A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Am I the only one?

Posted by Pepper on December 1, 2011

There is one thing I always feel a little stupid about. Whenever I see a pregnant woman or a new born baby, the first thought that crosses my mind is, “Oh. So the parents just had sex a while ago”. It’s ridiculous. I don’t want to be imagining such things, but it really is the first thing a pregnant belly makes me think of.

I don’t stop there. Whenever I see a pregnant woman with her husband, I tug at Mint, show him what I am seeing and tell him, “See, they just had sex a while ago”. He usually lets out a little laugh, or says a “yeah” to me.

Now this is how it has been since the time I was a teen. I would giggle at the mention of sex and think of the couple in question “doing it”. I really expected myself to mature after a point. I am married now, but I continue to act like a giggly teen. I just can’t act my age. I am 25. Not 15. I wonder when I will “grow up”. Sigh. I think I am the only one this weird. *Looks embarrassed*.

85 Responses to “Am I the only one?”

  1. R's Mom said

    hahahahha! Thats hilarious…I mean yaa..they had sex right, if the lady was pregnant or had a baby…oh God! why did you put up this post..now every time ‘I’ see a pregnant woman or a little baby , I am going to think of the post and then think ‘oh! the parents had sex’

    Pepper, you need a spanking on your backside..seriously!

    • Pepper said

      Of course I know they had sex if the lady is pregnant. I know it is obvious okey? What can I do if the thought comes to me? 😛
      I know I need to be spanked. You are welcome to do it.

  2. scorpria said

    You’re not the only one *sheepish grin*

  3. smitha said

    LOL! I can honestly say – I never do this 🙂

  4. You cartoon! Hahahahaha 😀

  5. eep said

    Lol!!
    I’m the same way when I attend weddings. I look at the couple and think, ‘oh they’re going to have sex tonight. i wonder if they’re thinking about it now..’ or if I meet a newlywed couple, i wonder, ‘did they do it today?’ !!!

    • Pepper said

      LOL! Really? This beats my line of thought. And I am so glad.
      And er, that means there are more people like you. And they would have seen me getting married and had those thoughts. * Giggle *
      Btw, upto what duration of time is a couple considered “newlywed”. I feel surprised when people call us a newly married couple even though we’ve been married for more than 1.5 years now.

      • Ranjini Suley said

        Till the time you become a mother :D…then you are an aunty…lol….dont worry I am sure a lot of people have lots of unwanted thoughts about others…at least you are honest enough to put it up here ….chill…relax….BTW even I am guilty of having the same thoughts as above…ie looking at newly weds.

  6. Bikram said

    🙂 naughty naughty .. But that while could be any number of months or weeks 🙂

    and heyyyyyyyyy on that note Today My cousin had a baby boy in the bright hours of 3am 🙂 (she is not my cousin , but actually my bhua but very young .. you get the point) .. so yeah A baby boy in the family Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

    • Pepper said

      Ya but you do know that “that while” couldn’t have been more than 9 months ago no? At the most!
      Congratulations on the new arrival! Do pass on my wishes to your cousin. 🙂

  7. Anusha said

    😀 😀

  8. Smita said

    Errr you do have company here. Whenever I see a pregnant women I also am reminded of the act which resulted in the pregnancy!!! 😀 Glad to know am not the only one who thinks like this 😀

    And bah! to thinking like a kid, am much older to you & have 1.4 yr old baby, its all in the mind babes!! 😀

  9. RK said

    Hehehe! it crosses my mind too….more when I hear people “trying for a baby” :-))!

    • Pepper said

      Lol! That “trying for a baby” in my mind translates to nothing but “having regular sex”. And that is what it is really, isn’t it? I doubt I would ever tell the world I was “trying”. Lol.

  10. I am 30 and I still do it! 😀 So yes, it’s perfectly normal 😀

    Infact, I remember one of AHK’s posts where she had written the exact same thing. So you know she does too 😀

    Don’t hate me, AHK 😀

  11. OK, if this makes you feel any better – that’s usually the first thing that comes to my mind whenever I see a pregnant lady or hear of one. Weird, I guess, but you are definitely not alone. 😀

  12. I had a Deja Vu when I read this.

    No, you aren’t the only one. I thought I’m the only one having such weird thoughts too and wrote the same post here few years back:

    http://alwayshappykya.wordpress.com/2008/03/13/please-tell-me-this-is-not-abnormal/

    Those thoughts stop once you have popped one out yourself. Relax 😛

    • Pepper said

      * Heaves a sigh of relief * I love you for that post AHK.
      And no, I know myself. If the thoughts haven’t stopped at this stage, I am pretty sure popping one out myself won’t change much.

      • RS said

        Hmm… Think of newly wed couples, someone pregnant, or even someone back from ‘honeymoon’ – youknow… and ofcourse someone who is ‘trying’ 😛 – pretty obvious huh?

        And even after ‘popping’ one out the thought process hasnt changed!*eeks* there I said it… so if its abnormal then Im one too…

  13. bini said

    Were we conjoined twins in our last life? I have the same thought running through my head and sometimes it gets visual:P. The worst part is when a male colleague at work tells me his wife is pregnant:)

  14. LOL well I have a friend who told me that she gets such feelings but I don’t feel anything like that 🙂 Tell me when you get pregnant and I will imagine how the baby came? Its fun to see you and Mint doing *evil laugh and running away*

  15. hahaha!! I get this “they will soon have sex” thought bubble when someone I know gets married or when our friends tell us they are going to be married soon. S and I actually “discuss” if they have had sex yet or not. And make silly jokes and giggle away. It actually gets quite funny 🙂

  16. SK said

    Gee, do you do the math too? I do :–S Ok enough confession now. So dont worry you are not alone ;–)
    I have ‘popped’ one out and no it hasnt changed if that helps :–P

  17. Anusha said

    You are definitely not alone in this. I think so too. Not just when I see pregnant women but also when I attend a wedding like Eep said. How evil can I get?? 🙂 Especially when I know of some girls/women who would act(or maybe really too) as if they don’t know anything about sex and come in front of me being pregnant I would be like “Oh now she knows :).. She did it too” 🙂

  18. Ashwathy said

    LOL!!! 😀 You are hopeless…

    I wonder at a differen time. When I see couples on their honeymoon…or newly weds… I wonder if they’ve already “done it” 😉 :mrgreen:

  19. Scribby said

    On which number do I fall on the list of people who are with you? 😉

    Also when I got pregnant I thought that now people will be damn sure that we had it 😉 I mean that’s how it gets confirmed otherwise you can’t say it 😉 😉

    And when someone gets married I think now they will surely do it cause other wise if the couple is / gf-bf are not married you can’t be sure if they are doing it or not 😛

    hahahaha laughing at my own comment !!!!!

  20. This is like one alcoholics anonymous meeting only.

  21. I think the only way you can get this thought out of your mind is by visiting an IVF clinic 😛 then you can imagine of test tubes doing “it” :mrgreen:

  22. Vimmuuu said

    sigh ! and they say only men think about ‘sex’ all the time !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    wait till you announce ‘that’ good news here in your blog and Im definitely gonna think like you !! 😛

  23. Tanishka said

    You just said something that always comes to my mind but then I had dare not mention it to anyone… You are the best Peppy… 🙂

  24. Anu said

    Hi Pepper;

    I remember once a group of our friends (around 6 couples) went on a skiing trip. In a few months, 4 of those couples announced that they were pregnant. Thereafter, it came to be known as the trip where a lot more than skiing happened. 😉

    Another funny one… I once heard that every guy will swear that his grandmother never had sex. After hearing that, I looked at my grandmother, and wondered how could a a frail, 80-year old, and white-haired woman have ever had sex?

    Till later

    Anu

    • Pepper said

      Haha. Your friends were really busy during that trip eh..

      You know Anu, I often have this discussion with Mint. Till date, the idea of our grandparents having sex is just unimaginable to me. I just cannot seem to accept it 😀

      • Seema said

        I had a friend in school, whenever we saw a pregnant woman, she would whisper to me – “She did it”…

        Grandparents having sex – I too simply cannot imagine… You know on my granny’s bday, we used to ask grandpa to give her a kiss. They would both blush and all and my granny would say “We never kissed all our life and now at the dusk of our lives, why do you want us to do this?” I would say “How did you make my dad then?” and she would reply “It’s all god’s gift”….

  25. subbulakshmistoned said

    And I thought something was wrong with only me all the while. Heeee!

  26. Tan said

    You are indeed not the only one :D:D 😛

  27. ummm..i think this when i see the newly married women with their choodas and all…can’t resist i say!

  28. Preethi said

    Pepper, you can’t imagine how relieved I am after reading your post and all the comments here.

    I have never confessed this to anyone till now, and sad that I havent changed after giving birth to one myself. Like one of the commenters said, when we announced to the rest of the family that I was pregnant, my first thoughts were ‘oh God, they will now know that we had sex’. Yes, I am weird like that…

  29. swapna said

    Haah ! , I’m glad I’m not the only one Pepper 🙂

  30. Archana said

    He he, not just you! Me and Mom used to back date and say – haan, so thts when they did it! And this from the time, I was a teen. Am now 25 too, not yet married though. Recently, when Ash delivered a baby girl, I was excitedly chattering with mom, and she says – haan, so they must have done it on V day! OMG, I tell you – its not so abnormal!

    • Pepper said

      You too?! You know, I really wanted to write the entire truth in this post. That I discuss this with my parents too. I talk to them about others doing it. 😀 I was just too embarrassed to say it here. Already people think I am a big nutcase.

  31. Chiquita said

    Hahahahahahahahah I haven’t grown up either….I was just telling friends at work a few days back about how when I just found out about sex and I went to any wedding…I would giggle and think of the couple and them ‘doing it’. Obv I always have this blushy awwww smile when I see a pregnant woman thinking she’s been getting a lot of action.
    And I thought I was the only one 😉

  32. Kanthu said

    The comment section cracked me up more than the post. I think its too Normal to think like that. Like many confessed, its the First night thing that I mostly imagine. That too here in India where they fix a Muhurtham and send the Bride and Groom inside a room and expect them to Copulate, u’re bound to imagine things…;-)

  33. sharell said

    Hehehehe….oh we really do seem so much alike! I think this too, often!!!!! My imagination runs wild over so many inappropriate things.

    You know there’s a saying, “the only normal people are the ones we don’t know very well”. 😉

  34. […] – So, yes. I am pregnant. If any of you remember this post I had written way back in 2011, let me tell you my thought process has not changed much. I still giggle when I see other pregnant […]

Leave a Reply

 
