A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

What 2012 was all about..

Posted by Pepper on December 31, 2012

2012 is steadily racing towards its end. Oh wait, the finish line for 2012 is right here. I feel like time is sprinting past me. There is so much I wanted to write and record. But the days galloped at a dizzying speed. And here I am, at the end of the year, scrambling to write this post before we enter the new year.

Okay, that should tell you how action packed this year has been. So much happened! 2011 was such a slow year, it made me more sluggish than ever. 2012 shook me out of my reverie. The action thwacked my senses awake. Let us do a recap of the year.

We made one of the toughest decisions. After deliberating for months, we decided to move back to India. It didn’t come easy. There was a lot we gave up. A lot we left behind. But there was a lot we came back to as well. Most importantly, this taught me a fundamental lesson – I can’t have it all. I wanted to live close to my parents, not oceans apart. Yet, I wanted the comforts and easy life USA offered me. I was forced to make a choice. Prioritizing your wants is a significant part of life, and I am glad I learnt that.

Once we made the decision, we had to live the process of relocating to the homeland. Oh, that was hard. It took up every ounce of our physical, mental and emotional energy. I know what it is to feel drained out and lie limp, with no stamina to move a muscle. The last few days before we moved were particularly crazy.

We also had to part with out beloved car. In hindsight, I feel a little silly when I think of the way I sobbed while letting it go. But that car is special. I say is and not was, despite it not belonging to us anymore. Because I still feel connected to it, in some remote way. Handing over the keys to another girl was a significant part of this year, it certainly deserves a mention.

We experienced, what can perhaps be termed as the biggest thrill of our lives. We jumped from an aircraft, from 18,000 feet. I will always remember 2012, as the year in which we took the plunge. I doubt any other experience will give us an equivalent adrenaline rush.

We moved back to India, and I rediscovered the beauty of this country, all over again. Yes, I crib, I whine, I seethe each time I talk about this place. But yet, I can’t deny the fact that it does hold some unknown charm.

Mint began his MBA, and thereby began my own struggles. With the distance, his never ending classes, his overfilled schedules. But, we managed. And for this, I am very proud of myself. Yes, I had days when I wept, accused him unfairly, but I will let those go past. Being away from him for almost a year was something I couldn’t have imagined a while ago. Yet, I did it. I think I emerged stronger and less dependent. On the whole, we managed to spend some time with each other, despite all odds. I visited him frequently. He came to Bombay more often than I thought he would Also, because of him, I got to experience campus life, parties, fests and all the fun that is a part of student life.  And oh, here’s the unbelievable part. I walked the ramp!

This was also the year my parents faced a lot of health scares. It shook my very foundation. I was terrified of the possibilities. I know I am paranoid when it comes to my family. I had to confront my fears, accept life and its uncertainty. I had to force myself to learn the laws. I think I spent some time trying to teach myself to live in the moment, instead of spending time worrying about tomorrow. The health stabalized, and my fears abated. I do think I built my inner strength this year, but I believe I have a long way to go.

We did Europe this year. I can strike that off my bucket list. Enough said.

After playing around with freelancing, I took up a full time job. The experience has been bitter sweet. I have tried to uncover my wants. Do I want a corporate job that pays? Do I need a job? Do I do it for passion, or money? Do I need the money? How much money is enough money? Would I rather spend my time dabbling with unconventional roles that don’t pay the way corporate crap does? I am yet to figure this out. Or maybe I will stumble onto a corporate job that I actually love and am passionate about. I can dream, yes?

2012 was also the year in which my social life took on a new high. I’ve spent some wonderful time with friends, chatting, catching up over coffee, dinners, casual meetings and the likes.

Today is the last day of this year. I think this was a happy year. Campus placements are just about starting for Mint. I know 2013 is going to be full of changes and new beginnings for us, again! But I have a feeling it will all be good. So bring it on, I say! Happy New Year!

17 Responses to “What 2012 was all about..”

  1. ajay said

    It will all be good. Happy new year. 🙂

  2. Visha said

    The most I liked about this sum-up is The Plunge 😀

    Happy 2013 Pepper and Mint 🙂

  3. R's Mom said

    oh all the best to Mint and wishing you both a wonderful 2013…I am sure you will make the right decisions and get everything you want your way 🙂

  4. Hey Pepper….
    Happy New Year…I am a reader of your post from quite a while and been loving your blog. I really like the name of your blog and your reasoning behind it. Also love your posts…..Keep it up 🙂

  5. metherebel said

    Happy new year Pepper. May you have a great year ahead 🙂

  6. Hope you had a great year end and enjoying the initial days of 2013, Wish you and Mint the best of life has to offer. Hugs.

  7. techie2mom said

    Really an action packed year….Happy new year…May the new year bring a lot of happiness in your lives…..

  8. Ashwathy said

    Love the way you condensed it all together. 🙂
    I need to write more often to be able to record my year in one go by looking at my posts 😛

Leave a Reply

 
