A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Name game

Posted by Pepper on April 28, 2017

There are several things that annoy me about Mint. The one thing that tops the list is how he has saved my name on his phone. Assuming Pepper is my first name and Mill is my last name, my name in his contacts reads ‘Pepper Mill’.

Like I said, this annoys me. It makes our relationship sound so official. I am all about adding a personal touch.Β Fine! You don’t want to use the so called cute names, but why can’t you use my first name and leave it at that? Maybe he could call me just Pepper?Why add the surname? It’s not like he knows a million Peppers anyway. And even if he did, I’d expect him to suffix their names with whatever he wants. Not mine. I am supposed to be the primary Pepper in his life. Okay, that does sound a bit hysterical, but you get the point.

In his defense, that’s how he saves all names in his phone. All his contacts have the same format, first name followed by last name. The same holds true even for his parents. There is no mom and dad. Just official first and last name. I wish he’d make an exception for me though. He has his contacts synced to his Gmail and he doesn’t want to mess with that. *Rolls eye*

Me? I have all sorts of names for people. Mint’s name was once saved as Makkhan Singh on my phone.Β We’re done though. I get irked every time I see my name on his screen. When I was saving Mint’s US number after we moved here, I decided he deserved to be only called by his official name too. So first and last name it was. Hmph..

 

26 Responses to “Name game”

  1. I share Mint’s phone contact style!πŸ™ˆ I have put my parents’ name properly.
    But you actually are ‘Pepper’ in my contact list. Not your real name. Lol

  2. Ha ha. It must be a gender thing. My husband stores my first and last names as well on his phone. It didn’t bother me, until I read this post πŸ™‚

  3. Nitya said

    Ugh true story here as well. First Name, Last name basis on Kar’s phone. Why not out in the gothram shothram also while you are at it. Annoying af.

  4. Hahaha I actually use my husband’s pet name πŸ™‚ , he used my first name πŸ™‚
    I would be pissed if he used First name+last name.

  5. i’m with you! my husband and I have saved each other’s first name since we know each other and … but now that we are married i expect him to become lil personal, but alas! i think guys are like that.. no matter what…

    • Pepper said

      I’m not expecting him to add a personal touch. If it were only first name I would be okay. But first and last name sound way too official to me.

  6. LOL!! I am really tickled by the fact that this annoys you so much, sorry. You have access to his phone, so annoy the heck out of him by just changing it to “Sweetheart Pepper”…rinse and repeat if he changes it back. πŸ˜‰

  7. kanthu said

    I do the same. Except for my mom and dad, they’re Mommy and Daddy, everyone else’ number is saved with their first and last names. And again, for the same reason, because I have synced them with my Gmail and Microsoft Exchange. I don’t want to mess them up. I’m totally with Mint on this one. πŸ˜›

  8. ajay said

    I totally get you. And the Bard said what’s in a name? A lot, I’d say. It would irk me too if my near and dear ones would save my number by my full name. I just hate to hear someone say my full name. Sounds so dry and formal.

    • Pepper said

      I believe there’s a lot in a name too. Wonder why the ‘what’s in a name’ belief is so popular. Ah thank you for understanding exactly how I feel.

  9. Dee said

    Hey I am a silent follower of your blog πŸ™‚ I am in the Bay Area as well cannot shake off feeling I saw you yesterday in sunnyvale , in a red dress , was that you ?

    – Dee

    Ps: write more please , like reading them ❀

    • Pepper said

      Hello, I actually was in Sunnyvale on the day before you sent this comment, but i wasn’t in a red dress. I’m wondering though, have you seen me before? Or do you have any sense of how I look? Next time maybe you could say hi, in case it really is someone you know…hehe

      • Hey!! I would have said a ‘Hi’ if I could place the person right then , it was just that nagging feeling of “I know her from somewhere”.
        Neither I have not seen you or have a sense of how you look πŸ˜› .Sort of thought I made the connection hours later (she had striking eyes too) , apparently not! πŸ™‚

        Maybe next time πŸ˜‰

        Take care
        Dee

  10. CHCooks said

    Tell me about it!! I was so irked to know that my name doesnt come up as the first entry in S’s phonebook. And he had saved it all so formally that it would feel like you are calling your boss, not your wife. Sighhhh.

  11. I actually store everyone’s names like that too πŸ™‚ Even my parents and my husband. I used to store it as Mom and Dad and then I read an article where they were talking about a scam. So say you lose your phone or someone stole your phone. The person with your phone goes through your contacts and a lot of people store their parents and their spouse or significant other’s contact in a way where it is obvious that they are close to them. So the person who stole your phone, sends a text message saying “Hey, I am in a big trouble, I don’t have time to explain and I can’t talk, please transfer X dollars to my friend’s account number immediately!!, This is his account number…xxxxxxxxx. Please please hurry up!”. Since then, I stopped storing any contact numbers where anyone would know if the numbers are of my parents, or my husband’s…..:-)

  12. Anon said

    Pepper, where are you?!

    • Pepper said

      I’m right here. Thank you for checking on me πŸ™‚ Comments like yours make me want to come back here. Otherwise I hardly feel any motivation these days.. sigh..

Leave a Reply

 
