be nice to have a sibling who’s also a best friend.
    A very happy birthday to the birthday girl. πŸ˜€

  28. Wow what could have been the better B’day wish than this. See now I know your age πŸ˜‰

  29. Scribby said

    oh fire on the mountain??? I do I do !!! Sigh good old day Peppy! cute cute post peppy…Happy B’day Sabrina πŸ˜‰ *well I love the name and now I’ll call her by the same instead of her original*

    wow guitar player??? hat off to her..I love people who play guitar…love you Sab for this πŸ™‚

    lol @ from the baby to grandmom πŸ˜‰

    unlike you I never liked having a brother 7 years after me 😦 guess I was not prepared for the sharing and all that …but later of course things changed…but initially it was really tough for me to accept that he is a part of our family now πŸ˜›

  30. kinmin said

    Absolutely loved the post Pepper, reminds me of my sister!! πŸ™‚ Wishing your sister a very happy birthday! πŸ™‚

  31. Hello! First time here! πŸ™‚ I came here via revs>>smartassbride. Been reading through your blog, and love it! πŸ™‚ I have a younger sister just a few years younger to me and I can so totally relate to this post! πŸ™‚

    Fire on the mountain? Yes yes! Vividly remember that one! πŸ˜€
    Cheers to the sheer coolness of being an elder sister! πŸ˜€ And Happy Birthday to your sister!

Leave a Reply

 
