A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Summer

Posted by Pepper on March 13, 2016

I am beginning to smell it. And I can’t begin to describe how happy this makes me. For the first 15 years of my life, summer was always associated with freedom. Because summer came with a special gift, the glorious summer vacations. Summer meant complete abandon. It meant endless hours of play time. Sweaty afternoons. WWF card games. Famous Five and Secret Seven marathons. Special treats in the form of Rasna. ‘Correcting’ notebooks from the previous academic year. Calling out to friends who lived on different floors of the building by collectively ringing our bicycle bells. Playing cricket till we could hardly see the ball. Roller skating in the dark. Taking cold showers. The smell of Cinthol soap. Abundant mangoes. Delicious freedom.

Those were the days of ecstasy. Nothing could pull us down. The heat and sweat didn’t stand a chance. I am strangely undisturbed by the heat even now. Maybe because the heat is still a reminder of my past freedom. While the world complains about the unbearable heat, I just shrug and pull out my tank tops and cotton skirts. I look forward to cool glasses of mango milkshakes and cups of mint flavoured butter milk.

Summer. I am beginning to feel it. And that makes me so happy.

6 Responses to “Summer”

  1. Nothing beats those days. Love my falooda during summer:)

  2. Akhila said

    enjoy the wonderful vaccation

  3. You took me back to those beautiful days of summer vacation 🙂

  4. parijatshukla2014 said

    you have a company from anothet summer lover 🙂

  5. This reminds me of the song ‘summer’ by Calvin Harris. I thought it was ‘magic in the summer’ but actually it is ‘I met you in the summer’. Ah well. 🙂

  6. Priya said

    this reminds me of so many memories from summer days in india. Best days of my life.

Leave a Reply

 
