A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Let’s catch up!

Posted by Pepper on October 17, 2012

It’s been a while since I chronicled the happenings of my life here. Time for an update!

I wrote this post, not too long ago. I can still feel the despair when I read it. I spoke about how we lost our camera, laptop and ipod. What I didn’t mention was that Mint lost his cell phone the same day. It was stolen, just like the rest of the stuff.  It shook us bloody hard. How was it that we were experiencing a series of thefts ? This can’t be a coincidence. It isn’t even like we lost everything together. The camera was the first to go. The next theft took away my laptop and iPod. Then the cell phone got stolen in the evening. The same evening. How? It seemed hard to continue blaming out blasted luck. It looked like something more sinister to me.

It took me a few days to realise that my stolen bag also contained my pretty velvet pouch that held all my jewelry. I mostly wear silver junk. This time though, I was carrying a white gold bangle. I don’t want to talk about how much that cost! Let me just say, that was bloody expensive. Other than that, the pouch contained all my junk jewelry collection that I had built over the years. A diamond studded anklet that I picked up from Thailand, a magnetic beady chain I bought from Singapore, pearls I bought from the local market and other stuff. The thought of my missing jewelry saddened me. I know I won’t be able to replace it easily.

Over the next few days, I went on discovering the loss of things that I realised were present in the bag that was gone. Sigh. Now when I think of our combined loss – our camera, laptop, iPod  cell phone, gold bangle, assorted silver jewelry and other miscellaneous items, I feel dismayed. We’ve incurred a loss that runs into lakhs.

Anyway, let me come to the good part now. Desperation struck, and I bought a new laptop. I had all plans of waiting it out, till some kind soul agreed to carry it for me from the US. I wanted to research the models, find good deals and then make a decision. What I ended up doing was spending five minutes browsing the internet, choosing the model, and making a call to order the laptop. Of course, I ended up paying a lot more than I would have, but then my requirement could be termed as ‘urgent’.  My new laptop makes me very happy.

What really brought me tears of joy was finding an old hard disc that contained most of our pictures that I thought were lost. So now I have a new laptop, and it has most of my old memories!

**********

The other big news is that I have taken up a full time job. I start in about a week, and I feel so unsure. Prior to this, I did work for my dad’s company, I took on heaps of freelance assignments. It worked well for me. It gave me the flexibility I needed at this point. Now, I don’t know how I will take to this big change.

Also, I had somewhat of a rocky start. When the company wanted me to provide them with some references from my previous work place – I gave it to them in no time. Most companies make a few calls to conduct a background check. My previous employer was in the US, and they knew this. So imagine my annoyance and amusement when I get a call from a very miffed employee in this company, telling me that nobody in my previous company is answering the phone now. DUH! I told them that the US and India function in two very different time zones, and they can’t expect people to be in office in the dead of night. They could try email, or call at a more suitable time. Sheesh! Then I told myself I shouldn’t judge the whole company because of one person.

Other than that, I really do like the kind of work this company does. It’s not too far from where I live. A small commute is a blessing in Mumbai. So I agreed to take it up. I don’t know how this will go, and like I said, I still feel unsure – so please do not congratulate me right away. When you congratulate me, I feel pressured to be happy. And when I can’t, I feel nervous. Yes, my brain works in a twisted way.

**********

I’ve been with Mint on campus since almost a week now. He lives in a dorm room, that has a single bed. We usually call for an extra mattress that we spread out on the floor, each time I visit him. This time, he forgot to call for the mattress, and by the time we realised it, it was too late. The house keeping department had shut down for the day. So the two of us had to had to squeeze in and fit ourselves in a tiny, single bed. I think we spent a lot of our time wrestling shoulders, over stepping each other, struggling to spread out our legs and unknowingly  resting our arms and legs on top of each other. Okay, that doesn’t sound right, but I hope you know what I mean. The next morning, I was sure I didn’t want to sleep like that again. But what do you know? We forgot to call for the mattress again! So there, we had to make peace with sharing a small single bed. I suppose we are now qualified to share a train berth. * Rolls eyes *

Did I tell you I love being on campus? People are kind enough to call us for dinner (and lunch), each time I visit. I love walking around the campus. This time, there were dance workshops, caricature and calligraphy workshops that we could all participate in. Oh, I spent a few happy evenings playing carrom with Mint. Yes, he had to teach me how to strike. And he lets me win, by giving me extra chances, but so what?

And what have you people been upto?

48 Responses to “Let’s catch up!”

  1. ashreyamom said

    its nice to hear about the new job.. but sad that you had lost so many things.. so all the things were stolen in campus?? wow dance, caricature and calligraphy workshop?? how was it?

    • Pepper said

      No, no. Our Camera was stolen in Europe. Laptop and iPod in Mumbai. And cellphone from the campus. All because my stupid husband was careless enough to leave it unattended on a bench in the playground while playing frisbee. Hmph.

  2. My Era said

    So glad to hear that you found most of your lost memories in a hard drive. Congratulations for your new laptop 🙂
    Good luck with the new job 🙂

  3. You never emailed me.. 🙂

    and that single bed .. hey thats romantic dont you think 🙂 he he he he he

    what have i been upto, I ma sure you dont want to know that .. All the best with the new job.

  4. R's Mom said

    Finally! could comment

    1. Super news about the job..nope, am not saying congrats 🙂
    2. Darn! your luck is bad is it..for losing so much of stuff 😦
    3. Enjoy the campus life…
    4. do update us about your work life eh?

  5. Bubblegum said

    I loved all the happy things, Pepper! Each Mumbai Post makes me feel like running back to the city! 🙂 Hope to be there soon! 🙂 By the way, Did you try tracking ipod if it was a new generation touch one?

  6. Smita said

    Your loss is really heart wrenching, no seriously! If I wud have been in ur place I am sure i wud have been in no position to write it here….sigh!

    No congratulations! But yes loads of good luck 🙂 Does it resemble your dream work place? 😉

    And that campus is something….i remember visiting it during navratri, late night (beyond the permissible hour) and beauty it was 🙂

    • Pepper said

      I know, my loss was heavy – but the silver lining is that I could retrieve all my pics. Makes me the happiest 🙂
      Nope – this place doesn’t resemble my dream work place. There are no swanky gyms and no posh ambiance. But, it is decent. Right now I will have to make do with a carpeted, air conditioned office with a spacious desk.
      That campus is a beauty – no doubt 🙂

  7. Thank you soooooooo much for making up for the despair in the beginning with the romance at the end 🙂 🙂 Both took me to either end of the spectrum, of course, with mystery thrown in in the middle 😀 So, sending you post-dated congrats, please encash whenever you’re ready to go gaga about the new job. Current dated Happy-for-you should be fine ? About the daft guy that took 24 X 7 literally…….I’d watch him for opportunities – they’re the kind you need to get an early promotion 😉 see what I mean ? LOL!!

  8. Hey pepper!read ur previous post on the loss and theft and now again reading it makes me feel really bad…not just money but so many personal stuff and memories.atleast im glad u got back the old pics….which i think is a lesson for me too- i have my whole life pics on the laptop i think its time i kept a backup…
    As for the job-i think u shud just go with a blamk mind and take it as it comes…if not congrats i wish u all the best!

    • Pepper said

      Please go take a back up right away. Right away! Okay?
      Yes, yes. I am trying to rid myself of all the built up preconceived notions and go with a blank mind. Thanks!

  9. Tanishka said

    Wish u lots of luck peppy… 🙂

    I just love to read your posts about Mint’s campus visits… 🙂

    Congrats for the new laptop… 😀

  10. Congratulations on the new laptop and the discovery of the old pictures you thought were lost! Reading that made me feel so relieved too..for some reason 🙂

    New full time job ..and near to home at that. Sounds like a good deal Pepper. I hope you like it and enjoy your work there.

    Fitting into a tiny single bed – Hahah! Congratulations on that new discovery as well 😉

  11. Good to hear from you dear, I am so glad to hear you had a backup, after your incident I am seriously thinking about backup plans for my pics..They are so precious to us isn’t it?

    Full time job, well not congratulating. Take your time. Settling in a new job is never easy. I left my 8yr old job with great expectations, but there will be a lot of challenges with new oe.. Good luck to you babe.

    Campus is always fun isn’t it. R and I had to share a single bed couple of times We tried 69(I mean with cloths on) you can easily fit that way 🙂

    • Pepper said

      LOL! LOL! LOL! You know, you didn’t need to specify and tell me that the 69 was tried with clothes on. Doesn’t matter, either way 😛

      PS – Here’s a secret. Mint and I used to comfortably sleep on a single bed, when he was visiting me in UK during our courtship period. But that time, the bed seemed a lot more spacious, though it was a single bed. This bed felt so cramped.

  12. What a relief you must have got after finding the old hard disk..chalo badiya 🙂
    Good luck with the new job 🙂
    You know PK had not bought a double bed when I came here after our wedding, he was waiting for me to select a bed for our bedroom.. We slept on a single bed for weeks till we bought new one, can you believe it..
    Carrom!! I love that game.. lets play it together some time 🙂

  13. Aruna said

    Oh you got most of your pictures back! I’m so happy for you! Gold and everything else can be bought again…not the pictures!

  14. Ashwathy said

    The rest of the news, I knew. But….I didn’t know about the silver jewellery bit 😦 Makes me feel even worse than you did (if that is possible). Sigh….

    Come back soon, will ya! I miss gabbing nonstop with you! 😐

  15. Whooof..It feels so warm to be reading your posts again dearie ! I was disappointed every single time I went to my reader and saw ” Goodbye Edward” looking back at me :(.
    Wow, i know it’s a heartache pepper to have lost so many things on that one dreadful day but lessons learnt – just be extra cautious next time around…
    Good Luck on your full time job 🙂
    Enjoy your fun days at the campus …your building wonderful memories for your future 🙂 ..pssst : sleeping on a single cot is fun..yaar…it brings in closeness and cuddles even when you are having a fight :)..enjoy – life’s simple pleasures 🙂

  16. You seem to be enjoying life now that you are back in India

    Campus life is fun, at any stage of life

  17. metherebel said

    Since you have said not to congratulate on your new job as yet, I will say Good Luck 🙂

    Congratulations for your new laptop and for finding old photographs 🙂 Seems like you have had a fun week.

  18. Jazz said

    I’m sorry for all the loss Pepper. Good that you are trying to get over it. And I’m glad there are some good things happening in your life too. I hope you enjoy the new job. 🙂

  19. Meera said

    Good luck with the new job, Pepper. All things, even good ones cause anxiety before you get used to them 🙂 The new job will be fun and exciting and everything you want it to be. Glad to know you found your pictures. Material things can be replaced, memories are priceless. Take care

    • Pepper said

      Thank you so very much Meera. I am usually not too nervous before starting jobs. This one is scaring me and I hope it all turns alright.
      Of course, your last line is totally true 🙂

  20. Visha said

    So the lotus came in the form of the CD in the muck of lost items 🙂

    It takes time to settle into a new job, no matter how the work load or the commute. Hope for you its smooth!!

    Nope, train berths cannot be shared 😦 I always end up with a sore back and sorer neck.

    Calligraphy…wow…in my mind, its a posh hobby 😀

  21. scorpria said

    That’s quite a news! The job, I mean. When are you starting? Let us know how you like it…and we’ll congratulate you then 😉

  22. KB said

    Awesome news!! Wishing you the best with the new job & hoping you get the right platform (and great manager) to do what you really want to do 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Thanks K! I don’t know if this is the right platform. I don’t know if I have a good manager, but for now, I am happy doing the kind of work I do. I learn valuable life lessons everyday 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
