A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Bits of joy

Posted by Pepper on December 23, 2014

* The nip in the air and the resultant change in weather has given me the mother of all colds. I lay in bed at 4 am, unable to disconnect myself from my state of discomfort, unable to drift away. The severely blocked nose and hacking cough was not granting me any respite. Just as I was beginning to feel utterly miserable, it began.

The wind chimes. At first, it sounded like a mad clamour. The wind outside must be blowing with unusual gusto tonight, I thought. Soon, it picked up a tune. And the melody continued. I held on to the notes, taking in the sweet rhythm of the clinks and tinkles. It seemed lyrical. I lay there in bed and smiled. Had I slept through this, I would have missed something beautiful.

* Talking about beautiful, our Christmas tree makes the house seem cheerful and adds a new dimension of beauty to it. We haven’t had the space for a big tree in years but that hasn’t diminished our joy in anyway. We’re happy. Some of our favourite carols are played on loop, and yet we never tire of them. There is excitement in the air.

j1

* Some days ago, Oregano completed the 6 month mark after his kidney transplant. Like I keep telling him, his illness has taught me a lot. I’ve learnt to value normalcy instead of taking it for granted. While I have seen closed ones suffer from dreadful illnesses, it is Oregano’s sudden kidney failure that really shook me. Although I had come to terms with the fact that people fall sick as they age, I was unprepared for something as dreadful as an organ failure happening to somebody as young as Oregano, with no cause or warning.

6 months after the transplant, he has come a long way. He is healthy, doesn’t have as many dietary restrictions and leads a fairly normal life. He ran a marathon and struck out an item from his list. Every time I see this picture, I feel incredibly happy. I took the first picture a day before his transplant surgery. Mint and I were sitting by his side as he underwent the dialysis. We were anxious and excited. I had truly hoped this last session marked a new beginning for him. And it did.. Here’s the picture from his blog.

* Guess who I shared space with this Sunday while we were buying our weekly supply of veggies at the organic farmer’s market. None other than the lovely Nandita Das. She was right behind me and we moved together from aisle to aisle. I hadn’t realised it was her until we reached the billing section and somebody let out something that sounded like a loud exclamation. That is when I turned my head and saw her face. My first reaction was, Oh My God! So I was making polite conversation with her about tomatoes and stuff without knowing it was her! But instead of letting on my over excitement, I just gave her a composed smile.

And just after I was getting over this, in front of me appeared Manisha Koirala. Two celebs in a matter of twenty minutes? Have I told you how excited I get when I spot any known personality? Anyway, I came home, Googled and found this image of hers at the farmer’s market that day. Do you like what she is wearing?

* Yesterday was the BFF’s birthday and we went to a lovely Mediterranean place for dinner. The food was amazing and they gave us some complimentary lemon tarts in the end. What a perfect end it was. You know life is good when you are genuinely happy on a Monday evening.

j2

The very amazing dips and spreads served on warm stone platters

j3

Lemon tarts

 

* Lastly, I am excited because Mint is off from work for the whole week. Although I am off for only 2 days, his longish break makes me very happy because it will let me spend my evenings with him without worrying about his night calls. And ofcourse, we have the holiday spirit to revel in. Yay!

10 Responses to “Bits of joy”

  1. I am honestly amazed at how far Oregano has come. It really makes me question my health at the present. Just because everything is functioning the way it is I put off trying to exercise and eat right. Hopefully, I will get back to taking more care of my health. It doesn’t help that I’m at my in-laws at the moment and am eating the typical deep fried, oily food that MIL makes out of “love”. Siigh..

  2. Your XMas tree looks lovely! We are yet to put ours up.

    It’s so inspiring to read about Oregano. God bless him!

    I have had a similar experience with our windchime. We put up a huge one in our balcony some time back, and thanks to the heavy winds, it chimed and chimed and chimed all through the night. We took it off the next morning, because we didn’t want it to get too tangled. Maybe we should put it up again – your post makes me want to!

  3. pixie said

    Merry Christmas Pepper! 🙂
    It’s heartening to see Oregano doing well. touchwood!

    Happy holidays 🙂

  4. renxkyoko said

    Season’s Greetings from me to you and your loved one ! Cheers and Joy !

  5. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year! 🙂

  6. Merry X-Mas, Pepper. It was a testing times for your family and you, guys emerged stronger. May the new year brings in loads of happiness, health, wealth and positive vibes.
    Lucky you. Once, I spotted Nandita at Fort’s Fab India. She is so beautiful:)

  7. Bhavani said

    Oregano’s progress made me very Happy. So so glad the major ordeal is over. Still better to be careful.

    Love your X-Mas tree and the food:-)

    Happy Holidays and Happy New Year you guys!!!

    -Bhavani

  8. Merry Christmas to you and yours Pepper. Such a happy post , so glad to hear abt oregano 😊

  9. You met Nandita das and Manisha koirala on the same day with a gap of few minutes? And you didnt start jumping and screaming and pointing and whatsapping? You managed to be all calm and collected and smile at them? Man, i have a thing or two to learn from you.

    • Pepper said

      That’s because I am generally surrounded by two very nonchalant souls. My husband and sister, who always scoff at any display of over excitement that comes with celeb spotting. Their measured responses sometimes rub off on me..

Leave a Reply

 
