A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Tales from campus – Part 1

Posted by Pepper on August 11, 2012

The pace of my life accelerates by itself without warning at times, and I am left clutching the edges, gasping and screaming, “Slow down! Slow down!”. That’s how it has been in the recent past. Who would have known I’d experience such thrills and frights so unexpectedly? Had somebody told me a week ago, that the next week I’d be walking on a ramp, I’d have probably collapsed out of shock, fear and bewilderment. But then we all know life is strange..

It so happened that Mint told me he had booked my ticket, and I had to leave the next day. I love visiting the campus, but this time, I was a little reluctant to go. I don’t do too well with short notice. I always need time to prepare myself for any upcoming events, or I feel lost and out of control. Other than that, leaving the next day meant missing the occasion of ‘rakhi‘ or ‘raksha bandhan‘. I don’t feel too strongly about it, but this time, I was going to be home for the occasion after years. I didn’t want to miss any family get together. And to let go of that and be on campus for a whole week didn’t make too much sense to me. But the interculturals on campus were to begin and Mint kept harassing me till I agreed to go.

I left early in the morning the next day. My train pulled into the station at 1 pm. Mint was still in class. So I had to make my way to the campus on my own, and I am proud to say, I managed! If you know my inability to understand directions, you will know how triumphant I felt on reaching the institute by myself. So what if all I did was tell the auto driver where I wanted to go? The point is, I managed all alone. Oh anyway, I digress..

After meeting Mint and exchanging hugs, I decided to take a little nap, considering I had woken up at 4 am that morning. That’s when he excitedly rolled up his jeans and told me, “See this, I injured myself” He pointed to a dressed up wound on his shin. He said it with such pride and excitement, I felt a little zapped. How did it happen and why didn’t you tell me about it? I could feel the arrival of an anxiety attack. He told me all about his fall and said he didn’t tell me earlier because he knew I would worry too much. He even told the rest of the folks on campus to keep his fall under wraps. Sigh. I asked him if he could walk comfortably. To that he told me he was planning to run today. He’d participate in the ‘carry and run’ race. His intentions of carrying me and running dawned upon on me only after a few seconds. I kept protesting, he kept persuading. Until it was time for him to leave for another class…

Once I was alone in the room, I got a call from one of the girls there. Her first line was, “We’re meeting for the fashion show rehearsal at 10 pm tonight.”. Eh, what’s that? She sounded confused, and asked me if I didn’t know I was participating in the fashion show. I didn’t! I am not made for that stuff. So I politely told her I wouldn’t be participating. She told me I had no choice anymore. They had already started working on my outfit! Huh? And who told them I would be participating? She said Mint sent them an email saying I would be here on campus and they could put me in any event they wanted. I gulped. She hung up, saying “See you at 10”.

I paced around the room, having a few ‘what the f@#k’ moments. How the hell could he do that? He pushed me into it, WITHOUT asking me! And fashion show? Heck, I can’t even walk straight without bumping into every visible obstacle in my path. There is no way I would be able to walk on a ramp. I knew I wouldn’t be able to do it, neither could I wriggle out of it. So what was I supposed to do?

When I had cooled down, I realised why Mint did it. He knows I only do things when I am pushed into them without warning. Had he told me, I would never have agreed. Perhaps this was his way of making me conquer my inhibitions. Well..

He was back in the evening, and we had no time to discuss or fight over what he had done. We rushed to the ground for the races, or rather the trial runs. The emergent winners would be competing against the other sections during the main event. I was still doubtful about our participation, but I gave in when I noticed the excitement around us. Also, I knew we had an advantage, given how light weight I am.

I expected him to carry me on his back, like he often does when giving me a piggy back ride. I waited behind him at the start line, a little nervous. I guess I was totally unprepared for the way he carried me. Instead of hurling me on his back, he lifted me above the ground in the blink of an eye and slung me on his shoulders. I remember my head dangling from one end, while my legs dangled from the other, as he ran. I also remember nervously shutting my eyes. When I opened them, I realised we had won!

To be continued..

29 Responses to “Tales from campus – Part 1”

  1. Smita said

    wow!!! Congrats 😀 And he carried you like a sack? hehehehehe!!!

    Waiting to read about the fashion show! Hope there are some pics to the view 🙂

  2. Yayyyy on to the second round then… All the bestttt..

  3. hAAthi said

    Haha that sounds like a complete blast! Unexpected surprises like these are fun. Now imagine if you knew well in advance that you would be participating in a carry and run race and a fashion show..probably wouldnt have been half as exciting, eh?

  4. Hey pepper 🙂
    have read a few of your earlier posts 🙂
    love how you use simple words to write down your thoughts :)…

    I can imagine your excitement as well as your slight nervousness for the unexpected events ..but aren’t they all so fun in the end. I love college events like this.
    waiting for part 2 now 😀
    hehe the way mint carried you on his shoulder sound so fun 😀

  5. Anu said

    WOW…Cannot wait to read more..

  6. This is so interesting,waiting for Part 2!!!!

  7. Nisha said

    haha.. this is so much fun! I’m sure studying after marriage is a very tough decision. It is these small events that makes all the effort worth it! Enjoy your time 🙂

    • Pepper said

      I don’t think studying after marriage is a tough decision. It isn’t a big deal. Don’t people go to work? Similarly, some go to schools to study. But, I think choosing to live apart while one studies is the tough decision. That really is hard. But these events compensate, to an extent atleast 🙂 Thanks!

  8. […] Tales from campus – Part 1 […]

  9. Tanishka said

    Wohooo….. Congratulations for winning the race n now off to read the second part… 🙂

  10. Ashwathy said

    Hahahah!! 😆
    I should have read this post without seeing ur pics or hearing about it from you!!! Would have been so much more fun!! 😀 😀

  11. Visha said

    off to read the next part 😀

  12. Titaxy said

    this sounds so interesting and fun…off i go to read part 2 😀

  13. techie2mom said

    You had few surprises, but the pleasant surprises!!! Enjoyed reading your account at the campus….

  14. […] were a hit. After a while, we relived the memory of the campus days by playing videos taken during the talent nights and fests. A good idea, […]

Leave a Reply

 
