A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Noise

Posted by Pepper on October 30, 2015

So, I disappeared from this space. Again. This time, I have not been simply lazy. I have been way too overwhelmed by the current happenings of my life.

A couple of weeks ago, we were given a choice. We were told to make a decision soon. It just felt like life had thrown a googly at us. How do we choose? Logic and practicality? Or emotion and convenience? We know we can’t have it all. It has to be one over the other. What we prioritize is obviously upto us. I have made most decisions of my life based on emotion. The question that looms ahead now is, can we afford to base our choice solely on emotion? It is a luxury I am not sure we have anymore.

Will we still go by emotion, even if it comes at a high price? Or will we choose logic and attain the much sought after benefits that come with it? I know the choice we make has the potential to change the fabric of our lives. We are completely overwhelmed. All around us, we are surrounded by noise. Noise created by the ideals other people are chasing. Noise created by everybody else’s definitions of ‘important’. The noise is snatching away my sense of clarity.

I’m sorry for sounding so cryptic. I will write a detailed post as soon as we sail through this phase and know where we stand. As of now, whenever I feel too disoriented, this is what I say to myself.

27 Responses to “Noise”

  1. Frame-worthy quote that is….

  2. Well…. that noise often stops us from following our instincts…. all of us make choices….. the good and bad part always reflects in the hindsight……

    Of course….. I know how annoying that ‘noise’ can be….. but then, this too shall pass 🙂

    Keep calm and have faith.

  3. Bikramjit said

    Right well not sure what it is.. but don’t make a decision to make others happy.. that can never be good yes 8t will make a few people happy and that’s about it.

    Next thing is emotions yes that is right if you think emotionally but again that is short lived .. I know I am saying that yet I take most of my decisions emotionally and repent them too .. that’s why saying from my experience ce
    Whatever it is descide with a bit of emotion but a lot of MIND.. yes ..

    Best of luck with everything take care..

    All will be fine whatever you descide. .

    • Pepper said

      Thank you, Bikram. We aren’t even considering making a decision just to make others happy. The ‘others’ don’t feature here at all. In fact, whatever we decide, I doubt it will make any difference to anybody else.. It’s all about us.

  4. I just hope it has something to do with you coming back here. 🙂

  5. Aww.. Bless you guys ! Hope it all works well! Whatever the decision is hope it’s the right one, for you guys pepper !

  6. Hey! Go with the flow and things will fall in place. I’ve been trying to figure out things for myself and will jot on where I wanna see myself in the future. Quite at a confused state.

  7. If the decision involves being near family, choose emotional – If it involves a sacrifice for a while for a better life – choose practical 🙂

  8. good luck!

  9. Deepa said

    It’s ok sweets, whatever ‘it’ is, ‘it’ will sort itself out with your infinite wisdom(the one that we all have lurking just beneath all that ‘noise’ as you so eloquently put it) and inshallah it will be the right for you guys. We’re ready and waiting for your reveal, whenever you are, that is.
    luv and hugs as always.

  10. hugs! Ping me on gmail if you want to talk 🙂 Hope you feel better soon. And as for making the decision, I feel whatever we decide in life, there will always be “what ifs”. Also, that quote is so so important. I have been thinking along the same lines (also wrote a post last week!!)…this noise is especially louder in India I feel as against staying away. A month after moving back, I am slowly realizing this.

  11. The quote is so apt! Good luck with the decision making. Here’s wishing everything to be sorted out soon. Hugs.

  12. You’ll get through this, Pepper 🙂 You are resilient.

    And I love that quote, more yanking back hand is going to happen from now on.

  13. My Era said

    I have in this kind of a situation way too often in the past few years, yet it is never easy to make a choice. Thank you for sharing that wonderful quote that has put to words exactly what I have started doing lately 🙂
    Wishing you the very best in all the choices and decisions you make. May they all turn in your favor gifting you all you wish for 🙂

  14. Flip a coin, pepper. Hopefully that helps. It’s extremely annoying when a decision can give you something and take something away with every option. Adulting is so not easy!

  15. […] In this post, I had written about a pressing dilemma we were facing. I had promised myself I would update this place once we had crossed the bridge and taken a final decision. Like a lot of you guessed, we were trying to decide whether or not we should move back to the US. […]

Leave a Reply

 
