A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

A sweet prayer

Posted by Pepper on June 6, 2015

There is a little temple in our apartment complex. When dusk sets in, typically around 7.30 in the evening, the priest performs a small aarti. I am not a religious person at all, but I love the sound of the temple bells. They add an aura of tranquility to the atmosphere. The breeze floating out of the temple carries with it a whiff of incense. I usually try to go for my evening walk in the complex around the time of the aarti. Although I never step inside the temple, the bells and the fragrance of the incense sticks make me feel happy.

But more than that, I know what I look forward to the most. It is a sight that melts my heart. Right after the aarti ends, the priest hands out tiny laddoos to every person who enters the temple to pray. Our complex has many kids of different ages, all playing in the complex premises in the evenings. As soon as the aarti ends, I see all the kids abandoning their bicycles, skate boards, swings, games and running towards the temple. They queue up inside and wait for the priest to present them with a tiny piece of laddoo. I stop my walk and wait outside the temple sometimes, just to see the gleeful faces waiting patiently with their little palms extended. Sometimes they run out with a fistful of their prized laddoo. Sometimes they gobble it up before they even step out. Their excitement on finding the laddoo is heartwarming. Oh, the joys of being a child.

7 Responses to “A sweet prayer”

  1. Deboshree said

    How delightful Pepper! It is indeed one of life’s greatest pleasures to be a child. If only we appreciated this fully when we were young, we would know what a special phase in life we are in.
    You have made me crave for a laddoo. 😀

  2. Rachna said

    Oh, yes. I see my kids queue up at every place and function that doles out laddoos. Their excitement is so infectious. 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on oshriradhekrishnabole.

  4. yes, childhood is blissful indeed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
