A dash of Pepper…

…with a splash of Mint

Childish misconceptions..

Posted by Pepper on December 1, 2010

Since a while, I’ve been compiling a mental list of the misconceptions I had as a child, and thought this would make a perfect post. Here are some that I can remember.

* I was very little when I learnt that cows gave milk. Following that, for some reason I assumed that buffaloes gave tea. Probably because I once heard my aunt tell my mom to cut down on her tea intake, or she would become black like a buffalo. The thought stuck and made me believe it were the glorious buffaloes that gave us tea.

* I thought ‘breaking a signal’ actually meant hammering it and breaking down the pole.

* I was sure the word ‘hypocrite’ had something to do with the animal ‘hippopotamus’.

* ‘Chaalbaaz’ was the first movie I saw that had cast the lead in a double role. I actually believed Sridevi had a twin who acted alongside, for the longest time.

* My favourite and much repeated one – I believed Oral Sex meant talking about sex. It’s all because of the Oral Exams we had in school.

Wasn’t I brilliant? I am sure each one of you have had your own wonderful interpretations and ideas as a child. Do you remember any? Do tell me about it!

Edited to add: Like some of you suggested, I am turning this into a tag. Not an easy one, this, for most of you won’t remember stuff like that. But put on your thinking hats and dive into your childhood. I am not tagging people individually, but if you read this, consider yourself tagged. List a few misconceptions/ideas/beliefs you had as a child. Leave me a comment after doing it so that I can stop by and read.

87 Responses to “Childish misconceptions..”

  1. Pratishtha said

    Hmmm… I was a dreamer and had way too many to describe here without leaking out details of my dismal IQ. I am still pretty ill-informed, and I like it that way.

  2. Bikram said

    he he he tea from buffaloes Wow I was not that clever πŸ™‚ he he he

    and ok this made me laugh out loud on oral sex well hey this one i must confess I thought so tooo.. till offcourse one grows up and thats when it hits you he he heeh he

    when i was a child i had so many let me write a few lyrics which shud sum up all my childhood

    mujhko yakeen hai sach kehtin theen
    jo meri ammi kehtin theen
    jab mere bachpan ke din the
    Chaand pe pariyaan rehti theeen πŸ™‚

    i still believe this ..

    Bikram’s

  3. Bikram said

    and i am firsttt tooo AM I πŸ™‚

  4. Buffalo gives tea πŸ˜€
    Going by that logic, cows in Russia give ice cream and buffalos give iced tea πŸ˜€

    Shd I take this up as a tag or write my intelligent misconceptions here?

    There are so many!

  5. Delhizen said

    Interestingly funny… innocence of childhood. I actually thought money plant was my fav in childhood becoz I believed one day I will be able to pluck crisp notes off it

  6. DI said

    ROTFL!
    Would you believe that I had the same misconception about the last point you made? And for an embarrassingly long time too 😐

  7. Tanishka said

    LOL… It was hilarious… Loved it… U were a fundoo kid gal… πŸ™‚

  8. Titaxy said

    LOL

    I will have to think hard because I’ve easily forgotten all those silly things and moved on πŸ˜› but will write if and when I remember πŸ˜€

  9. Vimmuuu said

    Dont mind, but you were one DUMB kid !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ and you knew there was something called ‘Oral Sex’ when you were a child ? πŸ™„ 😯

    • Pepper said

      Hmph! Okay Vimmuuu, go on and prove to me what an INTELLIGENT kid you were! πŸ™„

      • vimmuuu said

        @ Pepper : Oh, I was a dumb kid too and that, my friend, was my childish misconception !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        @ Scribbler : Check your post on ‘new page added’ and you will know who visits who !! hmmpphh !!!

        @ Pepper again : sorry for fighting like a child, but I guess, its because of the title of this post ! πŸ˜€

    • Scribbler said

      BTW Vimmu since you’re not visiting my blog I’m talking to you here… *sowwy for taking your space peppy*

      Vimmu,I’m upset 😦 you are back on all blogs except mine 😦 Katti !

  10. ajay said

    I had many many misconceptions. I had this great confusion between heroin and heroine. I always wondered when I read reports in newspaper like ‘heroin recovered from gangster’! I thought there were people inside a stereo who played drums and all that when the stereo was turned on πŸ˜€ And many other weird, innocent assumptions that I can’t disclose here πŸ˜› I think you should turn this post as a tag and ask us all to do it. It’ll be fun πŸ˜€ and I’d also get to know how intelligent a kid Vimmuuu was πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • Pepper said

      Haha! I still get confused with the spellings of heroin and heroine πŸ˜€ You thought people were drumming inside the stereo? LOL!

      This stuff is fun! Consider yourself officially tagged Ajay! Do it fast and share your innocent assumptions with us πŸ˜€

      • ajay said

        Done! πŸ˜€ Ok could you tell me why’s that everyone’s having a snowfall on their page except me 😦

        • Pepper said

          Hah! The mystery kept haunting me till I decided to uncover it. Everybody has it cos they enabled it. Go to Appearance on your dashboard –> then Extras.. and check the line that says Show falling snow πŸ˜€

  11. PNA said

    I always thought, the bakery peeps would think me off an addict and put me in some juvenille home for buying brown sugar! And wondered why Mum wanted only brown sugar sometimes!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

    You were at blogger right, or did I jump into another peppermint’s page πŸ˜‰

    • PNA said

      Too sleepy early in the morning, do correct my mistakes!! I think I’ve already gone crazy missing so many spelling in that one πŸ˜›
      Forgiveness is a your virtue, your highness Pepper πŸ˜›

      • Pepper said

        Lol! In that case, we definitely are addicted to brown sugar πŸ˜›

        Yes I moved from blogger to WP. Don’t worry Pinnoo, I am not only a forgiving soul, I am also blind. I can’t spot errors easily.

  12. Scribbler said

    already 20 comments on this post ❓ 😯 why I’m shocked is because I’vent received any feed for this post 😦 so I didn’t come here earlier… πŸ˜₯

    Need to check the reader…it needs serious discussion with ME ! πŸ‘Ώ

  13. Scribbler said

    πŸ˜† @ buffalo giving tea !!!
    really hammering it and breaking it ? πŸ˜†
    hahahah hippo !
    πŸ˜† at Sridevi’s twin
    @Oral Sex: I think that was quiet intelligent and logical.. πŸ˜‰

    Laughed throughout the list and wanted it to go on a bit more πŸ˜‰

  14. aaah my soul twin whwere were u all this while . I feel so human after reading all this πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    Ok I had loads of them .. one thing stilll that survives in the dumb head is that people after demise become stars . I used to talk to my Grandpa for hours ….

    Another thing which mom made me belive was that upma was actually fried rice (Id gobble up anything chinese so!!)

    As for the last one .. Geee lets not even get into how I thought babies were born πŸ’‘ !! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    • Pepper said

      People becoming stars is a nice belief to have πŸ™‚ Upma was fried rice? Your mom was smart and knew how to deal with you πŸ˜€
      Please, please, tell me how you thought babies were born!

  15. srishti said

    Tea from buffaloes LMAO!!! Hillarious! I always thought powerpuff girls actually existed in the townsville and at 11 i hoped to get a letter from hogwarts .

    I like the snowfall thing on the blog.

    • Pepper said

      Oh, so you had the HP effect on you and waited for a letter from Hogwarts.. I know a few others who waited for the same thing πŸ™‚

      • srishti said

        I have another one , thanks to our adults for making us belive this , whenever we swallowed a seed we were told a tree would grow out of our eyes nose , food pipe and ears .Even my friends had this one( i made them read your blog and then we had a discusion on this)

        PS: Im the ‘lil’ phoenx

  16. LOL!!! Too sweet you are/were πŸ™‚

    Cannot recall all ( I must have too many of such), but one stands out distinctly –

    I believed women made babies by hanging their chaddis side by side with a mans on a drying pole after washing..especially if chaddis touched each other, a baby was a sure thing to happen πŸ˜›

    Go ahead imagine the consequences of that notion πŸ˜‰

  17. Renu said

    Nice misconceptions!

  18. OYEMMMMMMMGEEEEEEEEE….Teas from buffalo?? hahahaha..very cute.

    Breaking the signal meaning literally breaking the signal? hehe..

    I am tempted to write a post about my childhood misconceptions too.

  19. Smitha said

    LOL! That was hilarious! Buffaloes giving tea πŸ™‚ I wish I had one in my garden to milk or should I say to ‘tea’ πŸ˜‰

    And Oral sex – that is too much, Pepper πŸ™‚

    • Pepper said

      Life would be convenient if Buffaloes indeed gave tea πŸ˜€ Though I’d prefer coffee..

      Oral sex? what to do..I had some funny ideas at that age πŸ˜›

  20. Dew said

    A funny read πŸ™‚ …buffalos gave tea πŸ˜‰ (Thank God it was a misconception..else imagine..yuck I wud hv never loved tea as much and savour the joys πŸ˜‰

    I liked ur blog name πŸ™‚

  21. mythalez said

    lol at buffaloes and oral sex and hammering down a signal! hehe

    Btw, how did you manage to remember these silly misconceptions? I am sure I had quite a few too but despite trying hard, none of them come to mind now 😦

    • Pepper said

      Well, from the time I learnt that my beliefs were misconceptions, I don’t think I ever forgot the ridiculousness of my thoughts. Try going back in time and maybe you’ll come up with a few? If you write about it, let me know!

  22. Anon Woman said

    Great post! (And nice blog too…)
    For the longest time I thought Mikhail Gorbachev’s name was Mikhail KARVACHAUTH!
    I used to think babies were made by a man and a woman sleeping on the same bed. So for a very long time this was the reason I wouldn’t let my DOG sleep on the same bed as me….I was envious of my brother for he could do that!!
    Later, I too thought oral sex was people talking about it OVER THE PHONE….because I couldn’t imagine anyone FACING their lover and talking about it! Chhee!! πŸ˜€
    Oh, and after I got some rudimentary idea of what sex was, I figured it would have to be anal by default (all the other orifices seemed too small). All this, in spite of the sex-ed we got at school. They made it so boring I never paid any attention.

  23. JJ said

    Came here while blog hopping. Must say this is a lovely tag. I’m taking it up and going through rest of your posts too πŸ™‚

  24. […] skimming through posts and then coming across something that really strikes you. I discovered Pepper’s post this afternoon and this is a very interesting tag. I’m not waiting for the niceties of being […]

  25. S said

    Buffaloes give tea!!!!
    insane!!

    πŸ™‚

  26. S said

    http://toblog-withlove.blogspot.com/2010/12/dil-to-baccha-hai-ji.html

    here goes my version of childhood misconceptions
    πŸ™‚

  27. Kartikay said

    This is such a cool thought! You’re enthu-ing me enough to write about it too!

  28. That was damn funny. I too had misconceptions…once I was told that ghosts live in clouds, so on my next air flight I kept asking everyone if they have spotted ghosts

    I too thought oral sex meant only talking; even when someone told me what it actually was I didn’t beleive – after all why should anyone do that!!

    • Pepper said

      Lol.. all of us had some funny ideas πŸ˜€ See, the oral sex thing is not surprising. It’s the most obvious thought that can come to your mind on hearing that term ..

  29. […] Either we have used up all the tags or people were not inventing any. Until Pepper came up with this and then I got tagged by Celestial Rays and Chindi Chitranna (did you check her header?awesome […]

  30. Lol…how did i miss this post??? Just too cute!!!

  31. neha said

    hahaha.. childhood innocence!
    I used to think (for an embarrassingly long time) that money grew on money plant creepers.
    I used to think oral sex meant kissing.
    Even I had such weird ideas, esp about sex! When the misconceptions were sorted out, I never wanted to have sex in my life!! :D:D
    I might just take up this tag without being asked!! πŸ˜‰

    • Pepper said

      Haha. the money on plant creepers seems to be a common one πŸ˜€ And all of us have had such colourful ideas about sex πŸ˜€ ..

      Do take up the tag and let me know when you’re done!

Leave a comment