A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Dhak dhak karne laga

Posted by Pepper on January 4, 2015

I have typed out the last two posts from the hospital bed side. This one too, is being written from the hospital. Given my circumstances, I think I am impressed with my own ability and willingness to keep up with the blogathon. Sure, I will quit if I find myself unable to cope at any point, but so far I’ve had the grit to keep going and that I believe is an achievement by itself.

Here is what happened. We took Daddy to the doctor that day. He examined the abscess and swelling on his chest, noted down his symptoms, went through his reports and then shook his head in disbelief. How could you not have come earlier? How did you allow this to get so bad before you sought medical help? We just stood there in silence, not knowing what to say. How can we explain Daddy’s irrational stubbornness to any sane individual, let alone a doctor?

Things moved very fast from there. That doctor never allowed us to go home. He got us to admit Daddy to the hospital right away. That was on Friday. His abscess is communicating with his lung and rib cage and looks like he may have to undergo another surgery. They’re still monitoring and investigating the damage.

Surprisingly, I am more relieved than worried. He is such a difficult person, I think we feel safer when he is tied down to a hospital bed. We’re also secure in the knowledge that he is in very good hands, being treated by the best doctors, in one of the best hospitals in Mumbai.

The only problem is that I find myself burning out. I stay in the hospital for long hours, sometimes from early morning to late night. It has been a little tiring. Mint has been around too and his presence is a big booster for me. But then, I am not sure if he will be able to be around from tomorrow. Anyway, I’ve had the beautiful sea for company. The hospital room’s window overlooks the sea and it has a nice, calming effect on me. I took these pics a little before 8 am today. See?

 

From the window..

From the window..

 

A little closer

A closer look

In the past few days, I’ve done it all from the hospital. I spent time staring at the sea, reading a book, I blogged, I chatted up and become friends with the adorable, elderly uncle in the next room. When I found myself really bored, I hooked up one of the machines to myself when Daddy had taken it off. I am not crazy. Just that, nobody was looking, all I had to do was put that clip like thing around my index finger and see my heart beat and patterns appearing on the monitor. I was curious to see how it worked.

My brilliance caused the alarms to begin beeping in all their glory. My heart rate was 116 beats per minute and apparently that is alarming? I was both, startled and scared in equal measure and took the damn thing off before somebody came to arrest me. Here’s a little secret. We tried it again when Mint was in the room. His heart rate was around 70 while mine climbed to 115 again. This time, it scared him too. When I took a few deep, calming breaths, it came down to around 101. What’s with my increased heart rate? Let me Google for more information. Or maybe not. Google scares me.

Anyway, that is all I can manage to write today. Got to go. See you tomorrow.

17 Responses to “Dhak dhak karne laga”

  1. Jo said

    Take care 🙂

  2. D said

    nice view..wishing a fast recovery to Uncle! all the best!

  3. Shweta said

    Oh boy… N here I thought only mine is weird as it always without fail stays around 92-95… And everyone in the household has the average 72-75 heart beat…
    It seems our hearts are up n ready for some kind of heart-marathon… 😉

    Awesome view… !!

  4. ash said

    Hope he feels better soon

  5. Take care! Of both your Daddy and yourself. Just knowing you are doing something you are not supposed to do, makes your heart beat go faster? Just a thought…

  6. I hope everything is well with your Dad 🙂
    And your self-monitoring your heart beats made me chuckle 😛

  7. Smitha said

    Hope your Dad recovers soon! Just the thought of hospitals make me feel a little ill.

    And I wish I could provide some insight regarding your racing heartbeat, but alas, I’m clueless 😦 Might it be worth asking a doctor about it?

  8. omg pepper.. hugs to you … I sincerely hope your father gets well soon …

  9. Bikramjit said

    How is you dad doing now, my wishes ..

    and hey google is not right always.. believe me .. so dont believe everything it says..

    Take care of yourself

  10. Ramesh said

    Resting heart rates should be between 60 to 100 bpm. Resting means actually Resting & no undue emotional stress! Try measuring on a morning after adequate sleep & I’m sure you’ll do fine!

  11. Wishing daddy a very speedy recovery. I’ll pray 🙂

  12. mevsrogue said

    I remember that heart rate thing. Had to have it on continuously for 5 days or so. Index finger started paining, so I kept shifting it to other fingers.

  13. Wishing your father a speedy recovery!

    I have such a fast beating heart that AB calls me chooha. I spoke to a nurse about it. She asked me a few questions and it is ok to have a fast beating heart apparently if everything else is normal. That is how i am made – with a fast beating heart. The joke at home is people scare me and ask if it slowed my heart rate down because my heart is ulta khopdi 😛

  14. oh mora jiya ra darne laga…saiyan baiyan chod naaa, kacchi kaliyan tod naa.
    Youve put the song in my head, but im not complaining. I love it!

    Hope ur Dad’s doing better now..i bet the ocean breeze will make him well at double the speed.

  15. srividhya said

    Take care. I know how tuf are these hospital days… Been there myself. Hope your dad recovers soon.

  16. anisnest said

    Hope your father is feeling better now. Wishing him a speedy recovery. Good does scare the hell out of us.. these days I am scared to search anything medical related in google..

  17. Deepa said

    Take care Pepper of yourself and and Daddy too. Something tells me that he is perhaps going to take better care of himself now on. We can all hope and pray for that no?!! The sea does have the most calming effect on one’s psyche and soul. I’ve always wondered whether I’m a mountain person or a sea/ocean person and looking at your photo convinces me I will always be and always was a sea person:-) It helps that I get to see the bay from my bedroom and living room window here too in the Bay Area.

    Happy 2015 to both of you.

Leave a Reply

 
