A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

From his past

Posted by Pepper on January 23, 2012

Today morning, I was feeling very low because of a certain something that happened. The ongoing issue made me feel distraught. The weather outside seemed to be in sync with my internal state. It was a dark and rainy morning. I didn’t want to talk to anybody, and yet, I wanted somebody around. It was one of those times when you wish somebody could miraculously extract all the damaging emotions dancing through your veins without you having to exert yourself, explain or talk. I paced around the room trying to think of something that would bring me comfort. Finally, I hit upon it. I decided to spend some time at one of my favourite places – Mint’s blog. His posts always bring a smile to my face. Maybe it is because they take me to his past. I go back to his college days. The documented snippets from his student life pep me up. So that is exactly what I did. I poured myself some hot filter coffee in my small steel tumbler and sat back to read. It got me the desired results. I felt lighthearted almost instantly. I thought I should put up some posts from his blog every now and then. So here it is. A very random selection, as usual. Over to him!

*****************************

Saturday, August 30, 2003
First of all, a big thanks to one and all who wished us luck for the treasure hunt.

Second of all, sadly, it didn’t work. We lost. We lost badly. We had our fun, yes. Still, it hurts. I must admit that the standard of the events in my college is coming down. Not all, but everyone will agree that defenitely some. In my first and second years, the treasure hunt was damn cool. No, this is not a case of sour grapes. We didn’t win it then either. But, it was conducted the way it is meant to be. Back then, the clues were cryptic. Solving those riddles was a huge task by itself. It was considered a privilege to be a part of the crack team. Unlike now, when the clues (if that’s what they have to be called) were so freaking direct that you don’t need a crack team to decipher them, a crackpot team would have sufficed. Reading the clue was like reading the instruction book of a do-it-yourself-kit-for-dummies. The only work to be done was the running around. Driving around rather. And in the midday sun, that wasn’t very pleasant. It used to be held from late evening to night before, the darkness lending a special touch to the hunt. For the past 2 years, in the name of being innovative, the coords are coming up with some real shitty ideas. Guys, we are not asking you to necessarily be innovative. You may want to be remembered for doing it differently, but keep in mind that you may end up being more infamous than famous for it. The best memories of an event are had when it is good and everyone enjoys it. Even if it was the same old thing.

Fourth of all, it makes me feel really good that Dolly and Serena have so much confidence in my mathematics. If only more people than just the three of you think the same way. :)) An excellent example showcasing my brilliant quantitative skills goes as below.

Me: “Hey DMC! Heard we have an extra class today.” (Doesn’t make much of a difference. I bunked it anyway. But knowledge is power, or so they say. So, I wanted to know.)
DMC: “Yeah. Pain pain ass ass.”
Me: “Is it after the treasure hunt?”
DMC: “It’s only in the afternoon. 1:30.”
Me: “Shit! Thought I could use that as a valid reason to bunk.”
DMC: (Speechless. Staring at me with not much admiration or approval in his eyes.)
Me: ” Till when is it ?”
DMC: “Upto 3 ‘o clock.”
Me: “What! Two and half an hours long???”
DMC: (Vanished.)

And last of all, as a tribute to my forgetfulness, sometimes unwantedly, sometimes wantedly, but definitely accidentally this time, I completely forgot to bring with me the pic of the poster I had made for the intra-hostel treasure hunt. I’ll post it soon. Maybe that “soon” will be a tribute to my tendency to procrastinate.

I better stop now.

*****************************

 

15 Responses to “From his past”

  1. Awwww…for feeling low and taking a peep into his past and feeling all cheered up again!

  2. R's Mom said

    hahahah! They had treasure hunts in their college…what fun 🙂

    and he writes like a natural na… 🙂

  3. Hey peppy..hope its nothing major that is causing you to feel down.
    Old chat archives with friends, old voicemails from mom or ym chats with S from the time when we were in a LDR and used to chat whole day long – “These are a few of my favorite things” !!!

  4. ajay said

    I love to read such posts from the past. Now I think I should write more. 🙂

  5. Kunal said

    Two and a half hours long. Haha..No wonder he wanted more than three people to have faith in his mathematics. 😀

    • Pepper said

      Lol. You do know that it was a slip and that he doesn’t really think 1:30 to 3 is two and half hours right? 😛 He is known to be quite a whiz at Math. Scoring almost full in all his exams and really *understanding* and liking the subject. I am the one who sucks at Math. It really maddens me when a Mathematical topper like him ridicules his skills in the subject because it feels like a double mockery to me.

  6. The weather outside seemed to be in sync with my internal state. It was a dark and rainy morning. I didn’t want to talk to anybody, and yet, I wanted somebody around. – i could so relate to thee!!! 🙂 and guess what i too settle with a coffee and book 🙂 🙂 🙂

  7. Tanishka said

    Hey you should start putting his posts often…. How about creating a separate section for it… Something like a Mintty Monday?? (yeah I know its copied inspired by Wordless Wednesday 😀 )

Leave a comment