A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Fitting in

Posted by Pepper on June 11, 2015

There is this couch at my parents’ place. It is meant to seat two people. I loved this couch from the time we moved in to this house. Although it is the smaller of the two couches in the living room, it is mega comfortable. Since I loved it so much, I laid claim to it from day one. Instead of letting it be a seat for two people, I would spread out on it and lie down, using one of the arm rests as a leg rest. The other one was used to rest my head. The size was perfect. I snuggled like that for hours.

Then Mint came into my life. From the day he first visited my parents’ home, he decided to take over my couch. He started sprawling on it in the exact same way that I used to. At first, I let him. I was sure he would return to me what was clearly my place. Unfortunately, he had no such intention. He would rush to claim the couch the moment we would enter home. And once he was sprawled out, he showed no signs of moving his ass. If at all I did manage to get the couch to myself sometime, he would even have the audacity to tell me that I was occupying his space! He would annoy me till I was forced to get up. How convenient.

I tolerated this injustice for years, until one day I got fed up and tried to squeeze in while he was lounging on the couch in his favourite position, watching TV. To my surprise, what I thought would be an uncomfortable squeeze, turned out to be an extremely comfortable position for me. I was so excited I had found a new spot. I started using him to lean on. He is a good pillow. Ever since, this has been a favourite position. He welcomes me to use him as a back support. I place my legs up on the center table. It is uber comfortable.

We have now made truce and no longer have to fight for the couch. This is us, watching TV together. Now I know what they mean when they say we must all learn to carve a niche for ourselves. Mwahaha..couch1

 

28 Responses to “Fitting in”

  1. Scribby said

    hehehe carving a niche for oneself 🙂 too cute Peppy !

  2. Deboshree said

    Hahaha! That sure looks like a cozy couch. 🙂

  3. Brought a big smile onto my face 😀

  4. Reblogged this on oshriradhekrishnabole.

  5. srividhya said

    These 2 seat couches are very comfy naa.. Both me and M used to fight for that couch. Now its a L shaped couch.. miss that old one.

  6. You know what I love most about this post?The fact that mint is so comfy on the couch at your parents’ place. Also the fact that you guys are cuddly cozy at your parents’. The husband has been to India .my parents’ place just once in 6 years after we have been married. Can’t blame him-its the visa issues. But even then doubt he would be comfy enough to sprawl. Oh and we are freaked out about being this cozy in front of either set of parents.I am going to show him this pic and ask him some questions today:)

    • Pepper said

      Mint is super informal and he is the kind who goes and makes himself comfortable anywhere. I scream at him for this actually. For example, he will go and peep into the refridgerator of our close friends, and actually help himself if he finds something interesting. I maintain some boundaries and am more formal, unless it is the BFF. With everybody else, I feel like I am imposing..He is the opposite of me.. There is no way he wouldn’t have sprawled in my parents’ place even on his first visit.

      About getting cozy in front of parents, I think it helps that I have grown up watching my own parents hug and kiss and hold each other affectionately. We even had periodic group hugs with the sis and I joining in all our growing up years… So I don’t have many inhibitions because of the environment I grew up in. I must say though that Mint and I take it a few notches higher.. My parents and sis are used to seeing us playfully clamber on each other. I sit on Mint’s back to annoy him when he is sleeping. I sit on his belly just for fun when is lying down.. I sit in his lap when I want to cuddles… all in front of my parents. They are so used to seeing it, it’s become part of our ‘normal behaiour’ to them .. haha

      In front of my in-laws, I would never dream of it 😀

  7. You snuggle bunnies, you! I agree how comforting it is to lean against someone. Much better than the plushest couch in the world.

    • Pepper said

      Isn’t it .. 🙂 Though, a lot of people complain I am too boney. I’m not the best person to lean against.. haha

      • A lot of people say that about me too! Specially when the roomies and I would share rickshaws and I had to sit on someone’s lap. Haha. Though not applicable anymore because I have acquired pockets of fat since then.
        But isn’t it awesome? Because you always lean against someone aaram se and not other way around. Hehehe

  8. Cute post! 🙂

    We have a sofa in our house, for which the OH and I fight too. 🙂 I would love to take your position, but I am too heavy to be lying on the OH’s chest or stomach like that. 😛

    • Pepper said

      Then maybe the OH should use you to lie on 😀
      Also, I don’t think it matters how heavy you are. When you lean in, you don’t have to bear all the body weight.. it’s just a support. So try it!

  9. hehe nice and cosy couch. At times, I sleep on the couch in the hall..hehe

  10. Rachna said

    hahaha You sure carved a cozy niche for yourself. 🙂

  11. Smita said

    lol!!! Cute you guys are!

  12. Super cute couch and super cute both of you!!

  13. It is such a cute couch and such a comfy setting!! In my case, it is the other way round. I occupy hubby’s place and my son snuggles in too! Hubby usually gives in to his crazy wife and his bratty lad!! 😀

  14. Sunil said

    Lovely one…enjoy..

  15. Stutee said

    Is it me or does the couch remind anybody else of the smaller version of the couch F.R.E.I.N.D.S used in Central Perk.

    Rumour has it that couch was found on the basement of Warner bros studio (or some other such biggie)
    Yes, I happen to know a lot of trivia about the things I love 🙂

  16. Santulan said

    Mint doesn’t look to happy with sharing this 😀

Leave a Reply

 
