A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Diwali 2013

Posted by Pepper on November 5, 2013

Diwali. Light. For me, the two words have always been synonymous. I remember one incident that happened years ago, when I was in 5th grade. Diwali was around the corner, and I made 4 paper lanterns out of all the craft paper I could gather at home. The lanterns were to be gifted to my friends in school. However, I had 5 close friends. One of them did not follow Hinduism. She was a Christian. In school, I remember being taught that Diwali was a Hindu festival. So I decided to omit the Christian friend from my list of friends to be gifted. There was a lot of joy and cheer when I handed out the lanterns to my friends. And then my Christian friend looked at me with hurt in her eyes, and asked me where her lantern was. The idiot that I was, I told her I did not make her one, because she would not be celebrating Diwali anyway, since she was a Christian. She did not say much to me then. But that hurt and silence of hers taught me some important lessons – I should never exclude people on the basis of religion. I should never assume they want the exclusion. Yes, a few people do, but most do not. By differentiating like that, I am only adding to the barriers.

And from that day, I make it a point to wish everybody around me, irrespective of their religious followings. Especially because I go ahead and celebrate festivals that are not originally a part of the religion I was born in. I feel especially offended if I am excluded from Christmas celebrations. And Eid too.

So there, having said all of that. I hope a Happy DIwali was had by all. And I hope the light continues to illuminate the path ahead for all of us. When I wrote my last post, I was fervently hoping the Diwali spirit makes me feel its presence soon. The mess in the house, the lack of preparation, the amount of everyday mundane jobs was pulling me down. I am happy to note though, most of that changed the moment I got home from work.  From family gatherings, to dressing up, to eating home made Diwali goodies like karanjis and ladoos, to lighting up the house, we did it all.

Here are some pictures of the house that we took. Most of these have been taken after a very last minute clean up session.

I picked up these strings of light on my way home from work. I foolishly picked up only 2 strings, thinking they would be adequate to light up the windows. Anyway, we managed with what we had, short power chord et al.

Diw1

I wanted something, subtle, yet radiant for the centre table. This little lamp seemed perfect.

Diw3

A close up of one of my favourite tea light holders.

Div15

This ceramic tea light holder is a gift from one of my most special blog friends. Thank you so much, babe!

Diw7

The view with the lit lamps

IMG_5211

Just a stained glass disc. I placed a tea light in the centre and it made the colours glow.

Diw8

The crystals light up the Natarajan

Diw10

Buddha. And light.

Diw11

I bought these little glass lanterns from an exhibition ages ago. Have always wanted to hang them somewhere. Since we could not think of any appropriate place this time, we hung them on the clothesline, using clips. Next year, I think I will hang these on all the plants in my parents home.

Diw12

Every year, we make sure we light up the bookshelf. Most of these candle holders and lamps have been around for a couple of years

Diw13

Pink and yellow cracked glass tea light holders. I heart these. But what I absolutely love is the shadows they cast on the wall.

Diw14

For a change, we decided to place the urli here. That is me arranging the flowers and lights, at around 2 am.

Diw18

Close up of the urli

Diw20

A very hasty. last minute rangoli. Done directly on the tiles outside the home.

Diw15

63 Responses to “Diwali 2013”

  1. chipmunk said

    I wish to have a home tour of yours!!! I loved every collection of yours and its like freaking cool 🙂 🙂 🙂 Its very much evident that you had a very great day 🙂 happy diwali 🙂

  2. Sumana said

    very beatiful Pepper. It looks like a resort of some type so relaxing and still so bright.

  3. Happy Deepavalli to you and your family , pepper 🙂

  4. Titaxy said

    lovely! love love love the center table light. happy diwali!

  5. Arch said

    Wow Pepper! Those are lovely pictures! 🙂

  6. aarya said

    All this makes me miss home all the more. I remember how all the knick knacks, collected over years, would come out this festival and decorate the home.
    Lovely pictures, Pepper 🙂

    • Pepper said

      But why miss home for this? Do it wherever you are na. Infact, from what I see, you already did. A lot of these knick knacks have been bought from California and then shipped to this place when we moved. We lay them out the same way even while living in good old CA. I should link back to the previous years Diwali posts. 🙂

      • aarya said

        You are so right Pepper, I try to make most of whatever it is and I have come to realize that I have my own home now. This place is my home. S-Man and Coco are my family and that’s what inspires me to celebrate despite of missing my another family.
        Missed saying this before that your house looks pretty 🙂

  7. paatiamma said

    So aesthetically done!!!

  8. seema3 said

    oh! I just did not want the pictures to end. Your house is so well done. I am stilla dmiring all those lovely things you have collected. Love those 2 pieces on the wall in the ‘The view with the lit lamps’ picture

    • Pepper said

      Thank you! Those are metalic warli figures. One playing the drum, snd one something else. Saw them in some exhibition and I just knew I had to buy them.

  9. Bhavani said

    Just one Word ” WooooW” – Glad you had a great Diwali!!!

    -Bhavani

  10. S said

    You home looks lovely!!! Great job with the Diwali decorations. 🙂

  11. Loved all the diyas and your last minute preparation and spirit. Way to go girl !!

  12. Comfy said

    It all looks beautiful and not last moment at all. Glad you had a wonderful Diwali. Hope the year to follow is even better 🙂

    • Pepper said

      I admit, it doesn’t look last minute when I see the pictures myself. I am glad. Only we knew the chaos and the clean up drive that took place just moments before this. Lol.

  13. Pal said

    A Very. Happy Diwali to you & your family Pepper! The house looks beautiful and I especially love the eclectic collection of tea light holders you have and how you’ve used them so well to light up the whole house! The very last minute clean up session is not at evident and your house looks like a haven of tranquility 😀

    • Pepper said

      Haven of tranquility? Wow. I am going to remind myself of those words when I see the mess getting to me. So that I am motivated enough to get it back to this tranquil state. Lol. Thanks Pal.

  14. Pal said

    Sorry meant *not at all evident* 🙂

  15. Smita said

    You have a lovely house my dear!!!

  16. Shweta said

    Lovely Pictures!!! 🙂

  17. Jay said

    I simply love your stained glass disc. Where is it from you got it?

  18. Deboshree said

    Absolutely beautiful pictures, Pepper. I ;loved the shadows on the wall too!

  19. Deepa said

    What a beautiful home! Love your decorations, very creative!

  20. rubberpal said

    Wonderful arrangement 🙂

  21. Beautiful decoration. Your house gives not only festive feeling but also divine feeling Pepper.

  22. The home looks very beautiful. Happy diwali pepper !! 🙂

  23. metherebel said

    Beautiful pictures Pepper!

  24. soulmate said

    what a wonderfully decorated, lighted house… perfect lighting for diwali… I liked every bit of what you did, to light up your house and the way you did it…. I should learn from you… I am pathetic at all this…

  25. pixie said

    Lovely!! 🙂
    I so miss lighting up the entire house with diyas and candles..
    We keep it to the minimum here – with LED candles (it doesn’t have the same charm) and a few candles near the window…
    And surprisingly, this year – I missed the noise and the bad smell of crackers being burst!

  26. Very Pretty decoration. Love the earthy tones and ethnic touch. Glad you had fun!

  27. Santulan said

    Such lovely use of lights. It is a good thing that the tubelights / bulbs are not on.. The colorful lights have a wonderful play.

  28. scorpria said

    You have an exquisite collection of lamps and light holders and other curios. Me loves! I am sure that house looked amazing and radiant! AWESOME job 🙂

  29. Revs said

    🙂 Just saw this post! I love you-know-what! It looks perfect there 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
