A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Matters of false pride

Posted by Pepper on February 17, 2013

It has been 10 months since we moved back to India. 10 months would seem long enough, to some. By now, I am expected to adapt to the Indianness that surrounds me. Why should that be hard, considering I grew up here? Well, it is. I believe America taught me to think.  I think I was too used to bowing down to the mental framework of the country I was born in. I didn’t think I could question the practices. Because after all, ‘this is how things work here’.

I have changed. I do question things that I disagree with. My thoughts carry a strong influence of the other two countries I have lived in. I do not blindly surrender anymore. From little matters, that do not carry much weight, to huge issues that shape the society we live in, I spend some time going over them in my head, keeping in mind the finer nuances of Indian culture.

Let me talk about one such ‘little matter’ with an example. It highlights the way Indians think. Mom and I found ourselves home on a Saturday evening. Dad is in Manila this week. The sister had gone to a friend’s birthday party. So it was just us, mom and I. The original plan was to shorten the ‘to do’ list that seemed longer than a mile, but since neither of us were in the mood to do any of that, we decided to take a break and head out to dinner.

We chose Mainland China. I like the place. The ambiance is good. We ordered a couple of things and were having a good time. My mom has a very poor appetite, and I knew we would not be able to finish the food we had ordered. Never mind, I thought. I wanted her to sample different things, so I went ahead and ordered them. I thought we could take back the left over and use it for the next meal.

Except that, there seemed to be a problem. We had only half eaten some of the items we had ordered, and one particular appetizer was consumed by about 70%. The remaining 30% (that consisted of 8 pieces of crispy vegetables) was lying on the table. When our server came by, I asked him to pack all the remaining food. He looked at me, and then glanced at the remaining crispy veg and asked me, “This too?”. I tried to keep my cool, and simply said ‘yes’. He then went on to tell me, ‘But this is too little’. His expression was full of disgust. I told myself to remain calm. All I told him was, ‘I prefer to not trash it’. He then had the nerve to tell me, ‘Even the paper bag I pack it in will seem so empty’. That is when I lost it.

This is an attitude I am sick of. I am sorry, but you have no right to make me feel embarrassed for wanting to take home the food I have paid for. Just because I do not have room to consume it right now, does not mean I will not want to eat it later. Why should it be considered below my dignity to want to take back food that is less in quantity? Is it a status or a prestige issue? Am I trying to say that  such little quantity is irrelevant to me? And who decides what quantity is acceptable? 30% seemed too less to him. 50% might seem too less to another. So are you suggested I trash all that remains on my plate?

In the past, I have let go of huge slices of pizzas because I was too full to eat it at that point, and too embarrassed to want to ask for one single piece to be packed. Even when I let go of it then, I felt horrid. Damn, that slice of pizza would be relished in a few hours. But unfortunately, I couldn’t take it back. I was conditioned into believing it was a ‘cheap’ thing to do. Now I wonder why?

Wanting to take home the food for self consumption is one thing. Most times I want to pack it only to pass it on to some hungry, homeless people lying on the streets. India has them in abundance. You find them in every corner. So why would you embarrass me for wanting to feed them?

The US, thankfully, functions very differently. You are never made to feel embarrassed if you want to ‘box’ even a half eaten slice of pizza. Infact, it is something that is considered obvious. Because really, why would you want to trash it? The servers there are courteous enough to ask you if you want to box something on their own. Most times, you don’t even have to go through the process of asking your food to be boxed. You see disposable boxes lying on counters in the sides of most restaurants. Just go there and pick them up on your own. They go to the extent of letting you take back a quarter glass of juice, in disposable cups. That is how the culture is built. Why do we, in India, carry this false sense of pride?

Anyway, let me come back to the server who enraged me by saying all that he did. I had two options. I could either fume internally and let go of it all, or I could speak up for a change and point out some fundamental facts to him. The old me would have stayed quiet. But this time, I decided to speak and battle the mindsets.

I started by filling the feedback form that was provided to me. I wrote a long comment in the section titled ‘Your suggestions’. I hoped that would get them to react to it while I was there. I did want to address this issue, instead of letting it go. Fortunately, the moment I had submitted the form, I had the manager walk up to me. He wanted to discuss it. I asked for our server. Once he was called, I spoke. I told him how wrong it was to question diners about the quantity of food they wanted to parcel. I spoke about Indian mindsets. I spoke about how this should not be a prestige issue. I spoke about how servers like him embarrass patrons and cause them let go of their food even if they don’t want to. I spoke about how this creates mass wastage. I spoke a lot.

They were very, very apologetic. Our server particularly, personally apologised to me a total of 5 times. I didn’t want to make this a huge issue. At the same time, I didn’t want to let go of it. Because I would be guilty of submitting to a system that I did not believe in. We can’t expect change if we do not work towards change.  It was important to me that he never did that again. So it was important to raise an objection to this attitude now. In the end, he did promise me he would never repeat such behaviour or embarrass a patron for wanting to take back small quantity of food. To make up for it, they offered us some chocolates.

I really don’t know if this attitude will change anytime soon. What I do know is that we need to start changing the way we think and behave. So please, do not feel embarrassed to ask for small quantity of food to be packed. There are a lot of hungry people who can do with it.  If somebody questions you, I hope you speak up.

 

86 Responses to “Matters of false pride”

  1. seema3 said

    First of all I am surprised that the server even questioned your decision about packing the food. Do they really do that? I was under the impression that you could always have to-go boxes for whatever quantity of food.

    I am so glad you decded to speak it outand let them know your thoughts, many a times we just fume internally and let it go–the chalta hain attitude
    Yes, the Speaking Up is definitly important.

    • Pepper said

      You are right. I didn’t expect anybody to question me. Nobody has done it before this. Though a lot of them are not vocal, many do exhibit their snootiness through their facial expressions and mannerism 😦

  2. Deeps said

    I LOVED this post, Pepper, LOVED what you did and said even more! Yes, i wish we would all stand up and speak up more often.

  3. Makk said

    Thanks for speaking up.

    I feel sick of attitude. In fact now a days India has become expensive country to live in as we are paying for sub standard qualities, same amount as EU or States people are paying ( in many cases if not all)

  4. I am so proud of you my dear, we often ignore or keep mmm thinking it will not make a difference. I am glad that you made that little difference..We all should make those little steps to make that big difference.

  5. uma said

    In India there is very poor customer service and people talking in sarcastic tones is so common. It seems like you have to forever live to please others in India. I remember Nupur of onehotstove writing that she takes her own boxes to restaraunts to pack leftovers to be more green. I was so inspired by it. Imagine doing that in India

    I remember when I was shopping for my wedding saree I was placing the saree on me and checking myself in the mirror. I think I had the pallid on the wrong side and the salesman was saying ” You don’t even know how to wear a saree and you are here to buy one”. Talk about rudeness.

    • Pepper said

      I wonder how much we’d be sneered at if we took our own boxes in India..
      Can’t believe that guy said that to you. I hope you walked away without buying any sari from his store..

  6. Kalyani said

    Matters of false pride. How apt.

  7. chai boy and lotus girl in india said

    I Never have a problem asking for left over food to be packed up and you are right. Here in the US it is never an issue. I will continue this practice once I leave the US as well! Thanks for speaking up! I would have done the same thing~

  8. vijayaa108 said

    Pepper -you did it!
    This is what I have been impressing upon people-young,old,not so old – to speak out one’s mind on things that matter-on principle.This is what I meant in my comments to your article ‘I am an alien’.
    If we want to change our society we have to be brave and forget ourselves and speak the Truth firmly & politely whether people like it or not!
    At times you will ‘ruffle feathers’ and people will not take to it kindly and they will take umbrage but then you would have done what had to be one-your Dharma.
    Our society has come to this stage because all of us have been guilty of keeping silent-
    “हमारा क्या जाता है!लेकिन सब कुछ जा रहा है और चला जाएगा यदि हमारे व्यवहार में परिवर्तन नहीं आता है ।”
    I for one wherever I am always make it a point to speak out.
    And also please do not forget to encourage that someone who has been brave enough to defy the norm and do something exceptional!
    Change will come about & has to-
    वह सुबह कभी तो आएगी ,वह सुबह तो जरूर आएगी !!!
    As always my good wishes.
    Courage to the likes of us!

  9. Sneha said

    Good for you! I felt so wonderful just reading about what you did. This is the power of the younger generation, and I can only hope there are many others out there who think like you do. Yes, living in India, we do get conditioned into the ‘chalta hai’ or worse ‘don’t do anything to stand out from the crowd – log kya kehenge’ attitude. It takes courage and guts to speak up.

    I have had my share of battles when I lived in Mumbai. I remember once traveling by the local train and the lady sitting opposite me by the window eating bananas. I knew what would happen once the bananas had been consumed and I had made up my mind about what I would do. As soon as she started to reach for the window to throw out the banana peels, I put my hand out and asked her to give them to me. I said I don’t mind taking them home and throwing them in the garbage bin. I must have been around 20 years of age then, and she probably in her mid 50’s. She glared at me, but then put the peels back in her bag. I hoped she would not throw them on the streets once she got off the train, but I felt elated, if just for a few minutes.

    In college, the gals would call me ‘kachre wali’ whenever I would try to dissuade them to not throw garbage on the streets. I didn’t mind that at all, if it meant they would not trash public spaces.

    Change begins with each one us.
    Your post reminded me of those days.

    Another wonderful story I reach recently of a young girl speaking up in Trivandrum – http://www.ukmalayalee.com/kerala-news/news.php?id=Mjc3Ng==
    http://indianhomemaker.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/20912/

  10. You hit the nail on the head.. that nothing will change if we do not change ourselves… ! 🙂
    Kudos to you to take that pain and not let it go !
    The chalta hai attitude needs to change sabse pehle !

  11. Bubblegum said

    I dont think so this can be generalized for India. We have A LOT to improve on several fronts, but then I have known some small restaurants which packs even salad for you if you haven’t finished it up. Anyway you did the right thing! : – )

    • Pepper said

      Let’s just disagree then, Bubblegum. I accept, there might be some exceptions. I didn’t say ‘ALL’ restaurants are the same. Sure, some might go out of the way to make you feel comfortable in this regard. But by and large, I think this attitude of making you feel less for wanting to take back small quantity is very rampant in India.

      Similarly, I am sure there might be some restaurants in the US that act all snooty when you want to take back food too. But those are exceptions, and largely, Americans do not judge you for such things.

  12. R's Mom said

    Yes I will..definitely speak up…often I dont ask because I feel weird about it..but you are right, its better than the food going waste and then we will definitely enjoy it again the next day na..thats why we got refrigerators and microwaves eh?

    glad you spoke up and even blogged about it..you taught me a lesson lady 🙂

  13. Sumana said

    I too think it is good to give people a piece of your brain sometimes when they act otherwise. I completely understand even a small piece of food will help a hungry kid fill his stomach may be even if for a single meal. I Thanks god that many of us are able to think that way.

  14. BOOO to that waiter and YAY! you gave it back! Good Job! If people learned to focus on their immediate job on hand instead of judging other people including customers, neighbors, passers by, etc. India would be a better place instantly.

  15. Ashwathy said

    First things first. It’s “ambience”, not ambiance! :mrgreen:
    Ok I think I am learning from you 😛 lol

    OK now I read the entire post. I don’t even know why that guy showed disgust at packing the food. You paid for it, you are just asking to eat it later. How does his judgement enter the place, it’s none of his business anyway.
    Glad you spoke up and got that sorted out.

    Never faced this kind of behaviour so far…. I have generally had food packed and taken away. But if I ever come across such attitude, I will be sure to speak up.

    The US is far ahead in these things. While we cannot expect things in India to change overnight (for example, carrying quarter litre juice back home won’t be happening so easily), we can certainly instigate change as a process.

    • Pepper said

      Ashwathy, you are beginning to scare me. 😛 I almost don’t want to type posts now, because when I am typing so fast (with such limited time in hand), I am very prone to typos. And I so hate knowing I’ve made them, that I’d rather not type 😛 Anyway, I am not going to be correecting that one now, because stupid WP will send out new emails to the poor souls who have subscribed.

      Yes, you are right. These are times when I miss the US..

      • Pepper said

        Sheesh, before you react, let me correct that. I meant ‘correcting’, not ‘correecting’ 😀

        • Ashwathy said

          ROFL!! 😆 I didn’t even see that ‘correecting’! 😀 😀
          I guess you must be typing from your office pc or something. Because when I am typing a post from my personal laptop, the errors show up while I am typing – spelling mistakes I mean. So I can just correct them along the way – a quick once-over is enough.

          Oh, I notice these mistakes in everyone’s writing. It’s just that I mention it to only those people who won’t take offence…. since my idea is not to snub them, just to merely point out that it needs to be corrected 🙂 In your case you are a partner-in-crime so it’s all the more important that I do so :mrgreen: Or so goes my logic! 😛

          Oh, WP sends out emails all over again if I just edit and post the same entry? Gee…. 😐 I didn’t know that! Silly me.

          • Pepper said

            No, I don’t type from my office PC. Wish I had such luxuries. I type posts from home.

            I notice the smallest of mistakes in other people’s writing too. But not in my own. I end up reading the incorrect content correctly, because I know what I wanted to say. Anyway, why is it that you only correct my spellings/typos, and not the grammar and structure? I reread this post and found two glaring errors. 😦

            Mistake1: “So are you suggested I trash all that..”. I wanted to say ‘suggesting’, not ‘suggested’.

            Mistake 2: ” I spoke about how servers like him embarrass patrons and cause them let go of their food” I wanted to say “cause them ‘to’ let go of their food”.

            Sheesh, I find errors too late. Neber mind now 😀

            • Ashwathy said

              LOL!!! Now I m laughing too hard to even reply!! 😆

              I guess like you I end up reading the incorrect content correctly… because I can mostly guess what you were trying to say! 😛 Plus I read really fast so sometimes end up skimming over the grammer and structure. You really want me to point that out also? My pleasure!! :mrgreen:

    • Mint said

      Ashwathy, sorry to break your bubble but “ambiance” is not an incorrect spelling/usage. 😛

      http://www.grammarly.com/answers/questions/7233-the-difference-between-ambience-and-ambiance-what-is-the-best-use-word/

  16. Smita said

    Hmmm earlier even I used to feel embarassed by asking out the bacha hua portion but my hubby put sense into me. And you know by taking on the issues then there you did the perfect thing. I mean our food our money, they have no rights to question what we do with it. And u know I was quite surprised with the fact that they reacted immediately.

  17. MoRS said

    Surprising. I often box food (in India) because we usually over order. Never came across such a situation. You did the right thing to speak up. I also feel that US has taught me to think and question our own customs and traditions. Something that as Indians we are supposed to be proud of, which I am more often not now a days!

    • Pepper said

      I usually box food too, but not if it is too little. I will do that now. Like I said, I haven’t been questioned before this either, but I have been made to feel a little… awkward for wanting to do it? Or perhaps it was just in my head.

  18. Satori said

    So proud of what you did, Pepper! I know how we are ingrained to feel as if it is a cheap thing to ask to pack the leftovers in India. I never used to feel comfortable enough to do it, and even in the few times I have done it, I used to feel embarassed!! Like you say, why should we feel embaraased to pack the food that we paid for?! And when I went to the US, I also felt the stark contrast….even if we didnt ask for it, they would simply assume that it needs to boxed!! In fact, they would find it weird if we decided to leave the remains there – maybe it would indicate that the food was not good or something….
    I love how you stood up for this – atleast this server would never repeat this again!

    Lakshmi

  19. Childwoman said

    I hope the guy didnt cry later in the mens room?? 😛

    Jokes apart, but what you did was right. And it was none of his business to question you at all. Accha hua padi use!!

  20. techie2mom said

    We don’t eat out much now a days…But from my before Zini days, when we used eat out like crazy, i remember the server at our favorite restaurant politely asking if we would like to pack the remaining food….They seemed to encourage it.
    What happened is outrageous, how can someone question you about the food you have paid for?!! You did a right thing by giving the feedback..
    Kudos to you for sharing this food with the less fortunate people….

  21. Smitha said

    False prestige and lack of manners, I would say! I do this a lot – ask them to pack the leftovers. I don’t see a problem with it. And why? Why waste perfectly good food?

    Am glad you spoke up. Hopefully going forward, they will be extra careful. And so should we. Wastefulness is no sign of prestige, just a sign of being totally unaware of the realities of the world.

  22. I see a lot of myself in that post. I would have done exactly the same thing and, if need be, a hundred times over. Pat on the back.

  23. vishalbheeroo said

    I admire you for going all the way and placate him in terms what’s right and what’s not. Such fucked up attitude need to change. Nevertheless, it’s not just about Indian attitude..guess it exist in many parts of the world..one should always stand for what’s right and what’s not.
    Cheers

  24. ajay said

    False pride and the suppressing mindset of what would people think and say. We are more concerned about people’s opinion of us (which absolutely doesn’t matter) than what we’d actually want or like to do. I think this is Indian psychology. Individualism is not encouraged. You have to conform to many hallowed social etiquette, manners, custom blah blah. You just have to follow because others are following. And that’s how this whole mentality slowly sets in. It’s so ingrained.

    Applauds for speaking out. 🙂 If we can do something good, it’s our responsibility to do it.

    PS: They offered chocolates to calm you down? 😀

    • Pepper said

      True.. we are more concerned about people’s opinion of us, than for our own welfare. Root cause of most problems, I think.

      Haha, yes, we got some awesome dark chocolates from them 😀

  25. metherebel said

    Firstly let me tell you…I am proud of you 🙂 This may be behaviour that we sometimes let go but I am glad that you spoke up and gave the server a piece of your mind!

  26. pixie said

    Good for you! I’m glad you told them off – it was unacceptable of the waiter to tell you what to do with your food
    But, I’ve boxed food from various restaurants back in Bangalore/Mysore and no one had questioned me about it!
    Here, I love that we can box even a single spring roll without anyone raising their eyebrows!
    I have done that too – packed 2 springrolls on purpose, because I know I will enjoy it later!! 😉

    • Pepper said

      Nobody has questioned me in the past either, Pixie. But I still feel this attitude exists, whereas I am never made to feel judged for something like this in the US. And why would you leave 2 good springrolls? .)

  27. You did what had to be done! 🙂 We pack food as well for similar reasons. I wouldn’t do this earlier but instead try to divide portions and try finishing to avoid food wastage. But there is only so much a person can eat at a time. And K has always been packing stuff. I dont know. If the last drop of common sense didn’t prevail, I would still feel happy that the customer enjoyed it so much that he/she wishes to pack it right away. But well, that’s what makes us different. And that’s exactly why we have opportunities to speak our mind.
    Yay, you! 🙂

  28. Deepa said

    I somehow get the feeling you do feel slightly embarrassed still at asking for very small quantities of food to be packed and hence the statement made about wanting to donate it to the homeless/poor/hungry. Why so? Isn’t it perfectly ok to take food home if one is going to pay full price for it and eat it yourself or give it to a family member/dog/child/neighbour.

    • Pepper said

      Hmm.. You are right. I still DO feel embarrassed to ask for very small quantities of food to be packed. It does happen when you have always been judged for even having such thoughts, right? I did confess this in the post, and that I am working towards changing it. However, my statement of wanting to donate it to the homeless would be unrelated to the above. I meant to say – even if you do think you are above it all, and wouldn’t care to pack such little quantity, it still makes sense to do it. We do have a lot of people who can do with food.

  29. DI said

    I like what you did. And I doubt i could have, which makes an even bigger matter. We hesitate to speak up a lot. And then fume inwardly which makes no sense whatsoever! So kudos! 🙂

  30. shail said

    Bravo! I am sharing this so more can read. We Indians do have a false sense of pride for just about everything. This is something I have noticed too. I remember boxing my half eaten roll in the US. I was surprised the first time that one could do that. But later on I felt, yeah why not, we have paid for it, why waste it? I really like the way they have boxes ready and how we can box our own leftovers in a restaurant to take home with us.

  31. Santulan said

    I guess it has to do with the way we have been brought up. If there is excess food made at home, it goes in the fridge.. But if it is in a hotel, we just leave it.. because it is poor to bring it back..

    IT is a mindset that needs changing. Thoughtful post.

  32. I’m so glad you gave the restaurant owner and the server a piece of your mind -Pepper.
    We Indians have got on the considered “Cheap” attitude for so many many things….When you bargain reasonably , when you check out wares and are not happy and you walk out to a different store, When we claim our assigned discounts or vouchers….the list is endless !
    The Nasty looks and Sarcastic comments seem so normal in our country ! I wonder when this will change !
    Glad that at least this 1 restaurant will change their ways coz of you Pepper – You stood up and SPOKE and am proud of that !

  33. Nice post! I used to leave the left overs on the table itself, earlier and feel sorry for myself for wasting so much money later after coming home! Nowadays I get them packed everything even one naan! I bring back the half filled water bottle too!

  34. It isn’t nice of someone to ’embarrass’ another person…it really is not his business to know why you want to pack 30% of the food. But look at it this way… there is a cost to packing…effort..time..packing material. It may be just one paper bag or plastic box. If the quantity of food is less, then why bother to pack it at the cost of other materials? Also, Pepper, I don’t mean to be ‘critical’ but I would really like to ask you one thing… would you have done the same thing in a fine dining restaurant in the USA? I am just curious. If yes, then kudos to you. If not, then maybe you need to reflect too.

    • Pepper said

      See, here’s the way I look at it:

      1) If you are offering the packing facility, then you got to be prepared to bear the associated costs. Or else, do not offer that service. But if you do, then you can’t have a say in the quantity.
      2) In this particular case, I do not see how this would have meant added time or effort. The server was already in the process of packing the other items we had ordered. Packing this would not have meant extra effort. Perhaps, a few more seconds of his time, but I will say that is too insignificant to count. Don’t you think so too?
      3) If the quantity of food is less, then why bother to pack it at the cost of other materials? Well, because that packing material won’t go to the trash can! The leftover food will! We can reuse paper bags and plastic boxes. I don’t know about others, but we never discard those. They serve their purpose well. So unlike the food, I won’t say the packing material goes waste.
      4) I wouldn’t classify Mainland China as an upclass fine dining restaurant. I am not sure. Perhaps it is. Anyway, doesn’t matter. I would certainly speak up had the same thing happened in the US. Why would I not?

  35. Scribby said

    You did a good job by speaking up, well done 🙂

    I do speak up and you know lot of times people (other than family) who are with me feel I’m doing it over the top, but I don’t care and give a little gyan to them as well 😉 that way I love giving gyan 😛

  36. Reema said

    You have hit upon a good issue which troubles us all but we keep quiet. Kudos to you!

  37. Kay said

    Interesting! I’ve never faced this kind of behavior from servers in India (and I moved here two years ago). I do, however, remember having a similar experience while dining with my parents in the US. It’s good that you spoke up. I tend to pack up my food in India when I can’t finish. It usually ends up with the kids that beg around traffic signals.

    • Pepper said

      Ofcourse, this behaviour is not common. If I encountered this only once in the total 23 yrs that I have lived here, it does tell us that it doesn’t happen often. But while people don’t openly criticize you, that feeling of shame is always attached when you decide to pack some small quantity of food..

  38. PMaha said

    This is your first post I am reading through and found out to be quite reveling! I have been observing people (including myself) since my childhood. Perhaps in deep subconscious state of mind. Here are my observations:

    1) Most of the people trap themselves into deadlock of false status:
    It’s cat n mouse story which unknowingly enables cold war with peers. Be it office colleagues or relatives or neighborhood. For example, people flaunting their salaries to relatives or new car or pricey possessions. This cat and mouse race never seems to end since ‘Sher ko Savasher milta hai’. Buy car and showoff. Peer buys bigger car and shows off. Buy even bigger car and shows off. Peer buys two cars and shows off. Buy luxury segment car and show off and so on… People get into incremental show off. In the meantime, car companies make huge profit by exploiting customers.

    2) For the whole life, middle class tries to look rich:
    There is a difference between ‘To look rich’ and ‘To be actually rich’. Mr X might save money for couple of months to buy iPhone 6 to show off to peers. Whereas a rich can buy such ten pieces by swapping credit card. Will you call Mr. X rich? Needless to say how hard he try to look rich, eventually falls into same middle class identified by his net income and hoarded assets.

    3) Sometimes I wonder at the end of the life, by showing off and getting jealous of others, what do we achieve? Cat n mouse race is never ending.

    4) Indians are succumbed to false pride and ego:
    They always want to ‘prove’ that Anything belongs to them is GREAT. Anybody associated with them is GREAT. Anything associated with them is GREAT. For example, Many people want to prove how their caste is superior than other castes. They want to prove how is their city superior than other. How is their job superior than other. How their working environment is better than others. How the brand of the shirt they are wearing is best among all. In reality, nothing can be segregated into black or white. Nothing is perfect in this world. So assigning suitable valuation is logical to retain peace of mind.

    5) False status at the cost of health, wealth and peace of mind:
    People would love to spend hefty amounts on junk food, fast food, so that they can click some selfies and upload it on fb to fetch likes(Nowadays FB likes has been metrics of social status). People love to buy pricey stuff against value for money stuff to prove that they belong to elite class and can tell others about it.

    5) Time wasted into living other’s life:
    Steve Jobs rightly said “Don’t waste your life living other’s life”. I wonder how much time we waste thinking about others, being jealous of others. For example, Being ‘hurt’ by relative’s ‘big’ achievement, we waste several hours of our lives.

    6) Social outcast:
    Indians DO NOT accepts change easily. SO if someone wants to look beyond daily 8 hr job and want to try out something exciting would be tagged as outcast. and people would stop respecting him/her. people would be bullying him/her.

    I am happy that I have come out of this shitload, avoided these phobias and living life on my own terms. Being realistic about yourself and rational mindset helps a lot. Many rich people have their foots grounded.

Leave a Reply

 
