A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Happy Week – Day 1

Posted by Pepper on June 2, 2014

I’ve been very envious of people who’ve dared to participate in the 100 happy day challenge. Much as I want to add some happiness and sunshine on this blog, I don’t think I can ooze out the required amount of joy for 100 days straight. Because, let me face it -I need to whine periodically. And although ranting aloud actually does make me happy, those posts surely won’t qualify as ‘Happy Posts’. So I thought of a middle ground and came up with the idea of a ‘Happy Week’. 7 days of happy and jubilant writing sounds very doable to me. Since it will last for only a week, I also don’t have to worry about my blog turning into a cloyingly sweet space. Infact, I don’t think I mind doing a happy week every other month.

So here is my inaugural post for the Happy Week. I happened to go to the vegetable market yesterday and I came back with a lot of smiles. Markets always remind me of my childhood, because I grew up right in the midst of a bustling market place. Come evening and our street would come alive with flames that shone in bright kerosene lanterns. The vendors placed these lanterns beside their ware in order to make their produce gleam. It usually worked. The tomatoes glistened. The brinjals looked glossy.

The kerosene lamps that are reminiscent of my childhood have now been replaced by light bulbs that dangle precariously over the colourful produce. Although I miss seeing the markets of my childhood, the sight of the more ‘modern’ version also fills me with much joy.

To add to my delight today, when I walked up to the vendor with my basket full of veggies to be billed, he stuffed my bag with two springs of fresh curry leaves. Just like that. “Rakh lijiye”, is what he said. The fragrant springs reminded me of the times I had driven all the way to the Indian store back in California just to procure a zip-locked pack of around six curry leaves for $ 2. And here I was, having fresh curry leaves in abundance – at no extra cost. Oh the joys of living in India!

market

Please excuse the poor picture quality. I am usually in a hurry to click and snap away with my cell phone camera without much thought.

30 Responses to “Happy Week – Day 1”

  1. Tatsat said

    That rakh lijiye thing is so… satisfying. Even when the prices of vegetables is exorbitantly high. Come to think of it, we somehow love the “extra”. The bonus. Intriguing 🙂
    You are so articulate. Really!

  2. The curry leaves thing, so true!
    Sabzi mandi reminds me of how my dad used to take a 3-4 year old me on his bajaj scooter to the mandi in Indore. Now i am all nostalgic.

  3. Oh the $2 pack of curry leaves..don’t even go there 😦
    But hey, that’s one colorful market, looks like. I love them markets so much, last trip to India, I took off to one of the local flower+fruit markets in B’lore and strolled …just looking and breathing in. Vendors looked at me questionably ( lady without a bag or intention to buy)..but that was super rejuvenating!

    Lovely idea of a happy week! Looking forward to the posts 🙂

  4. Bhavani said

    Great idea Pepper!!! and love the Veggie Market..looking at the fresh veggies excite me too..And thanks for rubbing it in 😦 ($2 for Curry Leaves I meant)…

    But what a coincidence that one random Visitor gave me 3 twigs for fresh curry leaves from her home grown plant last week at the temple…happy me 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Lol. Sorry for rubbing it in. Can’t help admiring some things 😀
      And wow! You got fresh curry leaves too! Maybe you should consider growing some on your own?

  5. R's Mom said

    oh lovely pic..especially in summer no?

    This looks like a winter vegetable riot 🙂

    Happy week, is a good idea, and I am so tempted..wish it didnt include weekends…Can I borrow this idea?

  6. Cathy said

    I love your happy post ! Anything that refers to the joy of living in India gives me a little boost 🙂

    • Pepper said

      Me too, Cathy. I find myself spending a lot of time wondering if our decision to move back was the right one. I wonder if we should reconsider our choice. But then in my heart, I love this place and it is good to be reminded of that 🙂

  7. Hey pepper I have been a long time stalker 🙂
    Write about the “Happy Meal” made from all the veggies bought on the “Happy Market Visit”

  8. swara said

    Pepper, nice to see your Happy Week posts!
    I have paid $2 pack of curry leaves 😦 and I never used to buy them.
    Last trip to India, I went to local flower+fruit+vegetable market in Bangalore and I love to go there everyday. Fresh flowers, fruits and vegetables makes me happy and I buy loads of them 🙂

    • Pepper said

      I always ended up paying the required $ to buy curry leaves. It hurt to spend on something that we got for free in India, but I couldn’t do without that in my cooking. I am too Indian in that regard.
      Markets in India are such a delight to your sight and your senses. There are colours, sounds and smells 🙂

  9. Bikramjit said

    Don’t remind me of the prices please.. i just bought some fresh coriander just a handful for a pound.. but this time I have sown them in a tub outside so hopefully will have ghar ka fresh coriander he he he ..If it stop raining and warms up..

    Lovely pic.. pepper send some this way.. you of all people should understand the woes of fresh vegetables of people living abroad. .. socho socho. . Yaad karo..

    Happy days sssssssssssssSsss. . So you bought all that.. what you cooking..

  10. Wow looks so colorful. I have a sweet neighbor who has curry leaf in her backyard, these days I get free curry leafs too 🙂

  11. The Bride said

    The veggies look awesome. Almost makes one want to eat them 😉

  12. ashreyamom said

    curry leaf always used to be given free during my childhood days.. now i need to buy.. We have something called Raythu bazaar( farmer bazaar) near our house. so, we get to buy fresh vegetables from farmers with a fixed prize decided and written on notice board. only draw back is, we get only seasonal vegiees here.. unlike other cities where mangoes can be bought in nov-dec also. its relatively cheaper in these bazaar. say in season, 3 cauliflower would be rs.10 and tomatoes rs.3 and mangoes Rs80 for a dozen.

    • Pepper said

      Curry leaves were free during my childhood days too. Now, everything comes at a price, isn’t it?
      The bazaars you describe sound so vibrant. And yes, so cheap when the season is right. Can’t imagine tomatoes for Rs. 3!

  13. ajay said

    The sight of fresh, green vegetables makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

 
