A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Tagging along!

Posted by Pepper on January 12, 2012

This time, it is a tag that comes from R’s Mom. It couldn’t have been tougher for me. This is what it is all about:

To unite bloggers (from all sectors) in a joint endeavor to share lessons learned and create a bank of long but not forgotten blog posts that deserve to see the light of day again.Rules:

1) Blogger is nominated to take part

2) Blogger publishes his/her 7 links on his/her blog – 1 link for each category.

The links are:
– Your most beautiful post
– Your most popular post
– Your most controversial post
– Your most helpful post
– A post whose success surprised you
– A post you feel didn’t get the attention it deserved
– The post that you are most proud of

3) Blogger nominates up to 5 more bloggers to take part.

4) These bloggers publish their 7 links and nominate another 5 more bloggers

Maybe that sounds simple. All we really got to do is dig out and link up 7 posts that we think are worth rereading. However, you have to know me in person to understand the extent of my misery. I wrote the first post on this blog in the first half of 2008. It’s been close to four years. From then to now, I have about 210 published posts. Asking me to chose 7 out of 210 means asking me to choose 1 post out of every 30 posts. I have stated this before – ask me to choose between A and B and I will be miserable. Here I have to pick one out of 30. Imagine 30 choices! And I have to do this 7 times! Gulp! Moreover, only a small percentage of people will actually bother to click on the link of the post I have so painfully selected. I don’t blame them. Most of us are lazy buggers. But I wonder if my efforts are really worth it.

Other than that, I don’t know if either of us can judge our own work without biases. Imagine an artist, a painter at an award’s ceremony announcing, “I am pleased to declare this painting of mine as ‘The most beautiful’ one from my collection”. Sounds stupid no? I mean, who is he to judge and then crown himself as the winner? I feel mighty stupid selecting a post from my own blog and calling it the “Most beautiful” one. I think the creator of this tag got it all wrong. I think the person who tags you should go through your blog themselves, and choose the winning post under each category and then present it to the world. Asking the author to choose from his/her own work is just , funny, to say the least.

Anyway, enough said. Let’s get down to business. I will follow the rules of the tag, without “twisting it” for a change.

“Your most beautiful post”
– Hmm. I went through my entire blog, twice. I really don’t know which post of mine qualifies as the most beautiful one. To start with, I tried to define ‘beauty’. For me, the people in my life and my relationship with them is what is truly beautiful.

This is the post I wrote for my papa on his birthday. While there are other posts I have written about dad, this one is particularly close to my heart.
This is the post I wrote when mama was here. It spoke about role reversal and how I treat her like my little baby.

There are other posts I have written about Mint, the sister and Oregano that are beautiful in my eyes. I won’t be linking them here because as per the rules, I can’t choose multiple posts. I already did break the rules by choosing two, however, I think I should stop there. If you do want to read more about the people that make my life beautiful, you can read posts that fall under ‘Meet the family” and “Splashes of Mint” category.

Your most popular post
– Sigh. What defines popularity? Comments? Readership? Number of hits you receive? Honestly, I think the concept of popularity in the blogworld is quite meaningless. It doesn’t take much to be popular. The more you blog hop and leave comments on other blogs, the more regularly you write, the more readers you will have. Of course, if you do write well, your readership will expand. But the truth is, some genuinely good writers have zero readers only because they live in isolated worlds. They do not comment on other blogs, therefore do not have readers themselves. And some very mediocre and average writers who visit every known blog have high readership. Other than that, the more you post, the more addicted people get to you and your writing. It doesn’t have much to do with how well you write. Just the fact that you give the world a regular dose of your life is enough to keep them coming back for more. Ofcourse, once you establish yourself as a good writer, things change. But what I say is applicable to most bloggers. With these views, I find myself in a fix when I am asked to choose my most popular post. I don’t feel like using the number of comments and hits as a judge.

Since I have to pick, I will choose a post that a lot of people could relate to. The post in which I tried to reevaluate my life. I wrote about how I lived on impulse, how I didn’t give much thought to moving to the US on a dependent visa, despite it taking away my chances to work for sometime. The number of emails I got from unknown readers who were in similar situations because of being on a ‘dependent visa’ amazed me. So many of them wrote in expressing their anguish, telling me how they overcame it, thanking me because my post made them feel more united. I felt happy I could strike a chord in so many people.

Your most controversial post
– Not too hard, this one. Opinions create controversies and I am quite opinionated on my blog. I will pick two posts.
My views on the “La Tomatina” fest in India.
The second and the most controversial post on my blog would be North Indians Vs. South Indians. This one I put under lock and key. It is password protected and no longer accessible. The comment section here drove me batty. The unending aggression got me mad. I thought the only way I could put a stop to it was by bringing down the post, and that is exactly what I did.

Your most helpful post
– Wonder what post of mine really helped someone. I would have picked the one in which I posted all the Maggi recipes I had tried and tested. And then I remembered an email I got from a reader, who after reading the letter I wrote to Mint on our first Anniversary, was inspired to give her own deteriorating relationship a new chance. If something I wrote helped even one person realise the worth of what they have, then I know what I have written is more than worth it.

A post whose success surprised you
– I would pick the letter I wrote to my mother in law. I wrote about our struggles and our relationship with such honesty. It was deeply personal. I didn’t think an outsider would be able to relate to it too well. The overwhelming response was a real surprise.

A post you feel didn’t get the attention it deserved
– Now this is hard. I blogged in isolation for the first part of my blogging journey. I lurked on other blogs and wrote in my own private world. None of my initial posts got any attention at all. Not that I am complaining, it was a choice I made at that time. But if you ask me to pick one, I am clueless. So let me choose something randomly. Here is a post that depicts my love for Chinese food available on Indian streets. This is one time, on a cold, wintry evening in UK, I sat in my lab, researching for a paper I had to write, craving for greasy Chinese food.

The post that you are most proud of
– Easy! The only post written by Mint on this blog. The one in which he talks about me, in a very flattering way. I can’t be more proud. My favourite – Mint speaks.

Phew. I am done. What a relief. I will cheat a little and not tag people individually. However if you want a chance to dust the cobwebs and bring out some of your old posts, do take this one up.

24 Responses to “Tagging along!”

  1. Gayatri said

    Ohhhh I’ve read all these posts and they’re real gems. I haven’t been blogging too long so don’t have that many to choose from. But am going to thoroughly enjoy reading everyone else’s old posts.

  2. R's Mom said

    I know I know…its a very very difficult post….I think I have read most of them (Errr…I started reading you late but read the archives because I love the way you write :)) Thanks for taking up the tag….going through all of them again…

    and errr….the maggi post WAS definitely helping 🙂

  3. vethal said

    I want to read the North vs south. promise no abusive comments from me… Vethal 🙂

  4. vethal said

    I liked the MIL ko letter wala post and can really visualize a tam brahm MIL ,me being a Tam brahm. u can be a good counsellor when in India … Indian parents need to change in many ways, south indian brahmin ones especially.

    • Pepper said

      How I would love to be a counselor for Indian parents 😀

      • Nitya said

        Now that’s a career!

        Go for it Pep, I’d sign up.

        -Nitya

        • Pepper said

          You, of all people Nits, definitely don’t need to sign up. Your little boy is so lucky to have you as a mom. My service would probably be of use to parents who are so rigid and blind in their beliefs, that they don’t let their kids live their life. Now if only I were qualified enough to do this..

  5. RS said

    Wow! on that Mints letter about you! Sigh! Lovely collection of the posts. Also, Wonder how I had missed your anniversary letter to Mint – Pepper- these 2 are now my favouritest …sooo beautiful 🙂

  6. Deboshree said

    That’s a nice collection of posts Pepper. I haven’t read Mint’s post…going to do that now. 😀

  7. Tanishka said

    I had read almost all the posts except for one… Not bad…. 🙂

    My favorite post is the letter you wrote to Mint on your first anniversary… 🙂

  8. Ashwathy said

    I’ve read almost all of your post. 🙂
    Missed that greasy Chinese food wala post…now saw it. Now I’m hungry…. lemme go eat! 😛 :mrgreen:

  9. I’ve read all of them except the one about Chinese food and I love all of them:)
    going off to read the missed one now !

  10. ajay said

    I don’t have any controversial post. I think I should write one. 😀

  11. popbiscuit said

    Nice! Gave me a chance to read some of your old posts…The Mil post was actually my fav…

Leave a Reply

 
