A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

My first win

Posted by Pepper on January 5, 2013

Mint loves seeing me all dressed up. He dislikes me wearing jeans and tees, which is pretty much all I really wear. He keeps urging me to step out of my ‘boring tees’ and wear more of fitted dresses, skirts and the likes. I promise to include more of the said outfits in my wardrobe, but each time I back out. Because

1) I believe I can’t carry them well enough. I look too thin. This very thought also angers me because I really do not want to care about my appearance beyond a point. If I feel like wearing a dress, I should.
2) I am always apprehensive showing skin.
3) I come back to point 1. What if I look stupid? Jeans are safer. Yes, I am a confused individual who doesn’t know her stand.

This Christmas, I came across an interesting competition. You had to send a pic of yourself in a red dress. The best dress would win a pretty silk scarf. The scarf looked gorgeous. I set my heart on it the moment I saw it. But I knew. I never win. Ever. Despite my past records, I sent in this pic. This red dress has been with me for about 5 years, and I have worn it a total of 3 times. Including an evening out with  her. Anyway, the picture was mailed. Today, I received a response. The mail said I was one of the 3 winners of the scarf! And then, I noticed the category. It said ‘Best Body’. I hadn’t even submitted my entry in this category, but I suppose they took the liberty to do that.

Red

I am very pleased with the win because I really wanted that scarf, but when it comes to the category, I don’t know where I stand.  I don’t want to endorse the theory that says a good body translates to being skinny. These thoughts conflict with my feminist ideologies. Afterall, don’t we all want to work towards freeing ourselves from body shaming? I say this for myself, more than anybody else. I know how much thought I put into how women who wear dresses and skirts should ‘ideally’ look. It is what prevents me from wearing them. I am stupid. But I don’t want to be.

I know I keep saying this, but I am truly going to try wearing more of dresses and skirts. Not because I now feel more confident about being able to carry them well. But because, I think my concept of beauty should not be dictated by cultural conformity.

42 Responses to “My first win”

  1. Why is it we are always so conscious of our body? I. Think thats an ‘ideal’ body to wear skirts while i hesitate becoz of my tummy and pear shape… and ofcourse the hesitation of skin show… we keep trying to fit ourselve sinto a body that we have in our minds.

    Im glad you decide to start wearinh more dresses and skirts. Im still too far to be comfortable in them though i might wear a skirt like 1-2times an year.

  2. Ohh I wud do anything to be THIN..
    Congrats on being one of the winners so next time put a pic with you using that scarf tooo ..

    congrats

  3. Scribby said

    you looking ravishing 🙂 send me the full pic……peeeeeeeeeeeease! and congrats on the scarf,miss best body 🙂 Hugs!!

  4. Rasika said

    Good one, I want to add comments on each post that I read, but on your blog it requires lot of information filled in before we add comments, so anyways I read lot of your posts and like them too, keep writing!

  5. First off, congratulations on the win! 🙂

    Honestly, you look gorgeous in that dress. You don’t look skinny – you look good. You look well-balanced, IMHO.

    Yes, you are right. Looking good need not translate into ‘being skinny’. That said, I believe one should keep their body well-maintained. Obese women might wish to retain their obesity on the grounds of feminity, but it brings with it many health complications and issues. I am not saying one should go out of the way to not eat or go on a crash diet to lose weight and look like a heroine, but trying to maintain your ideal body weight is good. I learnt that the hard way last year.

    • Pepper said

      Thanks. I suppose I am not too skinny. I only feel so because of the million comments I get, each of them saying ‘Oh my Goddd, you are soo thin. Don’t you eat anything?’. Sigh. Those people almost seem disgusted by my thinness.

      Ofcourse, I do believe we should all strive to maintain our weight within the given parameters. But that is more for medical and health reasons. Most people complain, not because they believe they are unhealthy, but because they feel less attractive when they are fat.

      • sos said

        Tell me about being skinny, everybody has been telling that to me for years. It is annoying when people who are overweight and obese make fun of you. They talk of losing weight and looks like meanwhile they want us to get fat. LIke pusing off their weight issues onto us.

  6. My Era said

    Congratulations 🙂
    That picture is a sure winner.

  7. Tan said

    I don’t find you too thin… you look gorgeous in the dress as well as that pose 🙂
    You should definitely wear more dresses of this kind.

  8. WooooooHoooooo!! Congrats on the Win – Firsts are always special huh? New Years with a winning beginning are a good feeling, I say 😀 😀 !!

  9. That’s a pretty dress and you look amazing 🙂

  10. deepa said

    woahh…u look hawtt, u have an amazing figure, superb dress and ohh yes…congrats on the win…:) Happy New Year

  11. hello…i have been lurking on your blog a long time..just has to delurk and comment on this one 😛
    i was as skinny as you till a couple of years back and believe me I was so conscious about trying indian wear. I thought I would look like a fool…So I can totally relate to your dilemma…but trust me..u look grt!!!! now that I not that skinny anymore I can tell from experience that its all about how you carry yourself….its all about your attitude!

  12. You look pretty Pepper 🙂 Jeans and Tees are so comfy to wear no… even for formals I feel comfy in trousers & top rather than dresses and skirts & PK keeps asking me to wear more dresses.. 😦
    Congrats on winning girl 🙂 Hope to see more pictures 😉

    • Pepper said

      I only wear trousers and shirts for formal wear. Never wear skirts and dresses. Jeans are the most comfortable things in the world 😀

      • sos said

        Really? I can’t wait to get out of my jeans by the end of the day. But I love dresses – They are so breezy for your legs ha ha Jeans are not!

        • Pepper said

          Haha. You are right. Jeans are restrictive, but I suppose my comfort lies in being covered. A dress makes me feel too bare, and err, vulnerable. It’s sad, but true. Which is why I need to work towards changing that.

          • sos said

            Hmm, i get that, it takes getting used to and it helps when you live abroad and everyone wears shorter clothes than you 🙂

            I have noticed, dresses in India imply tight figure hugging clothes but there are so many styles to choose from. Like longer till your knees sorts of shapely sort of loose dresses. I think those are great. Fitting on top and flaring like nice skirts at the bottom.

  13. R's Mom said

    W.O.W

    I rest my case

  14. sos said

    I don’t think you look too thin or that you cannot carry dresses and skirts as well.

    As much as feminism means no body shaming or the need to be thin, I do not think all the skinny people should shame themselves because they are thin and feminists. Thin, not thin we have to accept it all.

  15. metherebel said

    How pretty you look. I can say this inspite of the fact that I can’t see your face 🙂 Congratulations for the win 🙂 May you win many more things.

  16. vethal said

    You look amazing and even more lucky to have a husband that doesn’t mind u in modern clothes.

    u know how Indian men are !

    • Pepper said

      I think my husband is the other extreme. I am a lot more conservative than he is, when it comes to my dressing. He is forever asking me to not care about others, and confidently wear tiny shorts, skirts, dresses. Even low necks, if the place is right. I’ve never been able to get myself to that stage.

  17. Ashwathy said

    Naice!!! It’s definitely time for you to start experimenting more with clothes…………..

Leave a Reply

 
