A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Seeing through a glass wall

Posted by Pepper on July 8, 2014

These days, I seem to write posts only in my head. Once I am done writing an elaborate post, I go on to evaluate it. Yes, in my head. Considering I take pride in the fact that I hardly censor my writing, I am not sure why my mental evaluation has become so stringent. If I don’t find the content of my posts appropriate enough, I spend some more time editing it mentally. By the time I am done with this exercise of writing, evaluating, editing in my head, I hardly feel like posting.

Sigh. So I am not going to subject my thoughts to anymore assessments. Not today. Even if I write a completely meaningless post. Which is bound to happen, you know? I am so bored and blahed. The sister and Mint have gone for a movie. They really tried hard to loop me in. And although Transformers seems to have some good reviews, I didn’t feel like spending my evening cooped in a theatre. Just one of those days, I suppose? I chose to stay home and work on a tedious project. That is, washing my hair. Have I told you how much I hate taking a hair bath? I avoid it till I can.

Unfortunately, I managed to evade the ‘big task’ yet again. Which means I will have to wake up early in the morning tomorrow to wash my hair. What a pain. Today, I spent my evening lounging on the couch. I think I like being home and doing nothing. Speaking of home, Mint and I are staying with my parents. To add to it, we have a lot of our boxes and bags lying around and the house is in a state of disarray. Our own house is still not ready, but from what we understand, it should be complete in another week. Then we will need to buy a few basics before we can consider moving in. Basics like a bed and a stove and an air conditioner and a refrigerator and..umm, other stuff I can’t think of right now. I wonder how long it will take to procure all of that with an overanalytical Mint. I’ve spent long hours imagining life in the new house. I’ve pictured myself there and gone over the finer details in my head. I’ve dreamed of sleeping, waking up, cooking and unwinding there. So I am quite curious to know how it really will be to live there.

Maybe I will ask Mint to make a list of our pending purchases tomorrow. Oh well, tomorrow is only Wednesday. Why does it feel like we’ve already gone through the week? When will the weekend arrive? Weekends are so much Β nicer than weekdays. Speaking of weekends, I met my former colleague this Saturday. I was amused to note how my old work place has remained unchanged. After we said bye, he sent me a text saying how much everybody in my team misses me. And how they all hate my replacement. Hah! What a high that gave me.

Mint and I also spent some time in this lovely coffee shop. It was the perfect place for an impromptu date. We spent some good time chatting with each other. About life and all that jazz. The coffee shop had a large glass wall with a beautiful view. I couldn’t resist taking a picture. It was a clear day, but I thought of how lovely it would be to come here on a rainy day and watch the downpour and the swelling lake through this glass wall. Someday, I know I am going to come back here to do just that. For those of you who are interested, this coffee shop is in Hotel Renaissance. Lovely, isn’t it?

coffee shop

31 Responses to “Seeing through a glass wall”

  1. Bhagyashree said

    Someone very special to me worked at Renaissance, back then it was called the Marriott. She passed away soon after she joined them at 20! And they named an area after her – Gauri Point! If you do go again, please check it out and take pictures and send them to me..

  2. Scribby said

    Hotel Renaissance !! my fav spot πŸ™‚

    good luck with the new house, share pics of it when ready…

    and about writing posts in head? I do that every day now a days… in fact I was wondering if I should be having those devices which lets you record what you say and you just have to post πŸ™‚ easy no?

    • Scribby said

      and am I by any chance 1st to comment? πŸ™‚

    • Pepper said

      I think this writing posts in head is something we all do. But I am not sure I’d like the device that lets you record what you say and then posts it.. because I change and edit my statements a million times. I am nto sure I’d be able to control the editing if my speech is directly posted.. haha..

      And you’re second. Just missed the first spot by 2 mins!

  3. I can so relate to the part where you say “I’ve dreamed of sleeping, waking up, cooking and unwinding”. Trust me I have done it a million times too. And even though it’s fun but I guess living in it will be better……the view looks so pretty πŸ™‚

  4. Bikramjit said

    Well lately I have also not written much but put only pictures .. not that many olf the old friends are interested in what I write nowadays. .

    And that coffee shop looks good ..Lovely pic

    Going for transformers tomorrow evening..

  5. R's Mom said

    Aiyo house is still under progress kya? I thought you guys came back and shifted πŸ™‚

    Tell Mint to close his eyes and pick up on a random selection of fridge, AC, etc etc…jahan haath gaya..woh aapka :):)

    Errr..on a serious note, all the best…house shifting can be a pain..though you guys are a pro at it now..and you know you can give a shout whenever you want eh?

    Renaissance is a pretty place…one of my should go and eat there places πŸ™‚

  6. ashreyamom said

    living in onces own house is such a nice feeling na.. hope all the painting and wiring is all done.. do shows us the pics of the house once its done.. definitely the coffee shop has a nice view..

  7. Smita said

    I thought that it was that only πŸ™‚ It really has a beautiful view!
    And life in new house is something that I had also imagined and touchwood it is better than what I had expected thanks to the view & there is alag maza in staying in own house πŸ™‚

  8. The Bride said

    Thought I recognised that view!

  9. Now, Pepper u really making me jealous for such an awesome view. Where is it, btw? I may remember if I’ve been there. Enjoy your writing in the head or weaving ur magic on the blog.
    I am doing a mini novella on blog and do check, agar time mile toh.
    Good day:)

  10. Childwoman said

    Nice, I worked at this place and at the JW. Beautiful place.

  11. Deepa said

    And, how was B’lore sweet heart? Fun?

  12. Deepa said

    How beautiful!! You know something? i also love to laze around in my home doing nothing. I have a two story family room which opens to woods. I am usually the first one up, I just sit on the sofa savoring the beautiful sun rays that hit my family room in the morning. It is a huge effort for me to get up, get the kids dressed and then, run to work. I sometimes take a day off every month just to stay at home and laze around ;).

    • Pepper said

      Two storey family room that opens to woods? I can’t even imagine how beautiful that must be. You’re terribly lucky to own something like that πŸ™‚ Can I please see some pictures of your living room? Mail me if possible, please?

  13. Deboshree said

    I can’t go beyond the picture. It is downright BEAUTIFUL! πŸ™‚ Hope you have been well Pepper. I too hope the weekend arrives soon. Damn, it’s only Monday.

Leave a Reply

 
