A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

What women should have and know

Posted by Pepper on October 20, 2011

Revs passed this tag to me a while ago.  It’s time I do it.

This one talks about what every women should have and know. My response is in line after each point. Let’s get to it!

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE …

enough money within her control to move out and rent a place of her own, even if she never wants to or needs to.
I think I have rambled enough about this. I don’t exactly have a job today. I might have one tomorrow. Irrespective of that, we’ve had and will always have joint bank accounts. So I don’t know how to answer this question really. Yes, I do have enough money “within my control”. But no, right now that money is not earned by me. Does it matter? I wonder.

something perfect to wear if the employer, or date of her dreams wants to see her in an hour 
If my employer asked me out, I would politely decline. I don’t think I like the idea of dating my employer. If there is no dating involved and he wants to see me for another reason, I would stick to something basic. Something like a crisp, semi casual white shirt and blue jeans maybe? Part two has me sighing. I am dreaming of Brad Pitt wanting to see me in an hour. Or John Abraham. I have a very healthy passion for clothes and know I will have more than a few options to choose from. And that would be a problem. Multiple options confuse me. But yeah, I think I have an interesting collection to pick from.

a youth she’s content to leave behind 
Oh yeah. So far my life has been exciting and interesting. As well as smooth and hassle free. Touch wood.

– a past juicy enough that she’s looking forward to retelling it in her old age
I already have an endless supply of juicy stories for my grandkids. Like the one in which my mom caught Mint and I kissing, when he was nothing more than my boyfriend. Or the one in which I was accused of being drunk and was thrown out of a nightclub. Or the one in which I nearly drowned in a sea in Thailand. Oh, I can go on…

– a set of screwdrivers, a cordless drill, and a black lace bra
Yes for all. But Mint and I bought the tool box together. So I jointly own the screwdrivers and drill with him. That still counts right?

– one friend who always makes her laugh… and one who lets her cry 
Yes. Thankfully I have a few of both.

– a good piece of furniture not previously owned by anyone else in her family
Yep, the furniture we bought hasn’t been owned by anybody else in my family, but I suppose it has been owned by somebody else’s. We’ve bought a lot of good stuff from Craigslist. So does this count or not?

– eight matching plates, wine glasses with stems 
Nah. I wouldn’t want to own those now. I will make sure I have those when I own a home. That is when I will have expensive dinner ware, fresh orchids in crystal vases, soft rolls of hand napkins in the bathrooms and other such things. Right now, we enjoy a low maintenance life. Convenience is all that matters. Seriously,  right now, I don’t think Mint or I would care if we had to sip exotic wine out of steel tumblers.

– a recipe for a meal, that will make her guests feel honored
How am I supposed to decide that? I believe I am an average cook. Sometimes somethings I cook turn out great. Other times they turn out not so great. If I had people coming for dinner at short notice, I would have a hurried date with Mr. Google in which I would zero in on what I think would be the winning recipies.

– a feeling of control over her destiny
I haven’t fully understood the concept of “destiny”.  But, I don’t feel like I have too much control over the direction of my life, especially in the coming few years. At times its scary and at times its thrilling, with all its unpredictable turns.

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…

– how to fall in love without losing herself 
I know, now. Unfortunately, I think I lost a little bit of myself when I was with the ex. But, lesson learnt!

– how to quit a job 
Sure.

– break up with a lover
I did it. So I can safely say I know how to. But I believe it took me too long to do it.

– confront a friend without ruining the friendship 
This doesn’t sound hard at all.

– when to try harder
I need to learn this. I give up too easily, mostly because the achievement in question doesn’t seem important enough to me. I am too laid back a person. Other than my people, few things matter to me. But when it matters, I give it my all.

– when to walk away
I learnt this the hard way. I truly regret not walking away from MB earlier. An abusive relationship can rarely be repaired. I lived on false hope for too long. The sooner you learn to deal with reality, the better it is for you. Well, at least I know now.

– that she can’t change the length of her calves, the width of her hips, or the nature of her parents
Nah, I wouldn’t want to change either of those.

– that her childhood may not have been perfect….but its over
I think I have had the perfectest childhood ever. Even today when I space out, I see random flashes of my happy childhood that make me smile. For this I always thank my parents. Their efforts and attitude have shaped me as a person.

– what she would and wouldn’t do for love 
Yep.

– how to live alone… even if she doesn’t like it 
I did it, and yes, I really disliked it. The silence in the house each time I turned the key in while walking in would remind me of the emptiness. The dark home would make me a little sad. I’ve been so used to a warm and excited welcome each time I rang the bell after getting home while living with my parents. But then, living all alone was a learning experience and now I know can do it if I have to.

– whom she can trust
I know, quite well.

whom she can’t 
Not so sure about this.

– why she shouldn’t take it personally 
I need to learn this one.

– where to go, be it to her best friend’s kitchen table or a charming inn in the woods when her soul needs soothing 
Oh I know where to go. Neither of the 2 BBFs live close to me. So going to their kitchen tables isn’t an option. Neither do I have easy access to charming inns in woods. To sooth my soul, I visit book stores, coffee shops and take long walks all alone.

– what she can and can’t accomplish in a day, a month and a year
Oh yes. I don’t set my targets too high. I know myself and my laid back attitude. Like I said, I don’t care to be too much of an achiever.

Go ahead and take this one up if it interests you.

38 Responses to “What women should have and know”

  1. hmmm…sometimes these lists of haves and shoulds scare me 😐

  2. R's Mom said

    I loved this one…especially the first and the screwdriver one hehehe 🙂 and oh yes even the wine glass one..reminds me of my dad who told my mom..who needs a salt jar (they had just got married and they couldnt even afford a salt jar then!) you can directly put the salt from the packet..your food will taste awesome even then 🙂

  3. RS said

    Sigh! Too many serious things to think about!

  4. stuti said

    that was one bunch of honest answers..honest to all women folks!
    i would want to list down what all bullets i liked, but then there are many..:)

  5. Bubblegum said

    masssssssst!! Specially the dating wala point!! 😛

    I wont be able to answer any of them though!!! Dunno why!

  6. Bikram said

    Good one

  7. A tag well done 🙂

    Date with the employer? Hehe. Don’t think the question was that. But am so jealous now that you have said there is enough good choices to go out with Brad Pitt or J.Abraham! I definitely have none on those lines …* goes away to sulk * 😦

    Comign to the actual point now – Pls to be kind and tell us those juicy stories reserved for grandkids ? Especially the boyfriend kissing-mother catching, club throwing drunk girl and Thailand sea almost drowning. Please, please, please? 😀

    • Pepper said

      Both the employer and the “date of your dreams” was clubbed together. I wasn’t sure what it meant so I wrote about both the possibilities.
      Arey, “good choices” is a very relative term. Maybe you have higher standards than mine. I wouldn’t want to wear something too extraordinary or unusual while on a date with Mr. Pitt or John. So for me, I think I have a good collection to choose from. Might not meet your standards.
      Those stories? Buzz me on Gmail, I’l tell 😀

  8. Oh Wow! I think this post is gonna be my Bible to life:-) Been there, done that for couple of them, some will never/cant do and some have gone in to do:) Thanks for the pearls of wisdom:)

  9. Oh my this makes me pray that Johnny Depp shouldn’t ask me out while I am in the shower……I might just run out from the tub like Archimedes you know 😐

  10. You have put together a beautiful list.. enjoyed reading it.. could guess some of the answers as I have been following your blog for quite some time.. but got to know of a lot of new things… thanks for sharing

  11. Naicee.. I want to learn of those stories with your grandkids too.. 😛

  12. vishalbheeroo said

    Hey
    love this post. It is a very innovative one. Guess I gonna borrow the idea and adapt it to my own liking, dear Pepper

  13. Pixie said

    loved your responses!
    And yea, this tag is a pretty perfect one to write after a break! 😀

  14. Anjali said

    Wow, what a post, really !!! Simply fantastic ! Loved all your answers too….especially your colorful past stories answer was intriguing… 😀

  15. Tanishka said

    Good one… All the answers were so honest and straight…. 🙂

  16. Chiquita said

    This is just outstanding advice…beautiful beautiful read. This is like book worthy Pepper 🙂

  17. Please post about your colorful past stories! 😀

    Have to say, tag nicely done. I couldn’t have imagined better answers than these! 🙂

  18. Looks like an interesting tag – and i think my answers would be very similar to yours..let me see if i feel like getting off my A** and taking it up

    ur mommy caught you kissing…Hawww ….tell us more 😛

  19. Deboshree said

    Useful advice indeed. I do not have some of those must-haves.Must go out and acquire them sometime. 😀

Leave a Reply

 
