A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

It’s hard to escape the cheer

Posted by Pepper on September 9, 2016

when the atmosphere around you is so festive. When I look around, the pulsating vibes find a way to reach me and I succumb to the excitement. All day, I watch the passing crowds and hear cries of ‘Ganpati Bappa Morya’.

The scent of incense hangs heavily in the air. Our apartment complex is lit up. Every evening, I watch people assembling around the idol when it is time for the aarti. The sarees add a riot of colour. The kids have been rehearsing for days for the cultural programs that follows the evening aarti. As I take my walk, I am stopped by a visibly happy man. He offers me a piece of modak. There is excitement all around.

On the day of immersion, I watch the processions from my window. People dance to the beat of the drums. I can tell this is one moment they have looked forward to for a long time, and now that they are living the moment, they are relishing every bit of it.

Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to you! I know there is just so much wrong with the way we celebrate the festival. But today, I am only going to focus on what is right.

6 Responses to “It’s hard to escape the cheer”

  1. Nitya said

    The last line sums it up for me.
    This is one of my fave times back home. There is a certain festiveness and joie de vivre that is hard to beat and even harder to not be caught up in. Miss my home most at this time.

    • Pepper said

      I know right. It is so easy to feel guilty for even feeling happy. I know this festival totally destroys the environment. But what to do? The joy around you is so contagious. It just passes on. And if so many people feel so happy, there must be something right too.

  2. Happy Ganesh Chaturthi!

  3. I so get you!

    Yes, there’s a lot that’s wrong about celebrating this festival, but there’s a lot that is right too. Check out my post on Ganesh Chaturthi celebrations in our apartment – https://thegalnxtdoor.wordpress.com/2016/09/05/happy-ganesh-chaturthi/. I have made it a point to enjoy the celebration, in spite of all the differences and issues that surround it. And, yes, thankfully, our apartment is indeed trying to do it in as eco-friendly a way as possible.

    • Pepper said

      Read your post already, though didn’t get a chance to comment. Your apartment celebrations sound wonderful. Far more personalised than our apartment. But then our apartment complex is massive. And it isn’t feasible to keep it personal when it is such a big scale event. We just have caterers coming. No personalised home food. I shouldn’t complain though. The big scale celebrations have a different charm 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
