A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Life updates

Posted by Pepper on June 18, 2015

It’s been a while since I allowed myself to write mindlessly with no agenda in mind. Today, I will let my thoughts flow.

Let me first rant about work. It has been very stressful. I know I need to learn to deal with the stress better. But as of now, I feel too much of physical and mental strain. Running a company is hard work. That is an understatement. I find myself constantly juggling to keep all the balls up in the air. I know we need to make a few hires at the senior level. I am too stretched. Sadly, a snapshot of our finances tells me we have no budget for lateral hires at this point.

I spend most of my time either working, or worrying about work. Sometimes, I tell myself to calm the eff down. If production stalls for a day because of an unexpected problem, it is okay. If I detect a small flaw in the operation process, it is okay. If a project delivery happens a day late for some unavoidable reason, it is okay. I can’t worry about everything. I have way too many things to look into. I need to deep breathe and let go of things that are beyond my control. Most importantly, I need to stop thinking about work when I am not working.

****

Talking about work, my dad has been traveling for official work since a week. Bah, I miss him so much, it’s not funny. I also realise how dependent I am on him for so many things. Especially work. Without him in town, I feel more unsure of everything. It’s rather strange because I am used to working without having him around all the time. But perhaps, knowing he is right there if I need him makes me feel secure in some way.

****

The R family visited us for lunch last weekend. The last time they came home was when RM was expecting R2. That time, they came for a pani puri party. Ever since my mom saw the very pregnant RM, she had been waiting to see R2 in person. She finally got a chance to lay her eyes on the little one. Both R and R2 are such absolute cuties. Playing with them was a delight. We kept the lunch simple. Our cook made the dal. Mint made spicy potato roast. My mom made mutter paneer. We had rice and rotis. We obviously laid out yogurt and a special red chili pickle outsourced directly from Rajasthan. RM brought some aam ras and our meal was complete. It was a rainy day, so we had some fun indoor. I even spent time dancing with R in a locked room. So glad they came!

****

We went to watch the Tamil film, ‘Kaaka Muttai’ on a Sunday morning. I was wondering if the early morning show was worth it. In the end, I was so glad we chose to sacrifice our sleep for this movie. This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long, long time. The attention to detail, the story, the casting, the expressions, it was all perfect. It left a deep impact on me. I urge everybody to go watch it. Even the sister, who doesn’t understand a word of Tamil, loved the movie. The subtitles worked wonderfully. I think the movie is a must watch for everybody, more so if you have kids.

****

Finally, we have gotten our friends addicted to Settlers of Catan. Tables have turned and they are the ones who call and request us to play now. Haha. We’re the only ones who have the game and they take special effort to remind us to carry it when we meet. This weekend, we met at a coffee shop. We were not sure how appropriate it was to spread out the board on their coffee tables and play there. Thankfully, nobody seemed to mind and we had a grand time playing. Cheers to board games! They are perfect for rainy weekends.

****

Yesterday, Oregano turned one! That might not make sense, so let me explain. Yesterday marked the one year anniversary of his kidney transplant. Since we consider his kidney transplant day to be his rebirth, we choose to call that day his birthday. He says it is more important to him than his actual birthday. I am inclined to agree. So when Oregano buzzed me on WhatsApp last evening to ask me what special something I was making to celebrate his birthday, I racked my brains and then zeroed in on Vidhya’s bread pudding.

It turned out lip smacking. And it was unbelievably easy to make. Thank you so much, Vidhya!

****

Mint is leaving for the US tonight. I’ve been very cranky and clingy. He’s going to Utah first Β (beautiful Salt Lake City!) and then he’ll be in the Bay Area from next week. Β I just don’t want him to leave me. *Sobs*.. But then, I am consoling myself because there is a chance I may join him in the Bay Area. It really depends on my work and a couple of other things. But until I am sure, I should tell myself to shhhh.. No getting excited until I know for sure.

20 Responses to “Life updates”

  1. srividhya said

    Glad you liked the recipe.. You got to see R1 n R2.. Wow.. I dunno when I can come to down to Bombay or when R can come down to chennai. Yet to watch that movie yaar.. heard great reviews and from you too.

    • Pepper said

      The recipe was terrific! Thanks once again πŸ™‚
      Hah, let me show off and tell you I saw R2 in the hospital when she was born! And I get to see RM and her family every now and then. RM is my official molaga podi supplier πŸ˜› Our meetings depend on how badly I need a refill of my molaga podi.. Lol.. Kidding..

  2. Bhavani said

    Wow wonderful updates pepper…so heartwarming to read blog friends bonding so well…though I don’t blog if you come to Bay Area can I get your darshan;))

    Wow bread pudding let me try it some time..kids am sure will love it..

    Yet to watch Kakka Muttai…hearing raving reviews…

    Take it easy on work front ya..easier said than done when managing something on your own..but try..

    Hope your Vit D levels are coming upto speed and your thumb is all fine..

    Take care..

    Bhavani

    • Pepper said

      Ofcourse, Bhavani! You don’t blog but I have been reading your comments forever. We absolutely must meet. Pleasure will be all mine πŸ˜€

  3. ‘Bay Area!’ ‘Bay Area!!’ ‘Bay Area!!!’ *3 times like Ekta Kapoor’s camera work*
    Wow! Sounds awesome of it happens. Try to come to South, okie?
    And don’t take too much stress about work. It is a part of your life and should remain like a part only. But I think you are handling the work pressure well.

  4. Time is travelling too fast.. I just feel like replying on Oregano’s post wishing him luck and I am so glad he has turned one πŸ™‚ I am yet to watch Kakka muttai – have been hearing such nice reviews – something to watch this weekend. Hope you get to join Mint in Bay area as planned πŸ™‚

    • Pepper said

      Oh please do go watch Kaaka Muttai. It’s such a fab movie! πŸ™‚
      I know, right? I feel like it was just yesterday that I was pacing outside the OT while Oregano had his transplant! And now it’s been a year..

  5. Hey Pepper! I need to try that and it’s been ages, writing without any agenda..guess, got lotsa to rant about work and all. I can’t believe it been a year for Oregana new birth and I am sure he is fine. Stay safe in maximum city during the heavy rain.
    Cheerz

  6. Congratulations on the first B’day to Oregano, that sure means a lot !

    Kaaka Mottai eh? Had not heard of it ( the husband is least updated with Tamil releases). I shall go watch it , now that you recommend.

    Mint visiting Bay area? You know who he needs to come visit . You should join him too ( I’ll keep fingers crossed on that) πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
