A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Yet another year passed by..really, how?

Posted by Pepper on April 19, 2013

It has been a few days since I have been trying to compose a post. Actually, more than a few days. I remember trying to write since a few weeks. It is not that I didn’t have time. I did. Sleep took precedence on most days. At times, I would open this page, type two lines and then let out a small yawn, push the laptop aside and decide to write later. I never got around to doing it. I continue to wish I had the freedom to blog from my work place. *Note to self* – Make sure your next work place allows you to blog during work hours. I know, I have strange criteria.

One of the problems was that I had too much to say. Too many things to write about. It made me feel all muddled. So I refrained from writing. I hope I am able to fix this by writing everyday and letting out my thoughts in spurts, instead of creating a chaotic jam in my head . I think the longer you stay away from the blogworld, the harder it is to come back.

I celebrated my birthday last week. My birthday is that one event that gets me really excited. I look forward to it all year, think of ways to celebrate months in advance and generally spend the last few days counting down to the day. Last year, Mint was not around for my birthday, since it was just the beginning of his MBA. This year, I was doubly excited, to be spending my birthday with my family and Mint, both! That too, in my beloved city, Bombay!

As luck would have it, we realised that Mint had to travel to Bangalore on my birthday. He could cancel it, but the travel was to our benefit. Despite the benefits, Mint was all prepared to cancel the travel. So I had to actually smile and tell him I was fine, and that it was okay and that he must go and generally be all graceful and grown up. Sigh, the things that are expected of you as you grow.

Thankfully, he would be back in time for dinner. Since my birthday was on a Saturday, I was fortunate enough to not be at work. I woke up leisurely, went for lunch at a huge family gathering, cut my birthday cake at home with my parents in the evening and headed out to dinner with friends. We went to Salt Water Cafe in Bandra. If you live in Bombay and haven’t been there, I highly recommend it.

Mint got there from the airport directly. Most of my close friends, including the sister were there. The 8 of us had a good time, though the amount we paid burned a humongous hole in our pocket. Anyway, since we really did enjoy the dinner and the drinks, I am not complaining too much.

I turned 27 and I am still very clueless about life. Having kids, buying a home, clearing our EMI’s, saving money, I wonder what else is expected of us as we grow. This adult world is not very nice. Until I am mentally ready to cope with it, I will continue to snuggle in my warm bed and tell myself it is okay to grow up another day.

50 Responses to “Yet another year passed by..really, how?”

  1. Happy Happy Birthday!

    I feel growing up is a trap. And we all fall for it!

  2. vishalbheeroo said

    congo! don’t worry bout age and M am as clueless bout life and m still confused..think its awesome to come straight to party post airport…regarding writing, we are in same situation…sumtimes i go point blank..like i started a novel and dunno wat to write n i keep postponing sometimes dont know where to continue and link up stuffss.its crazy and screws up my head. I think we should plan our stuffs and keep a diary. wonderful post as always. U such a prolific writer:)

  3. Santulan said

    Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, Happpyy birthday dear Pepper… Happy birthday to yooouuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!!!!!!!

    Bombay is such a wonderful city to be and celebrate it.. Have you also been Candies in Bandra?

    What did you get as gifts?

    • Santulan said

      I have always wanted to be in the adult world.. Ever since I was told that there were things I couldn’t do because I was a kid. I enjoy being responsible for myself.. Yes, there were some decisions that I took in my stride and have cost me, but I guess it comes as a part of the deal…

      All the best with your adult life too 🙂

      • Pepper said

        I got a pretty pink dress, a french press that gives me wonderful coffee, home oil and a candle stand and some voucher from Shoppers Stop. Not too much, but I won’t complain 🙂

        Ofcourse I’ve been to Candies! Been going there forever.

        I guess kids wanting to enter the adult world is as normal as adults wanting to go back to being kids.

  4. Many More Happy Returns of your day 🙂 Oh! Yes………….Puhleeeeez grow up another. I remember what a butterfly I was at 27 and would give anything to go back there. Only know too well, how that’s soooooo not happening 😦 So enjoy staying awy from adulthood as long as you can 😀 !

  5. metherebel said

    Belated happy birthday Pepper 🙂 May you have a wonderful year ahead. By the way I just realised you are a fellow Arian!

  6. NPARI said

    Belated Birthday wishes, nothing like spending a birthday with loved ones! 🙂

  7. Jas said

    It is certainly ok to grow up another day 🙂 after all, these days will never come back again.

  8. Titaxy said

    belated birthday wishes, Pepper!

  9. AaeKay said

    Happy belated birthday Pepper!! 🙂

    Hope you have a fabulous year ahead!

  10. Belated, but heartfelt Happy Birthday Wishes to you dear girl.

    Growing up – uh, keep it for another day. For now, just cherish being the kid at heart.That’s what suits you best! 🙂

    {{Hugs}}

  11. Richa said

    hey happy birthday.

    you know this confused phase happens to us bloggers a lot…as we bloggers think tooooo much. Its fine though sometimes utterly depressing. Just keep pouring you thoughts on paper err..blogger and all will be well.

    Have a rocking year ahead. 🙂

  12. Jazz said

    Happy Birthday Pepper, hope you had a wonderful time. I know about the last lines and I’m glad to get company to grow later. 🙂

  13. Belated birthday wishes….haa and I met you when you were 25 and looking like a 14 year old 😛

  14. Hey belated birthday wishes, Pepper. Wish you a great year ahead.

    –Having kids, buying a home, clearing our EMI’s, saving money

    Don’t we all seem to have the same to-do list with a clock ticking in the background!

  15. ajay said

    Wish you a very happy birthday, Pepper. 🙂

    Agree with you on so many counts. Clueless about life, angst-ridden grown-up world, and about being away from the blogging world. Writing feels alien to me now.

  16. pixie said

    Happy Belated Birthday Pepper!! 🙂
    Wishing you life’s best for the coming year! hugs!

  17. Happy birthjday Pepper 🙂
    and growing up? what are tomorrows for?

  18. R's Mom said

    Gah! you didnt tell me that day 😦

    Happy Belated Birthday 🙂

  19. Happy birthday sweety , let these things don’t bother you, stay the way you are. Everything will fall in place.

  20. Smita said

    Belated Birthday wishes 🙂

  21. ashreyamom said

    belated b’day wishes.. enjoy life as you wish.. 🙂

  22. Deeps said

    Belated Bday wishes to you!

  23. “I will continue to snuggle in my warm bed and tell myself it is okay to grow up another day.” …This tops it all!! I always say this, and will continue to say this even after I have kids, get a house and my hair turns white!
    Happy happy bday peppy dear 🙂

  24. IMVI said

    I was abt to assume that mint had joined in bbay but then Bangalore confused me.. so gfrwds which city will u be in ?

    • Pepper said

      Bangalore happened only for a day. Mint has been here (in Bombay) since a month, because it vacation time so far. But which city will we be in? Now that is a very good question. One that I am not totally sure of myself. Hopefully, we should know in another week.

Leave a Reply

 
