A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Year 5 – Happy Anniversary, Mint

Posted by Pepper on March 26, 2015

Dear Mint,

We completed 5 years of marriage yesterday. Half a decade. Quite a milestone, isn’t it? I wanted to write this post yesterday, but we were wandering around town all day and by the time we stumbled back home, we were in a giggle induced, semi drunk state. Not the best state to write this letter in, I thought. Anyway, let’s not think about the delay and move on.

5 years! Do you remember all the wedding insanity that took place on this day 5 years ago? Given your memory, I am quite certain you don’t. I do, ofcourse. When I think of that day, I think of the sweltering Chennai heat, the over excitement, the exhaustion, my annoyance because of my uncomfortable hairdo, the beating of the drums during one part of the ceremony and the subsequent relief after it was all over. Yes, at the end of it all, the feeling that was most overpowering was that of relief. Relief, more than joy. After all, the amount of fight we had to put up to reach this stage, I was relieved to know we were done with it.

Some weeks ago, we were having a disagreement of sorts. You wanted me to stay up at night and play a board game and I was too sleepy to be willing to do that. At one point you said, ‘Why don’t you like staying up late anymore? You loved not sleeping at night at one time. You were so different when we were friends 12 years ago”. To which I jumped in and said, ‘Ofcourse, 12 years ago I was just 16. I was obviously a different person at that time”. And then I paused for a minute as the realisation hit me. We’ve been friends for 12 years! From a time when we were kids. It’s a long association.

When I look at the last one year, I see the house we’ve tried to build together.  I say ‘tried’ and not ‘have’ because it is still far from complete. But we’ve worked so damn hard for it, we’ve put in our blood and sweat and I see it as a cherished product of our labour. It may still be incomplete, it may be far from perfect, but it is ours. A place we can call our own. And this space we jointly own makes me supremely happy.

I don’t know where we stand today. We have almost no savings, we have a massive EMI and we haven’t made any smart financial investments. In fact, our finances are a mess. We hardly know where our money goes every month. We are yet to learn how to organise and plan our budget. We don’t know where life will take us next. When our sorted and well settled friends find out how we live on the edge, they gasp. It makes me laugh, because it reminds me of the song you sang to me all the time when you were ‘convincing’ me to give our relationship a chance. The lines, ‘Our friends would all make fun of us..And we’d just laugh along because we’d know..That none of them have felt this way’ from Hey There Delilah come to me often. I guess it is true, we may seem crazy to some,we may not have planned our life very well, but at the end of the day, what matters to us is that we are together.

I’ve written a letter to you on every anniversary of ours and I spent some time reading each one today. It is interesting to note how we have evolved, and yet, the essence of our relationship still remains the same. I love the good times we have together, but I also love our arguments and fights. I absolutely love the space we give to each other for such honest expressions. I love the underlying security it all comes with. Between us, there is no pretense. We know each other’s ugly sides pretty damn well. I’m so glad we don’t have to pretend being good when we aren’t.

So thank you, my dear idiot husband. For all the laughs, madness, fun times, cuddles, giggles,  drama, entertainment, fights, disagreements, arguments, space, support, love and above all, the blanket of security you wrap me in.

All my love,

Pepper

 

PS – Here’s the song we sang day and night in our early years.. I’m sure I’ve put it up earlier too, but what the heck, I love it and so, here it is again. Considering we were in a long distance relationship and I was unsure of where we were headed, every single line in this song held great meaning for us.

And since this is our 5th anniversary, let me go ahead and reminiscence. A flash back episode made me revisit the wedding madness. The cocktail party, the reception, the wedding ceremony, all brought back some fun memories!

19 Responses to “Year 5 – Happy Anniversary, Mint”

  1. Reblogged this on oshriradhekrishnabole.

  2. Happy anniversary Pepper and Mint! 🙂 Stay blessed and happy forever! 🙂

  3. srividhya said

    Happy anniversary 🙂 many more happy returns of the day

  4. Happy Anniversary 🙂

  5. Happy anniversary both of you!! Make Mint do a guest post where he writes mush about you. 🙂

  6. Bhavani said

    Happy Anniversary to the sweetest couple I know in the Blog World:-)) Heres to more and more of everything you have mentioned….

    -Bhavani

  7. Congrats Pepper and Mint:) May year five be the best one yet.

    I needed to hear this song today after ages….hit the right emotional spot for me today. Thanks for posting it.

  8. That song made me very happy this morning..especially imagining two young hearts (you two!) , so much in love..smiling away to glory over phone ..livin’ the long distance days.
    The love and friendship is still intact, and that is your biggest strength. Wish you and Mint a very Happy 5th! 🙂

  9. Smitha said

    Happy Anniversary to you and Mint! Here’s to many many more wonderful years together. Hugs!

  10. Happy Anniversary ! Love the post !

  11. congrats for 5 years of togetherness…wishing you many more!! 🙂

  12. Singh Warrior said

    Happy Anniversary ! Nice Blog !

  13. Happy wedding anniversary!! May you have 6 more janams together!

  14. happy anniversary for 5 years of love and longing for each other.
    Cheerz

  15. anjeneyan said

    A very beautifully worded letter presenting sentiments closest to the heart. A real pleasure to read, Best wishes for many many more such anniversaries.

  16. Anu said

    Happy anniversary Pepper! Wishing you and Mint many more years of love and togetherness! 🙂

  17. Deboshree said

    Congratulations to you and Mint! 🙂 Here’s wishing you many, many more years of togetherness. Have a great time ahead. ❤

  18. My Era said

    Congratulations dear Pepper-Mint 😀
    Wishing you both a happy life, brimming with moments of togetherness and love ♥

Leave a Reply

 
