A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

This is YUGE! It changes everything – Part 1

Posted by Pepper on July 21, 2017

Anybody who has been reading this blog for a while will know how keen Mint and I were to adopt a baby. We had registered ourselves as prospective parents, completed all the formalities and were just waiting for a baby to be shown to us.

And then life decided to intervene. We were compelled to move back to the US and abandon all our dreams of adopting a child. Immigration issues made adoption impossible. Let me not get into how hard this was for me. It was such a blow. And in order to recover from the blow, I wanted a plan of action. I wanted to move on. I started bugging Mint for a biological baby.

As expected, he wasn’t over excited by the idea. Adoption seemed to appeal to him a lot, but the moment we spoke about having a biological child, he’d keep throwing questions at me and asking me if I am sure. I’d keep hating how unsure he sounded, but thankfully at some point I noticed he was more in line with my thoughts.

We were busy trying to settle down after moving to the US. I knew that in about a month or so, I would have to fly to India for a while to wrap up all the work I had abruptly left behind. We made the most of the holiday season here. We even drove to LA to visit the BFF and brought her back with us to the Bay Area to help us set up our new home. She stayed with us for the entire time until I had to leave for my India trip. Well, except for the last weekend, when she decided we should have some privacy before I flew out and went to visit her sis-in-law in the Bay Area.

Now let’s fast forward a little. It had been a few weeks since I had landed in India and I was late. Having had PCOS all my life, I dismissed it as yet another wacky cycle without much thought. But then as days passed by, I started having these quiet conversations with myself – should I or should I not take a pregnancy test? Mint was in California and I was staying with my parents. I didn’t really want to discuss this with anybody at that point, because in all likelihood I knew it would be nothing. I decided to get done with it and bought myself a home pregnancy test.

You know where this is going, don’t you? It was 4 am and I was wide eyed in my bathroom, staring at the two pink lines on the test. I will never forget the sound of my pounding heart as I gaped at the stick. It took me a few minutes to collect myself and walk out.

Obviously, I called Mint right away. He didn’t answer his phone. It was late afternoon in California and I knew he’d be in the midst of some meeting. I could have waited for him to call back, but since I couldn’t contain myself, I sent him a message on WhatsApp that said ‘I think I’m pregnant’.

After around 5 minutes, I noticed that the message had been seen by him. But there was no response. Wow, really? Okay fine then! I decided to go back to bed and put aside my phone. It’s quite funny when I think of it in hindsight. Like I suspected, he was in an important meeting when he saw my message. The poor guy must have been jolted and yet forced to sit through his meeting before he could respond or connect with me.

Yes, we did manage to speak thereafter. I barely slept that night. It all seemed too overwhelming. But of course, since we’re talking about my life here, there were many more unexpected twists and turns and even shocks lined up for us. To be continued..

PS – So, yes. I am pregnant. If any of you remember this post I had written way back in 2011, let me tell you my thought process has not changed much. I still giggle when I see other pregnant women because I think of them ‘doing it’ and I still can’t bear to let anybody else think of me doing it. So to anybody reading this, I will say that I didn’t have sex. Instead I joined my hands and prayed to the Lord, and that is what resulted in this pregnancy. Okay? Okay.

93 Responses to “This is YUGE! It changes everything – Part 1”

  1. Congratulations Pepper (and Mint)! All the luck and love for this life altering journey!

  2. Woo hoo that’s huge! Congratulations!! so happy for you guys 🙂

    When we were kids, our friend Chotu taught us how babies were made. The first one, was a gift from God, left at the doorsteps of our parents.
    The second one was made by the parents by doing nasty unmentionables.

    I choose to apply this theory to you 🙂

  3. Congratulations! Welcome to a bumpy but very happy ride ahead!

  4. Vrushali Jagtap said

    First of all let me say this Hearty congratulations. I’m very happy for you guys.

    Now let me introduce myself. I’ve been reading your blog for quite a few years now. Rarely comment. Let’s just say I’m a silent reader. Also I prefer to be anonymous. I Love your writing because it’s honest. And to some extent it resembles my own life. Whenever I read your blog I find myself nodding a lot of times. Hence the silence. When I read this post I couldn’t wait to congratulate you. So so happy for you guys. Excuse me any mistakes in the writing. As I was in a hurry. Keep posting. Warm regards.

    >

  5. Mona said

    Congratulations…. I am really happy for you.. 😊 and can’t wait to hear the rest of the story.

  6. Arch said

    AWESOME! I don’t comment here very often but read every one of your blogs. Huge huge congratulations to you!

  7. silentoneinlondon said

    OMG OMG huge congratulations on your immaculate conception 🙂
    Hope you have a trouble free textbook pregnancy and a smooth delivery.

  8. ajay said

    Congratulations! 🙂 And regarding the PS, we totally believe you 😀

  9. Vani said

    Many congratulations and good wishes your way :).. and hey, you cant just leave the story midway (to be continued).. hmmpphhh

  10. Anu said

    Congratulations Pepper 🙂 This is really YUGE and hope it changes everything for the better 🙂

  11. Titaxy said

    Congratulations, Pepper and Mint!

  12. Congratulations!!!! So so so happy for you. I’m so happy that I’m crying! Or maybe my harmones are all over the place with a 4 month old. You guys will make wonderfull parents. Sending lots of love and best wishes your way.

  13. My Era said

    Wow…wow…wow!
    This is WONDERFUL news. Congratulations to both of you.
    Take care and get ready for another exciting phase of your life 🙂

  14. Yes. A diya was beamed out into your ‘tummy’ through an open window while all gods stood decked in silk dhotis and gold crowns a la ‘Shri Krishna’.
    Anyhoo. CONGRATULATIONS!!!

  15. Congratulations! Its a once in a lifetime journey!

  16. Heyyyyyyy Congratulationsssssssss :-)))))))
    I am so so so so so happy for you guys!!! Yayyyyy! A big tight hug to you my dear!
    Pregnancy , parenthood is like no other experience of your life 🙂 Oh my dear very soon you will be shocked by your own capacity to love another being 🙂
    I know your life is totally full of salt and pepper and cant wait to hear the rest but once again congratulations and yayyyyyy 🙂

  17. sweetsour said

    Congratulations pepper. I kind of knew this was coming. Your blog let’s us know you so well that we can understand the silence in the blog instinctively… very very happy for you …. take care.. and yes… I have 2 kids and I also ONLY joined my hands and prayed good…😝

  18. Nitya said

    *squeeeeeeeeeeeee*
    baby pep!!!!!!
    ok so i am going to calm myself down and tell u to rest adequately when needed, put that feet up, when needed, eat good fodd…most importantly DANCE a little jig!!!!
    This is one of the most stomach turning, yet amazing rides you and Mint will ever go on. ❤

    And duh of course the baby was because you prayed to lord indra or whatever..how else are babies born yenyway?!

    xoxo

    • Pepper said

      Thank you, thank you! I find it so hard to get myself to rest. Anyway, forced to do exactly that as of now..

      Haanji. Baby was because of the prayers. That’s what we all do.

  19. Congratulations Pepper! Take care now and all the best! As for the giggles, watch out now – all those teenage cousins and the kids and everyone who comes across knows “what you did” 😀

  20. Yo!! Super happy to see your announcement here ( finally) 😀
    Yes, and we do believe you didn’t do anything..just got pregnant 😛
    Like Mint said “Hamara koi haath nehi isme” 😉 LOL!

  21. I just had a baby boy! Congratulations Pepper and Mint and welcome to parenthood! 🙂

  22. AS said

    Big congratulations! Looks like the baby is due soon! Did you find out the gender already? You guys are in for a wild, wonderful ride! Parenthood changes you and your relationship fundamentally.
    And yes, joining hands and saying a prayer – we’ve all done that! 😉
    Keep posting.

    • Pepper said

      Yes, we did find out the gender. I know. It’s going to be a wild, crazy ride. Exciting but scary at the same time. Looking forward to it though..:) Thank you!

  23. shwethays said

    Congratulations

  24. Norrbu said

    congrts –

  25. Wowwwwiiiiie! So so super cool! Congratulations, Mint and Pepper! 🙂
    Having had a baby after a whole lot of struggles myself, I can tell you that it is the greatest blessing ever. God chooses you to have a baby, you often don’t get to choose that, I feel. Have a great pregnancy and a safe delivery. So, so happy for you guys!

  26. aarya said

    Congratulations Pepper-Mint!!! Wishing all’s well and stays well for both you and the baby 😊

  27. Bhavani said

    Wow wow Pepper what awesome news!! Hearty congrats to you guys… wishing you guys the best!!

    – Bhavani

  28. lol…I hate to say this, but when I came to meet you, I so badly wanted to tease you about having sex, but then my love for you took over and I had to shush my evil brain. Muahh

    • Pepper said

      Lol.. issokay, you could’ve said it. I would have obviously denied it 😀 I would have convinced you that I am virgin Mary. Or virgin Pepper rather.

  29. Kanika said

    Hi Pepper

    Firstly, many many congratulations!!! May God bless you and the baby.

    I am a delurker. Have been following ur blog for an year. You write really well.

  30. Comfy said

    Are you excited..?? Can I be excited for you?? Forget it, I am not waiting before I start screaming.. Congratulations Pepper and Mint!!! Wishing you tons of joy and happy times. God bless you baby!

    • Pepper said

      Comfy! Please be excited for us. With our families being so far away, I keep wishing we had more people around to revel in the excitement.

      Thank you so much !

  31. scorpria said

    Congratulations! Oh my God – I definitely remember responding to that post of yours saying that’s the only thought that crosses my mind too! So this IS definitely YUGE!

  32. Boiling said

    Oooh 🙂 Congratulations!!!

  33. Anu said

    I had been a silent lurker since I bumped into your blog about 3 months back. But this is ‘yuge’ and I just had to stop by to say Congratulations! God bless you both and your little bundle of joy! I have two kids and being a mother has been more life changing than anything else. Here’s wishing you a happy pregnancy and safe delivery 🙂

  34. tinu said

    Congrats pepper… May baby peppermint bring you joy and peace 🙂

  35. Arch said

    Congratulations Pepper and Mint! 🙂

  36. dee said

    Congratulations you guys! Love , luck and Good health! ❤

  37. Sri said

    Hi Pepper,

    Hearty Congratulations!!!! Very happy for you. 🙂 All the very BEST.

    Have been a silent reader on your blog and love your writing.. Please keep it going.

    Best Wishes
    Sri.

  38. thewordsgetacanvas said

    Many many congratulations pepper ! My comment here but been following for long . I read part 2 just now and it is unbelievable! Best wishes for a safe and heathy pregnancy 🙂

  39. Srishty said

    Hahahahahaha! congrats Mint & Pepper! ❤

  40. Congrats! and i kind of guessed when you talked about “the change” in your previous post.

  41. Suma said

    Awesome news!! Congratulations to you and Mint! So happy for you guys 🙂 Take care!

  42. OMG OMG OMG!!!!!
    CONGRATULATIONS!! CONGRATULATIONS!!
    CONGRATULATIONS my dear Pepper and Mint. Lots of love, take care 😘😘😘

  43. […] You see, here is the thing. The BFF had been staying in our house in the Bay Area right until I left for India. So much so that she had been staying with us in our bedroom. Yes, these are the joys of living in a one bedroom apartment. Anyway, she had been staying with Mint and me in our bedroom all along and knew there had obviously been no action that took place in her presence. And then she had decided to visit her sister-in-law for that one weekend before I left for India. […]

  44. Congratulations Pepper and Mint! So so happy for you both… Happy days ahead 👶

  45. Congratulations Pepper. 😍😘😀
    Always thought pepper and mint are two funny names. Now that Peppermint is on the way, it totally makes sense just like 2 pieces of a puzzle 😋.

  46. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

 
