A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

It’s that day

Posted by Pepper on January 11, 2016

That day of the year. The day my dad’s brother, my beloved, beloved daddy passed away. It’s been exactly a year today. I rarely write about how much I miss him. One, because that grief feels too personal. And two, because I try to not dwell on it. I try to not feed the sorrow. So when it does hit me, I pause for a moment, take a deep breath, smile and then pretend the pain doesn’t exist. I get better in a few minutes. I really do. I am told he is in a better place. And I believe that.

I feared at the back of my head that today would be a difficult day. It would bring flashes of gut wrenching memories. Memories of watching him struggle and pass on. So I tried to steer clear of those thoughts. Each time I found myself going in that direction, I made a conscious effort to stop. I told myself I want to only have positive associations and I should remember this day as the one on which he was freed.

Quite a year it has been. His passing on made the world hoist all their expectations on me, especially when it came to running our company. I have struggled, faltered, fallen, learnt and grown so much. In a way, I have discovered potential that I wasn’t aware existed in me. I know it was you who chose it that way. Who planned for me to take the lead. It was you who believed in me. And for that, I thank you. Daddy, I love and miss you so very much.

7 Responses to “It’s that day”

  1. Today is ‘that day’ for me too …. It’s the day I last spoke to me dad 6 years ago…. Even though 16th of Jan is the day he passed away but for me, it’s today I really struggle with…. Hugs to you !! I really know how it feels !!

  2. Nitya said

    tight hugs.

  3. Try to just remember the good times, Pepper. And how much of a positive difference he has made in your life. *Hugs*

  4. srividhya said

    Hugs yaar. Stay strong. I know how you feel. Time is the healer. Dec is always like that for me. After 8 years this time I went for new year celebration..

  5. Hugs Pepper!

  6. Big hugs Pepper.

Leave a Reply

 
